We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers

12 Ngunguru Road | Glenbervie, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 96: English reviews
Kaitaia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I surprised at the size of our cabin that my daughter and I shared. The double bed was comfortable and my daughter found the bunk bed good too. The kitchenette was also surprisingly large. It was well equipped. No need to bring utensils or plates. Bedding was also supplied. There were quilts for winter as well as a heater. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Justine G
whfalls, Front Office Manager at Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Justine G, We are glad you had such a pleasant stay with us. The work on the hot tub is scheduled to start this week, and the renovation of the showers started just this past weekend. If you follow us on our Facebook page, we are/will be posting regular updates showing the progress of our projects. Thank you for... More 

Berkeley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stumbled upon this Holiday Park after leaving Tutukaka in search of somewhere closer to town. The site is close to everything in Whangarei, hikes, beaches, caves, shops, roadways, waterfalls, and more. I stayed in a tent site for a couple nights, while it was raining. The kitchen, library, tv room, and hottub made my stay very comfy. Friendly service, good... More 

Helpful?
Thank mcgoobler
whfalls, Front Office Manager at Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Mcgoobler, Thank you for your review. We are glad you had such an enjoyable stay, despite the rain. We hope to see you again next time you want to camp in the rain. Cheers. More 

Weert, The Netherlands
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here in a four female dorm room. Really nice and tidy with our own small kitchenette. Nice pool and hottub. Free wifi is limited and the main kitchen area is a bit dated. Overall i would come back here.

Helpful?
Thank Petra V
whfalls, Front Office Manager at Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Petra V, Glad you enjoyed the free wifi and hot tub. I will pass along your thanks to our cleaners for how nice they keep the rooms. Thank you for your review. More 

Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

the staff is really friendly and can give you some good tips about all the activities around. The place is well equiped and seems really quite. It's really close from the whangarei falls walk, abbey caves, kauri park, ... So a good stop on my way to the north

Helpful?
Thank Nevenoe T
whfalls, Front Office Manager at Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey nevenoe, Glad you enjoyed your time here and were able to enjoy some of our great local activities. Hope to see you again on your way back down south. Thanks for the review! More 

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay a this holiday park! Staff was very friendly and gave us a lot advice about activities in the environment. Our room was big (I think we were upgraded because it's low season). Matress was not the best we ever had, but overall a good experience!

Helpful?
Thank Hanneke B
whfalls, Front Office Manager at Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Hanneke B, We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. Even though it seems big and very nice, you were still in our standard cabin. They are great, aren't they? The breakfast bar and kitchenette add to the spacious feeling of our cabins, and give you lots of room to stretch out and relax. We have gotten many compliments... More 

Amstelveen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

This camping I will recommend because: clean and big kitchen, it has ever thing you need for cooking, clean bathrooms and restrooms, wifi, swimming pool, living room and a great barbecue area. We stay here 2 nights and we enjoyed it a lot. Very friendly staff, they give us a lot of tourist information and they helped us a lot.

Helpful?
Thank K.A. L
whfalls, Front Office Manager at Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey K.A. L, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here. You should let us know what you think of our hot tub the next time you stay with us. Hope you are enjoying your travels. Cheers. More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016

This was a perfectly adequate backpackers, with decent rooms (even the cheapest budget cabin we stayed in) but the communal facilities are very dated and tired, with a strange layout. The kitchen area was small and in need of a good deep clean, it had very old hobs, pans, fridge.. everything, it was perfectly functional though, as was everything else.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Duncancan
whfalls, Front Office Manager at Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Duncancan, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and found us friendly and helpful. We only took over the holiday park around six months ago, right in the middle of the busy tourist season. We agree with you the facilities are dated, and that is why we are in the final planning stages of several renovation projects.... More 

Moers, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

This holiday park is offering what a backpacker/camper needs! Super friendly staff, receptionist Martin was so welcoming, showed me around the property, booked my snorkelling tour (which a highly recommend btw! Must do!!!). 5 mins walking to the Falls. Just a perfect place to be! One of my favourite places so far!

Helpful?
Thank FreddyNZ_2015
whfalls, Front Office Manager at Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. I'll let Martin know how much you appreciated his help. Glad you enjoyed your snorkelling tour so much. The Poor Knights Islands are simply amazing, aren't they? Hope to see you again soon! More 

Victor Harbor, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016

Stayed in our camper on powered site. Martin was super helpful and told us all of the local sights to visit. Lovely TV/computor rooom..BBQ area and a hot tub made a very nice stay. While there I misplaced my phone and didnt find out till we were 200 kms away. We rang Martin who later that day found the ph... More 

Helpful?
Thank Walt K
whfalls, Front Office Manager at Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your review. I am glad you had such a nice stay, and happy we were able to track you down and return your phone to you. In this day and age, phones are so important, what with all the memories and information attached to them, especially while travelling. Stop by and say hello the... More 

Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016

My wife and I stayed here and due to the friendly staff and very personable owner. We decided to stay an extra 12 days. It has everything we wanted, very clean, close to Whangarei Falls and shops all within a good price. We really enjoyed the pool and spa. Martin the owner went out of his way to really made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phil R
whfalls, Front Office Manager at Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Phil R, Glad you enjoyed your stay here. It was great to have you around, and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
1.6 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#12 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
2.3 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel
Discovery Settlers Hotel
#14 of 35 in Whangarei
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
2.0 mi away
Little Earth Lodge
Little Earth Lodge
#3 of 23 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Burgundy Rose Motel
Burgundy Rose Motel
#5 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
3.6 mi away
Whangarei Central Holiday Park
2.0 mi away
Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a small family-run backpackers and holiday park in a semi-rural setting two-minutes' walk away from the beautiful Whangarei waterfalls and scenic walking tracks. Stroll to town along bush-lined riverside walks or laze the day away beside the swimming pool. Evenings are for soaking in the hot tub and sharing stories around the BBQ. Our aim is to provide clean, comfortable accommodation in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Located 5kms north east of Whangarei City centre on the Twin Coast Highway, we provide an ideal base for diving and exploring the Poor Knight Islands. Beautiful coastal beaches and Tutukaka with its marina are a short drive away. We can organise diving, snorkelling and kayaking at the Poor Knights with arranged transport from the front gate available. Local bus stops, shops and a supermarket are within a short walk. Internet Provided. CityLink Bus# 3 and 3a bus stop 300m down the road. We look forward to having you stay with us. ~Martin and Team ... more   less 

Additional Information about Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers

Address: 12 Ngunguru Road | Glenbervie, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Price Range: $38 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay