We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 148: English reviews
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although in need of an upgrade the motel was clean,tidy and warm,everything was provided including kitchen with full cooking facilities.was a car trip into town around two kms, Nice friendly service.would recommend for stay at this motel

Helpful?
Thank Dave W
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

I used a powered site here for one night. The service here cannot be faulted we were greeted very warmly and the lady at reception could not have been more helpful, even giving us a surplus duvet as we were concerned about being cold and told us about the glow worm dell 5 minutes walk from the motel which is... More 

Helpful?
Thank hesearle17
Adele D, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving this honest review and pointing out not every establishment is going to be brand new and flashy. We provide a clean enviroment for people to stop overnight and rest and try to make their stay as happy and informative as we can. Safe travels to you both. More 

Balclutha, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2016

Five women biking the West Coast bike trails over three days. We were able to stay one night, then moved on to Kumara for a night, and then back to 252 Beachside for another two nights. There was plenty of room for us all in the unit, comfortable beds, large bathroom - we didn't feel crowded at all. The facilities... More 

Helpful?
Thank AFS54
Adele D, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. It was a pleasure having you ladies stay here . More 

Christchurch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

Stayed in the cabins and they were terrible - the rooms and communal kitchen smelt bad, and were poorly furnished. In our cabin one top bunk was almost inaccessible with no ladder. Everything metal was rusted except the metal walls of the converted containers, which were running with condensation. There were no hooks for clothes and no storage space. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patinchristchurch
Adele D, Manager at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Our cabins are basic that is what you pay for basic accommodation. Unfortunately on the west coast with all the humidity most everything ends up being rusty. Dont know the answer to the condensation as I guess you were burning the heater and thats what happens. Take on board the hooks yes we could put some up - and as... More 

Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

We always stay here in our campervan when we are in Hokitka. The facilites are consistently clean and well maintained and we have always found the owners friendly and helpful. Situated at a quiet end of town it is very walkable into the town centre and the beach is a stones throw away.

Helpful?
Thank Diane W
Adele D, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

A basic place to stay.little tired kitchen,bedding and Lounge furniture. Very easy to find and handy to beach. Quiet and peaceful location. Very helpful Proprietor with lots of advice about local attractions.

Helpful?
Thank Lizhar2014
Adele D, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review of our property. Yes it is very peaceful and relaxing here glad you enjoyed it. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

We stayed here one night, and although the building was older we thought it was good value for money. The facilities were very clean, and staff were friendly. It was a very cold night when we arrived, and the owner had put the heater on in the room which was a nice touch. Would recommend as a pleasant and economical... More 

Helpful?
Thank SydneyAndy1
Adele D, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review on 252 Beachside Motels. Yes this is an older motel but we have a large number of return guests so happy to know you are another satisfied customer. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my partner and parents. Had a two bedroom cabin. Yes is was relatively dated, but it's in a small town on the west coast, I did not expect anything new and modern. Living space is large and everything was very clean. Bed are pretty comfy as well and all come equipped with a heated... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dale A
Adele D, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this review. Yes the place is older and its also spacious clean and situated in a quiet location. Thank you for recognizing this and for your kind words. More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2016 via mobile

This is not the Ritz Carlton and if you expect the Ritz you will be disappointed. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and well maintained, however they are dated. Despite the dated appearance they are warm and comfortable. They do not offer much in the way of Wifi, 250MB per person per day.

Helpful?
Thank JDA60
Adele D, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review we appreciate it very much. We would have given you more Wifi had you asked some people are on working holidays and need more and we are only to happy to oblige it just seems 200MB suits most people to do their banking check their emails and catch up on Facebook. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here as a stop over and thank goodness it was just for the one night! I regret staying here for a number of reasons.. 1. It's quite far from everything.. You can't walk to the town centre especially with young children. 2. It's overpriced for what you get.. 3. It's really out dated and needs work badly.. 4.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan1481
Adele D, Owner at 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this review

Have read your review and my answer is you must have realized where you were when you booked in??? in relation to the town (a 3 minute drive or 20 minute walk). What did we not provide that you say overpriced for what you get - not sure if you were in a standard cabin or a motel room either... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (34)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.8 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
0.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.3 mi away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#7 of 9 in Hokitika
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
1.1 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#1 of 9 in Hokitika
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Hokitika
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Adjacent to the beach in a quiet location. 4 Cottages with full kitchens sleep 4. Large group/family units sleep 5 or 6. These units have a full kitchen and open out into an enclosed garden area with childrens playground and BBQ facing west its lovely to relax here at the end of a day. We also have 4 studio units nice and spacious perfect for travelling couples with a separate kitchenette with double hot plate microwave and fridge. Our campervan park is compact and only holds 11 caravans or campervans we have a kitchen, laundry and wheelchair access bathroom. Also in the campervan park are 3 basic cabins suitable for backpackers or people on a budget. Our outdoor swimming pool is seasonal but sheltered and we are a short walk to the beach and glow worm dell. WE HAVE NO TENT SITES. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park

Address: 252 Revell Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Price Range: $87 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your 252 Beachside Motels & Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hokitika
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay