We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Discovery Settlers Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Discovery Settlers Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 190: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I was booked in here by my client. Smallest room I have ever had in NZ. very noisy heater. Tiny bathroom with sink impossible to get near. My co-worker has room in same hotel he would rate 4 or 5. Bad luck for me but I won't be back.

Helpful?
Thank Dave G
Moffat Beach
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The bed and chirps in this room were among the most comfortable of our trip but unfortunately we had the hockey final on and were woken up by the girls ( and boys) celebrating very loudly about 12.30 am and they weren't quite end down for about an hour. Disappointing from management ( and the girls)!

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mark, sorry about the hockey teams keeping you awake, please dial 0 for reception, as we might not be aware of the noise and we will go and ask them to respect others in the hotel. Rgds Chris More 

Canberra
Level Contributor
155 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent one night and enjoyed the comfort of a King Size bed with lovely linen. The room is well set out and clean with a lovely window/balcony. We had breakfast too and it was delicious - one of the better buffets I have had in a while.

Helpful?
Thank KittyKatch
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your comments and we are vary pleased you enjoyed your stay. Rgds Chris More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Met my sister here for a meal and a chinwag :-) Was clean and has everything we needed. Close to the road but minimal traffic noise. Comfy beds and good basic facilities. Restaurant for dinner was pleasant and not too expensive. I tried for brekfast on the Sunday morning but there was nobody around so went into town...

Helpful?
Thank jumping4j0y
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Sorry to see you did not have breakfast as it is available every morning from 06.30 to 09.30am. Rgds Chris More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the budget room which was good for our needs - only downfall was the shower that leaked out the bottom but other than that it was clean and tidy, nice comfy bed and big tv - would stay again

Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ruth, Thanks for the comments and we look forward to seeing you again. Rgds Chris More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

Some of this hotel could probably have a little bit of an upgrade but makes up for it in other respects. Restaurant has nice food and not too badly priced. Generally quite comfortable. Air conditioning unit needs to be turned off at wall as remote won't do the trick but clean enough in the room. Bed comfy. A pleasant stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raewyn D
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Raewyn, We are glad to see you enjoyed the hotel. Please let the staff know which room you are in and that the heater remote needs new batteries and this can be fixed for you. We look forward to seeing you back next time you are in Whangarei. Rgds Chris More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times when visiting Whangarei. The hotel offers a great location and the rooms are comfortable. It's worth getting the breakfast, it's a great way to start the day and value for money. Will always book when staying in Whangarei

Helpful?
Thank Scott H
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Scott, Thanks for the comments and great to hear the breakfast gets your day started the right way. See you next time you are in Whangarei. Rgds Chris More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

Stayed in one of the budget rooms and while, yes, it was a small room it made good use of available space and was sufficient for a single nights stay. Location, visibility of motel entrance from the road, parking and internet connection were all great. We had a good nights rest here, were well based to visit around Whangarei and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire R
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Claire, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Discovery Settlers hotel. Rgds Chris More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

Location is good, place looks tired on the outside and is tight space on the inside, but clean. I wasn't told about my free breakfast which was a shame.Wifi speed ok, all in all fairly average decor with nothing to really complain much about.

Helpful?
Thank Huni Y
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Sorry you did not have breakfast, but we do not have free breakfast. If you had booked a room with breakfast at the time, we would presume that you would know that you have breakfast included or not. Rgds Chris More 

Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

Was planning on staying 2 nights,ended up staying 1.no safety chains on doors,had someone using a key enter our room at about 10.30 at night.Keys must all fit.same doors.But then it happened again at 7.30am in the morning not impressed.Management offered a free Breakfast,,No Thanks .

Helpful?
Thank Sandy4464
DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Please contact management when anything like this happens, as I live on-site and I am available to all guests to contact with any issues, but I did not see you as you have mentioned. The keys to each room do not open other rooms. Rgds Chris More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
0.6 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 mi away
Flames International Hotel
Flames International Hotel
#18 of 35 in Whangarei
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#8 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 35 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#3 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burgundy Rose Motel
Burgundy Rose Motel
#5 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discovery Settlers Hotel, perfectly positioned colonial style hotel with its in-house restaurant and bar, nestled in beautiful park like surrounds,a short stroll from the hotel will lead you along the riverside, down to the town basin; where the Whangarei marina bursts with international flavour. An assortment of colourful shops, and galleries can be found in this area. A short drive away lie the Whangarei Falls, a breathtaking waterfall and bushwalk in a beautiful native bush setting. Another 20 minutes on you will find yourself in the world-famous Tutukaka Harbour, gateway to the Poor Knights Islands. These Islands offer the most spectacular diving and snorkeling in New Zealand; with stunning underwater topography and a cornucopia colourful life. Dozens of white sand beaches, romantic paradise, or fun family getaway. These are just a few attractions Whangarei has to offer whether it's business, pleasure, domestic or international. Discovery Settlers is the place to stay in Whangarei. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Settlers Hotel

Address: 61 - 69 Hatea Drive, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Price Range: $79 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Settlers Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Discovery Settlers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay