We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Garden B&B

136 Fitzherbert Street | Central, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Garden B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 38: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here after a recommendation from a friend and it does exactly what it says on the tin.. Lovely house and rooms. Very friendly owners who are very kind in advice and recommendations for travellers. Lovely loose leaf tea and home made bread and the occasional appearance of the family dog. Walkable to centre of town, private parking. Very... More 

Helpful?
Thank mclaire18
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we enjoyed hosting you and hope the rest of your trip goes well. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here whilst on a business trip excellent breakfast close everything I needed. Nice to keep warm by the fire in the evening. I would stay here again if I was back here for another trip or on holidays with my family.

Helpful?
Thank RichardScottNZ
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Thank you, we enjoyed hosting you and your mum, like having family around! More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016

I stayed here overnight on a recent trip down the West Coast with a friend. The Garden is a lovely period home. After being shown our room, we were welcomed into the kitchen for a cup of tea and some of David's baking. I was so impressed by how welcoming they were and they made us feel relaxed and at... More 

Helpful?
Thank GreyWhisker
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for such positive comments, we really enjoy hosting people from all around the world and sharing our lovely house. We have made the vegan pancakes a few times since and they are definitely better with buckwheat rather than coconut flour. David More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016

Beautiful period house with warmth and charm. We were made very welcome. Rooms were well cosy, home from home. David serves the best breakfast you will find anywhere, fresh home baked bread and roles.

Helpful?
Thank JacquelineK47
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Thank you! So glad you enjoyed your stay. We love living in the house and are pleased to share it. A good hospitality experience is an important foundation to a good holiday so its nice to know we contributed a little. More 

Somerville, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2016

We stayed at the Garden B&B for one night, but wish we could have stayed longer. The hosts are wonderful and very helpful. Breakfast is delicious, especially the homemade ciabatta. We couldn't have asked for anything better.

Helpful?
Thank dmattina
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Thank you! Lovely to host you and the ciabatta just keeps getting better and better. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2016 via mobile

We stayed just one night in this lovely place. We haven't booked it before, so we were lucky to get a room. We really appreciated the nice hospitality. for us very important is the breakfast. it was fresh and selfmade! we can recommend this place! it was perfect for us!

Helpful?
Thank Judith L
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is a pleasure to see how much people from many cultures enjoy our ciabatta, fruit, plain bread and for Chinese guests the half moon egg dumplings. More 

England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2016

I stayed just the one night which happened to be New Year's Eve, and was delayed due to Arthur's Pass being closed for four hours after a bus/car crash. David was good with communication at this time, and indeed had previously recommended a great place to stop en route to Hokitika which I appreciated. So a good start even before... More 

Helpful?
Thank rich45
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Glad to host you and hope the rest of your trip went well. Thank you for the kind comments, We believe a good B n B should enhance your travel experience and strive for excellence in all we present so it is encouraging to get such positive feedback. More 

Bangkok
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night on a road trip around the South Island. This was just what we needed after a bland hotel experience in Christchurch the previous night. The Garden B&B was a cosy 'home from home' and had everything a weary traveller would need. David and Glynnis were both amazing hosts and nothing was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BangkokPhil
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Thank you, such a positive review from someone so well traveled and who has experienced the highs and lows of travel accommodation is really appreciated. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

David and Glenis are welcoming and gracious hosts . . . they made us feel right at home. Great location for walking into town. Cozy and comfortable room. Be sure to enjoy the fresh baked homemade breads (yum) with breakfast.

Helpful?
1 Thank pjkiwi99
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

Wow, your positive affirmation is much appreciated. We think we are doing ok but working day to day in the same setting you can lose perspective a bit and of course there are always ways to improve. Nice to know you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Never stayed at a B&B before but this place was just how I imagined a good B&B should be. Friendly helpful hosts, cosy room, and great breakfast and coffee. There is nothing here to complain about. Well done Glenis and David.

Helpful?
1 Thank Clive J
Hokihost, Owner at The Garden B&B, responded to this review

When we started we hadn't stayed in a B n B so we did some "field research", liked what we found and modeled ourselves on that. Since then we have looked to improve on the experience we provide. So glad you liked it. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
0.7 mi away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#1 of 9 in Hokitika
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Drifting Sands Beachfront Accommodation
7.2 mi away
Mahinapua Retreat B & B
Mahinapua Retreat B & B
#9 of 15 in Hokitika
5.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Garden Bed and Breakfast provides comfortable, quiet restful repose for the traveler in a variety of private rooms at a range of affordable prices in a characterful 1930s villa. Your hosts offer a warm welcome with a cup of tea/coffee, fresh apple cake and all the information you need to make the most of your stop over in Hokitika. A variety of common use spaces, dining room, TV lounge with Sky and two sun rooms, are available for all guests to enjoy and socialize. A healthy and ample continental breakfast featuring home made breads, muesli, natural organic yoghurt and a generous range of fresh fruit is included in the tariff. Gluten and Lactose free options are available on request. A cooked menu is available for a small extra charge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Garden B&B

Address: 136 Fitzherbert Street | Central, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Price Range: $70 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Garden B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay