Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels

Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels

318 Main South Road South Beach, Greymouth 7805 New Zealand
Traveler (28)
Room & Suite (7)
Pancake Rocks
Pool & Beach (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#8 of 11 motels in Greymouth
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
4.4
Service
4.2
Value
4.3
Greymouth Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels is centrally located on the West Coast of the South Island. Many of the most popular tourist attractions are only a short drive away. We provide a good base to explore the region. We have a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets and requirements. You will find us 6 km south of the information centre in Greymouth on State Highway 6 (SH 6) heading south towards the Glaciers, or just over 2 km north from the start of the 80 km zone when travelling from Christchurch via Arthur's Pass. The Motel complex has a separate entrance from the Holiday Park, and you can find this at 318 Main South Road on SH 6. If you are coming from the town centre this entrance is immediately on the right hand side after you go over the South Beach over bridge. If you are coming from the south it is left just after you pass the Holiday Park sign.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Hiking
Fishing
Children's playground
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Dining area
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Hair dryer
Sofa
Wardrobe / closet
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
Languages Spoken
English
154Reviews0Q+A27Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 61
  • 56
  • 23
  • 9
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
CoeliacAdventurer wrote a review Jun 2020
Brampton, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in a self-contained unit here during covid level 2, so was able to get the unit at a cheaper price than they would normally offer. The unit itself was huge! Lovely large kitchen area with a dining table and living room too. Large TV with Sky channels, free wifi, comfy chairs and a heat pump. Separate double bedroom with good storage space and a separate bathroom too. Had everything that I needed. Kitchen came fully equipped with kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge, and a 20-ring ceramic stove top with was brand new. All cutlery, bedding, towels etc provided. The hosts of this park were lovely, and very helpful, answered any questions I had and were generally friendly and chatty.

There is a bit of road noise at night, as it's right off the highway, but I didn't find that it disturbed my sleep at all. The park is also very close to the beachfront, so you can also hear the waves on the stony beach. It's a little way outside of Greymouth itself, but not far to drive and there's also a cycle path that takes you into town along the coast. Well-located for day trips up and down the west coast, you can easily get to Punakaiki, Hokitika and even Arthur's Pass from here. I would highly recommend this park if you're looking for a relaxed place to base yourself whilst travelling.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ron O wrote a review Oct 2021
Richmond, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This Holiday Park is an excellent value for a powered campsite, especially for just one person. Some places charge for a minimum of two people, which is pricey when I come alone. I have camped here three times in the last six years and the price has not increased. The bathrooms, kitchen and lounge were all clean and well maintained. I made good use of the extra space when I needed it.
Keep up the good work.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ngaiway wrote a review Jan 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We Stayed 2 nights with no issues at these comfortable and clean accommodations. But due to chronic pain health issues for my husband he was unable to get up and leave for the usual checkout time. This happens occasionally for him and out of his control. I asked for late checkout for 1 pm but was told this was not allowed and this created great problems for bookings in the place. ( which was not full on a monday night) For us to stay till 1 pm just 2 hours later, i would have to pay 130$ for an extra night . There was no interest in our dilemma no half day rate no extended late checkout.. Left with no other choice we paid the 130$ with the intent to leave at one. However as we had paid , we stayed in the room till 4 pm before leaving for home.

Headed home to Christchurch feeling bruised and bereft of the usual kiwi understanding and hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Theresa D wrote a review Mar 2024
Perth, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The motel room was spacious and very clean
We had all we needed including a little bottle of fresh milk and plunger coffee along with a plunger. Towels could be replaced on request and the shower was hot with good pressure. The layout of the room allowed plenty of fresh air flow with windows that opened. When it got cold at night there was an electric blanket on the bed and two heaters. The tv worked easily with plenty of viewing options
The staff were very friendly.
There was a spa we could have used but didn’t get to it on this stay. Also a barbeque and easy access to the beach. On site parking and free wifi
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nursealana wrote a review Feb 2021
New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
If you want to have a crack at surf-casting, then this is the spot. The beach is right next door and you feel like you have it all to yourself. Free showers with no time limit, which is always a bonus. Good sized kitchen - it did have a hot water tap that wouldn't turn off but I'm sure they will fix it when the power bill arrives. Nice and tidy. Stayed in the powered site for campervan. Dog friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
C O wrote a review Jan 2020
Wellington, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Family and I stayed in a motel unit for a couple of nights. Unit is really spacious, and kitchen is well equipped. The beds are really comfortable. Our son enjoyed the playground on site, and the beach is a 2 minute walk from the motel.

Staff are really friendly and the rooms are kept really clean.

The motel is closer to Shantytown than Greymouth, which was great for us. But, if you are wanting to walk to Greymouth shops, then another place would probably be better.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Try get a unit away from the road, as traffic can be a bit loud.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Slinkybambi wrote a review Jan 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Thanks for the stay at your campsite last night.

The facilities were spotless and I simply loved the pink retro bathroom!!

The beach was a stones throw away and we enjoyed a quick dip in the ocean before dinner.

The traffic was a bit noisy from the road but you could also hear the ocean from where we were parked.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margaret wrote a review Jun 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Took kids and some friends here for a weekend. Stayed in the large family unit. Full kitchen, Roomy, spotless, warm, super comfy beds, a great spot for kids. Right opposite a beautiful wild west coast beach. Friendly and helpful owner. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and there is so much to do in Greymouth - Shantytown, floodwall walk, Woods Creek Walk exploring tunnels, the beach. I would love to come back with bikes and do the bike trail. Amazing place. Had the place pretty much to ourselves. West Coast is doing it tough with not many visitors at the moment due to covid19.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richard N wrote a review Jun 2020
Gore, New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good facilities, clean new and comfortable, the park is well laid out with plenty of space.
The staff where welcoming and helpful and directed me to the local sights.
Unity was well priced and well equipped
I’ll be back
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IrishRTW wrote a review May 2012
Dublin
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We came to this place on the recommendation of the Sept 2010 Lonely Planet. It said they had free internet. We got there and we were told that the internet had a charge something like 2 or 5 dollars and hour and that instead of $30 it was now $35 for a powered site. When we mentioned that the book said different, we were told our book was 3 years out of date, so which I mentioned that it was published Sept 2010. To this she said the Lonely Planet had been asked to update it (This is a common excuse in places like Vietnam, & I never believed it then either). We let it go and checked in.

