We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 81: English reviews
Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed September 28, 2016

We stayed at the Mediterranean again recently with a large group and once again we could not fault the service or motel comfort. The beds are superb and the units supply everything you need for your stay. We will be back again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris H
Singapore
Reviewed May 18, 2016

1. A quiet place despite just next to the main road. 2. Very helpful owners who had given us many advices on our trip. 3. Owner can help to set up BBQ pit in you need them. 4. Able to do simple cooking in the room. 5. Big and comfortable bed. 6. Room is big. Would recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FRANKGOH
New Zealand
Reviewed March 11, 2016

Our studio unit was small, but clean and comfortable. The lighting was very dim and made it difficult to read a book at night. On arrival the receptionist was quite abrupt and one of the first things we were told was not to cook fish in the unit - they have obviously had difficulty with odors in the past, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwiwithKids
Malaga, Spain
Reviewed March 6, 2016

The studio apartment was clean, the bed is comfortable, clean towels. etc., the lighting......low energy bulbs....are very dim at the outset but do improve in time. There is unlimited free Iinternet in the price, but there was not a strong signal in our studio. There are no laundry facilities. In our studio the hairdryer did not work but was immeditely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterwV975TL
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 4, 2016 via mobile

Good place, if you come in from the North, first hotel you see or the last as you travel from the south (obviously!) cafe opposite and also a short walk over to the beach across the rail line. A little noisy from the road till about 2200hrs, then settles. Need to drive to the town centre but a pleasant, clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alanstours
Reviewed January 24, 2016

The location is very good and the property and room is very clean and comfortable. The staff was always friendly and helpful. It was a very good place for my one night stop. I will certainly stay here again if I am in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean W
Merida, Yucatan
Reviewed January 11, 2016

First, manager told me he was fully booked and could nto find my reservation. Somehow, booking.com had placed it under my maiden name from 50 years ago! No apology.Strange Then, after registering he told me there would be no room servicing on Sunday. I did ask for towels and cleaning of waste baskets and that happened. The final interaction was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank salsunny
GusCooke, Owner at Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review

We were fully booked that's correct. You checked in 2 hours before check-in time, when we were still cleaning. As you had no transport I thought let's check this lady in quickly so I can carry on cleaning. You gave me an incorrect name, so how could I find your reservation? I asked if you used any other surnames and...

Reviewed November 19, 2015 via mobile

Rooms are spacious and very clean. Hob and complete kitchen utensils are provided. Microwave also available in the room. Room heater is ok. Toilet heater is ok. They have coin operated washing machines and driers. Staff are friendly, no fuss at all. They got good food places recommendation. And they will let you borrow any dvd or books from their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Umar F
Reviewed October 29, 2015 via mobile

Great value on the outskirts of Kaikoura, tho only 5 mins drive from the centre of town. Light and airy with spacious rooms, a practical kitchenette and large bathroom. Easy access and plenty if parking. Friendly owner and dvds for rainy days. I'd happily stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
Reviewed September 28, 2015 via mobile

A bit far from the center but it doesn't really matter in kaikoura if you have a car. Rooms are spacious, price is cheap, it is clean and cosy although a kittle old and you have complimentary dvd for those rainy days. Owner is nice and friendly. Surely a good place to spend the night in kaikoura

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avihay h
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.2 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Boutique Collection
2.7 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
103 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
711 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Facing towards the magnificent Kaikoura Mountains our modern 4 star complex is the ideal stopover for your Kaikoura experience. Our 13 nonsmoking, double glazed self-contained units are tastefully decorated and provide the comforts required, while experiencing some of nature’s most exquisite adventures. Mediterranean Motel is also the first Geocaching motel in NZ offering Geocaching tours around the beautiful Kaikoura coast. The restaurants, town center and Kaikoura attractions are only 5 minutes’ drive away. Coming from the north, we are the first motel on the right, coming from the south, we are the last motel on the left. We look after our guests and your comfort, is our priority. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura

Address: 239 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Comfort Inn Kaikoura Mediterranean)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Price Range: $83 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kaikoura Mediterranean Hotel Kaikoura
Kaikoura Comfort Inn
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“A room furtherest from the main road would probably be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles I9611RZchrish, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
“The Super King bed in Room 10 - supportively firm without being too hard - and great for minimising any partner disturbance.”
 of 5 bubbles Pauapooh, Aug 11, 2015 | Read review
“all their rooms seem to be of equal size/quality - a small amount of road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles lewism114, Jul 4, 2015 | Read review
“Ask for room away from main road”
 of 5 bubbles nevslife, May 24, 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a north-facing unit, as they have a good view of the mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles ColinBut, Feb 14, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay