We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Teichelmann\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 177: English reviews
Start your review of Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast
 Click to rate
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in two B & Bs during my five week tour of New Zealand. Teichelmann's in Hokitika was one of these. The day I arrived was wet and there was a rock festival in the town but the warm, friendly, very helpful and charming hosts more than compensated for these drawbacks. The cottage may appear small from the outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
Management response:

Thank you so much for your kind remarks.We were very happy to be able to share your holiday when you stayed in our great wee town.The weather was not the best for you but hopefully our hosting made up for that. We do hope your wee cat was VERY happy to see you when you returned home and she had...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Brian and Frances are the kindest, most thoughtful hosts I have encountered. Added to which, the accommodation is brilliantly comfortable with incredible attention to detail and the food is excellent. I'd go back tomorrow if I could...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret H
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our short stay in Hokitika turned into a highlight of our trip thanks to Frances and Brian. We're fortunate to have traveled pretty extensively, but we haven't stayed in many B&Bs until our trip to New Zealand in March. We stayed in Hokitika for one night towards the tail end of our trip, and our short stay couldn't have been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eaglesflyers88
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After 3 weeks in NZ for our honeymoon, Teichelmann's B&B was top on our list. Our stay in the Garden Cottage was perfect. The private space and deck were so relaxing. Frances and Brian were wonderful hosts - be sure to heed their recommendations! Breakfast was so tasty and Frances's cookies are amazing. We would stay there again in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roderick J
Management response:

Hi Guys Thanks so much for your great comments. We were delighted to meet you both and SO glad that your honeymoon went well and pleased that we could be part of your NZ trip. We wish you both a long and happy life together. Best Regards Frances and Brian

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay here and the breakfast was just amazing. Such wonderful and polite hosts, we only stayed for one night, but really would come back again! The sunset was amazing at the beach, so do not miss it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed April 20, 2017

We stayed here at Teichelmann's for one night as part of our drive down the west coast of south island NZ. Frances and Brian are delightful and went out of their way to help us in every way. We arrived in the early afternoon and after some tea Brian, who had connections with the local museum, kindly assisted with chasing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timandsally
Management response:

Thank you both so much for your great comments.Brian so enjoy's helping our guests with any information re history. Hokitika has a wealth of history and many stories to be told.We hope the remainder of your holiday " Down Under" was just as successful as your stay in Hokitika. Thanks again, it was a pleasure to meet you both. Regards...

Reviewed April 12, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon and are so glad we did. Our room was lovely, decked out with creature comforts and we slept beautifully in a bed that rivals any. Brian and Frances greeted us as we arrived and went out of their way during our stay to recommend places to eat and even so far...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
Management response:

Hi you two Thanks so much for your positive comments.We do hope that this awful weather is not affecting your honeymoon too much.We know you will love Queenstown, and we wish you both a long and happy life together.

New York City, New York
Reviewed April 5, 2017 via mobile

We cannot say enough good things about our stay at Teichelmann's B & B in Hokitika. Frances and Brian, the proprietors, went out of their way to be helpful. Their suggestions on places to visit and things to do was invaluable. We were traveling with dear friends. Both of our rooms were lovely and quite comfortable. The breakfasts were simply...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al A
Management response:

Thanks so much for your kind remarks.It is so nice when our guests appreciate our efforts . We are glad you had a wonderful trip to NZ. We are certainly very lucky to live in such a fantastic country.

Naples, Florida, United States
Reviewed March 31, 2017

We stayed here for only one night in March 2017 but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Run by Brian and Frances, this is a first class B&B. Your every need is taken care of. Upon arrival, we were offered tea and a biscuit. Our room was large and super comfortable with a garden view. The bathroom was large and supplied...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodger T
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 25, 2017 via mobile

We stayed with Francis & Brian 7/8th March. What a lovely friendly welcome we received from them, having shown us our lovely, very comfortable room (with two queen sized beds, though we opted to use just one if them) a personal large bathroom directly opposite our room, we were invited to join them for a cup of tea and some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrissie46-11
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.5 mi away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
0.8 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 9 in Hokitika
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 9 in Hokitika
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
'History . . . With a Touch of Class'. Historic home centrally located in the heritage area of Hokitika. Comfortable en-suite rooms with king and queen beds. Separate guest lounge. A short walk to restaurants, cafes, interesting craft galleries and the wild romantic beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 20 Hamilton Street | Hokitika Central, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Price Range: $95 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Garden Cottage is very quite, private and not attached to the house.”
roderickj793, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“The B&B is on the street yet all rooms seemed quiet. The bedroom at the back of the house overlooking the garden is quiet & lovely.”
rodgert436, Mar 31, 2017 | Read review
“All different and unique.”
pks631, Mar 13, 2017 | Read review
“We enjoyed the roomy, private and very comfortable Cottage.”
  • The bathroom has a lovely outook to a feature garden.
MoyraF, Mar 11, 2017 | Read review
“Doesn't matter, the B&B is located at a quit street.”
133hansw, Mar 5, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question