The next morning we were running a little late. Check out was at 10am. The owner came into the bathroom said something like "I’m hosing¨ which I didn’t understand and thought she meant that she was cleaning the bathroom, so I said ok. 2 minutes later she came in shouting telling me to turn off the shower, and if I didnt she would throw a bucket of water into the shower. To be clear it was 10:15 when I left the shower. When I was back at the van she came over to discuss it, and I asked her if she thought her attitude to a customer was acceptable. She said we weren’t following the rules and she only ever has problems with people who don’t follow the rules, my response was, its 10:15am and are you kidding me? Her response was "well we close the facilities at 10am so I can clean" (she closes them between 10am-12pm, "if you want I can charge more and hire a clean". My girlfriend got a similar response in the kitchen (which also closes for 2 hours). The owner has no concept of customer service and customers seem like an inconvenience to her. I will make sure that if I am ever back in Greymouth I will make sure not to inconvenience this person.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid the owner, seems nice but is a bit odd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SouthBeachNZ, Owner at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Responded Jun 4, 2012
You are a man of your word. You promised a bad review when you left and have delivered one. You came to stay with us (2012) and upon checking in found that some of the information in your September 2010 Lonely Planet Guide was incorrect. We did have quite a lengthy conversation about the fact that we do not have free internet (and have not had for 4 years) and also the fact that the powered site was $35 when your book said $30 per night. If you recall I explained that the staff from Lonely Planet had recently visited (the first time in 7 years). They apologised on behalf of the Lonely Planet for the incorrect information in their book and also apologised for the guests arriving expecting free internet when there was none on offer (and hadn’t been for 4 years). If you did not believe this explanation I do not understand why you decided to stay. Why bring this up now after you have left? I would just like to offer a little advice when you are next travelling, even though I would have thought experienced travellers like you and your partner would have known this already. When travelling around the world, be it New Zealand, Vietnam or any other country, when you arrive there is FREE up to date information on all activities and accommodation at the airport, I-sites, accommodation providers and most of the activity centres also have this information. If you collect this at the start of your travel in whichever country you arrive in it will prevent you from being disgruntled about prices and information you have from a book that is published in 2010 (and you have to pay for it). When you checked in you signed a registration form which says you agree to check out by 10.00 a.m. and we even had a discussion about this at the time of check in. If you want to stay later, you are more than welcome to come up to the office and discuss this. The time is clearly signposted outside the kitchen and ablution block – CLOSED between 10.00 and 12.00 for cleaning. (we do not hide this fact – it is there for everyone to see so there are no surprises). I was running a bit late the morning you have mentioned and did not arrive down to the park until 10.15 a.m. I suppose if I was on time you wouldn’t have had the chance to get in the shower at all and would have been even more disgruntled. At least you got to get clean. The first two requests for you to get out of the shower were quite polite. A “sorry” and “I will get straight out” would have been the right answer, not (give me a few minutes!). On the third request you clearly had no intention of getting out so for the fourth request I had to think of something to say to get you out of the shower. If I was using the facilities after closing time (without previous arrangement with the management) and someone came and asked me to get out, I would have said “sorry” and got out, not say I will just be a few minutes and have to be asked 4 times. You and your partner were the only people in the park using the kitchen, showers and still had your campervan plugged into the power after 10.00 a.m. The other two guests that were using the kitchen were asked to finish up as it was after closing time. They said sorry and packed their food up and left. It was only you and your partner that had a problem with the clearly marked closing times of the facilities and your obvious special need to have a different check out time to everyone else in the park. You also made a comment about the kitchen being closed for 2 hours. That really shouldn’t be of concern to you as you booked in for one night and if you had checked out at 10.00 a.m. with all the other guests it doesn’t really matter how long the kitchen is closed. Check in is 1.00 p.m. and the kitchen is all clean and ready to go by then. We enjoy what we do and enjoy meeting people from all walks of life and countries (as we have done a lot of travelling ourselves). We are people just trying to do an honest day’s work and providing people with clean and tidy facilities for all of our guests so they have an enjoyable stay, which I think the majority have. We are sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience but unfortunately some people we cannot please because unless they are doing what they want to do when they want to do it, rather than respecting clearly marked guidelines, we will never be doing the right thing in their eyes, so no enjoyable stay for them.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Bruce K wrote a tip Apr 2024
Auckland, New Zealand6 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Understand that booking.com does not provide accurate information as to the requirements as to the protocols surrounding dog friendly accommodation"
Read full review
C O wrote a tip Jan 2020
Wellington, New Zealand63 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try get a unit away from the road, as traffic can be a bit loud."
Read full review
kiwizinho wrote a tip Oct 2017
Blenheim, New Zealand10 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cabins are cozy, but do remember to bring your own bedding or be prepared to pay extra."
Read full review
v0nney wrote a tip Apr 2017
Kerikeri, New Zealand30 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request not to have your Campa parked anywhere near the toilet area."
Read full review
Beverly W wrote a tip Mar 2017
Colorado Springs, Colorado93 contributions26 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get a room that is away from the highway."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Greymouth area.
PRICE RANGE
$56 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
South Beach Motel & Motor Park
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionGreymouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GREYMOUTH KIWI HOLIDAY PARK & MOTELS $74 - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Which popular attractions are close to Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels?
Nearby attractions include West Coast Wilderness Trail (3.3 miles), Garth Wilson Jade (1.7 miles), and Shades Of Jade (3.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Lifeboat NZ, Buccleugh's on High, and The Speight's Ale House.
Are pets allowed at Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Shantytown Heritage Park (2.9 miles).
Is Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Greymouth HotelsGreymouth Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GreymouthHotels near Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars