We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Teichelmann\\
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 157: English reviews
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 2 nights as I went searching for a greenstone breastplate. The hosts are a great couple. Brian is very funny and tells great tales including history about the region. We had a comfortable room and wonderful breakfasts. A restful stay for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liniowa
Maidstone
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only had one night here and would have loved a longer stay. We had a very comfortable room with everything one could ask for. A well equipped ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was delicious. Frances and Brian made us feel very welcome and we were extremely comfortable. We loved to read about the history of the house and Brian had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nick W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on 21/12/2016. Friendly hosts and wonderful breakfast. Comfortable and cozy rooms. Thank you Frances and Brian for sharing with us your amazing story. And your hospitality is beyond words.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris w
astraclose, Owner at Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Chris Thank you so much for your kind comments.We enjoyed hosting you and your family, especially your daughter the " rapper" We hope the rest of your holiday in NZ , was filled with sunshine ??? Merry Christmas to you all, and all the very best for 2017.

Needham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had one night in the garden cottage. The accommodations were comfortable and warm. Breakfast was delicious and made to order. The garden cottage was charming. It rained while we were there but the outside seating by the cottage would be amazing on a clear night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
San Francisco, California
Reviewed November 24, 2016

We stayed there the day after the earthquake and Mark and Francis were amazing trying to accommodate those who couldn't move on. The house is steeped in history and they are very welcoming and hospitable. I left my money belt with my passport and cash in it and they went incredible lengths to track us down and arrange for it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Itchycoo34
astraclose, Owner at Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Linda and Elizabeth So glad we were able to track you both down.My heart sank when I discovered your passport in the room.But in little old NZ it is easy to find people.We do hope the rest of your NZ holiday went well.It was a pleasure to meet you both and thank you for your kind remarks. Best Regards...

Santa Cruz, CA
Reviewed November 24, 2016

Francis and Brian are great hosts at their charming bnb in Hokitia. We stayed only one night but could happily have stayed longer. Our room was very comfortable. Breakfast was great. Lots of jade shops and the beach minutes away. We stayed here after taking the TransAlpine train from Christchurch. The house is a historical gem and former doctor's office...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
astraclose, Owner at Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Hi Martin and Judy Many thanks for your kind remarks.Hope the train trip back to Christchurch was as good as the trip over.And hopefully you were able to see the scenery once you left the rain clouds of Westland.It was great to meet you both and share some stories at the breakfast table.Safe and happy journey back to the States....

Marlborough Region, New Zealand
Reviewed October 30, 2016

I was recommended Teichelmanns by some friends and it was every thing I imagined it would be, a big smile welcomed us at the door followed by coffee and a home made slice. Lovely facilities and once again lots of homemade food for breakfast ranging from museli to jams and marmalades all displayed so nice. I would recommend Techelmanns to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snooze21571
Whitby, Canada
Reviewed October 18, 2016

We stayed here for one night in Feb 2014. The owners were so warm and welcoming. We arrived after a long day of sightseeing/driving and they made sure we were able to get a table at the restaurant next door (Cafe de Paris). Our room was absolutely amazing! Our only complaint was we couldn't stay longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miwelsh
astraclose, Owner at Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Your comments are appreciated very much.

Tauranga
Reviewed August 28, 2016

Brian and Frances are consummate hosts and nothing is too much trouble if you stay here. Excellent breakfast as part of the B&B listing and the outside small 'Miners Cottage' is a pleasure to stay in. Brian is a superb local historian and will regale you with tales of Hokitika, while Frances will fill your tummy with yummy breakfast offerings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kotuku123
astraclose, Owner at Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our 'Teichy's Garden Cottage Room. It was lovely meeting you both and we wish you all the best for your future travels. Frances & Brian

Muhleberg, Switzerland
Reviewed July 14, 2016

I will always regret, that we did not stay for two nights and that we did not have that glas of port with Francis! Teichelmann is a very cosy place with a lot of historical background and a good couple, who run the place, and especially Francis was so helpfull with informations where to go and what to do and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beatmaik
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.5 mi away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#1 of 9 in Hokitika
244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
0.4 mi away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Hokitika
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
'History . . . With a Touch of Class'. Historic home centrally located in the heritage area of Hokitika. Comfortable en-suite rooms with king and queen beds. Separate guest lounge. A short walk to restaurants, cafes, interesting craft galleries and the wild romantic beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 20 Hamilton Street | Hokitika Central, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Price Range: $96 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Teichelmann's Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The old consulting room is great”
 of 5 bubbles Itchycoo34, Nov 24, 2016 | Read review
“The garden room is lovely”
 of 5 bubbles julieaB7213UJ, May 16, 2016 | Read review
“The house is not in a busy street, so no worries about noise etc.”
 of 5 bubbles 546rajf, Mar 30, 2016 | Read review
“Look at the pictures online to choose what you prefer.”
 of 5 bubbles AnneB524, Feb 11, 2016 | Read review
“Wifi was slow in the cottage. Go to the main house and sit in the parlor.”
 of 5 bubbles 362deannav, Feb 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question