We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Birdsong

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Birdsong
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 81: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel is right across the road from the beach and has great bird themed rooms. Very friendly owners who are extremely helpful. Great bathrooms and superb kitchen/lounge area. Very well equipped. The bushmans bath outside is a must do experience. A couple kilometers from the main CBD but doesnt really matter. Glowworm dell is a short walk away too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian D
Birdsongbackpackers, Owner at Birdsong, responded to this review

Many thanks for the excellent review. we are pleased you found the place pleasant!

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed October 27, 2016

What a great place to stay! It exudes imagination and artistic humor at every turn. Wonderful, funny and helpful staff. Its really close to town and they provide bicycles if you feel energetic. I would definitely recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff & well equipped kitchen. U can fill up a water bottle. Plenty of space to store food. Along SH6 and close enough to walk to the glow worm dell. Take a torch! If u don't have a car, it's far from beach & town center.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ta J
Birdsongbackpackers, Owner at Birdsong, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. The free Glow Worms are pretty special!

Reviewed July 29, 2016

This is a fantastic, cute, and clean hostel. I stayed in the private room overlooking the ocean my very first night of my two month NZ trip. The owner and his wife are very nice and helpful. I needed a ride to the city center in the morning and they easily arranged it for me. I did not realize how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kayla S
Birdsongbackpackers, Owner at Birdsong, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments. We are only too happy to help.

Hanoi
Reviewed July 20, 2016

On the highway as you near Hokitika so not exactly in the middle of the action, but you can walk to the beach. The Oystercatcher room (double bed) has a great view across the highway to the rolling waves of the ocean, and you can watch the rain come across the water. From the Oystercatcher room you need to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank normgraem
Birdsongbackpackers, Owner at Birdsong, responded to this review

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and the scones are on the table again tonight for all to sample.

Gurmels, Switzerland
Reviewed June 23, 2016

Birdsong hostel is about 2 km out of town. But with a car you are in the center of Hokitika within two minutes. We had a room with a double bed and a bunk bed for the kids. The kitchen - lounge is cozy, has large windows facing the beach and it is a dream sitting next to the wood...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnjaHF
Birdsongbackpackers, Owner at Birdsong, responded to this review

Our family has very fond memories of spending time with you and your family! Thanks for your kind words and here's hoping that you are all well xxx

Reviewed June 2, 2016

A friend and myself arrived late in the day, looking for a twin room with an ensuite for the night on a cool night with rain threatening. We were offered a double room downstairs, and I indicated I'd be happy with the bench seat, so we settled in. The friendly owner very thoughtfully arrived with a large duvet as padding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam P
Birdsongbackpackers, Owner at Birdsong, responded to this review

We look forward to hosting you again. Please send us an email when you are planning to re-visit!

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 22, 2016

About 3km from town which can be walked to along the beach or road (not a path all the way). It took us ages via the beach as we kept looking for (didn't find any) jade. Lovely views from kitchen/ dining area over the coast & sunset & definitely recommend a short wander to (free) Glow worm del. 2 person...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mechanogirl
Birdsongbackpackers, Owner at Birdsong, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. You will be pleased to know that we have reconfigured the room you stayed in to allow more floor space.... this was my winter project and is now being enjoyed as the summer season looms.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed March 30, 2016

Was in pretty small 2-bed dorm. Not bunk beds but crossing at separate levels. Seemed more pricey than most Bathroom was smallish and used by plenty Friendly, relaxed owners Kitchen well-equipped and clean Couple complained to me of traffic noise during night (is next to main road). Great sunset views Tried to turn off very irritating background music, but couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunnydays0664
Birdsongbackpackers, Manager at Birdsong, responded to this review

Many thanks for the feedback....will look into improving the music, which is usually turned off by reception staff at 7pm.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed February 9, 2016

Dropped in after being told there was a rally in town and there was no accomodation. I remembered passing the backpackers just as we had come into hokitika and was sure I had seen vacancy. We went back and got the last room, double with lovely mountain view for $85. It was very clean as we're all the facilities. Friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
Birdsongbackpackers, Owner at Birdsong, responded to this review

It's great that you were fortunate to find a room with us and we are really pleased that you enjoyed it so much.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
1.5 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
1.1 mi away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 9 in Hokitika
135 reviews
1.6 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Birdsong backpacker is a family run native bird themed backpackers 2 kms north of Hokitika. Enjoy sea views and sunsets we look forward to meeting you so come relax and enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Birdsong

Address: 124 Kumara Junction Highway | Two Mile, Hokitika 7882, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Price Range: $68 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Birdsong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Birdsong staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose the seaside rooms”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 weeks ago | Read review
“We only know the Oystercather which looks out to the coast. In winter it's nice and cosy, but the large window might make it hot in summer?”
 of 5 bubbles normgraem, Jul 20, 2016 | Read review
“Our room was under the house but we were not troubled by any noise above. We were able to drive up to the ranchslider at the front.”
 of 5 bubbles , Jun 2, 2016 | Read review
“rooms at back away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles Whistledown, Nov 6, 2014 | Read review
“Spoonbill was the name of our double room looking out over the sea”
 of 5 bubbles ndcasey, Oct 27, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay