We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 113: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Clean camping with a lot of facilities (hair dryer, nice kitchen with everything you need), Nice garden with tables to eat. You also can enjoy the pool!! The room toilet and shower are clean The staff was kind and very helpful, they gave us some advise to visit and are available if you need Charming place for little budget I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nawelle34
whfalls, Front Office Manager at Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Nawelle34, Did you like the pool or the hot tub better? I am glad you enjoyed your time here. Thank you for your review.

Montpellier, France
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice place to stay close to the whangarei falls. Staff very hepfull and nice, they can explain you the best things to do in the area. Clean rooms, showers and toilet. Big kitchen with everythings you need. I recomand !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
whfalls, Front Office Manager at Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey Jean G, We are pretty happy with the kitchen and how well we keep it stocked. Thank you for your review.

York, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely place to stay right next to the falls! Clean and well facilitated. Stayed here twice now, the hot tub is a real treat on a cyclists legs! Price is good and staff are friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the area and what to do!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMulley
whfalls, Front Office Manager at Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello DMulley, We went through a lot of hassle to get the hot tub refinished over the winter season, so it's great to hear people are enjoying it so much. Thank you for your review.

Opua, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are very, very clean, the kitchen is large and has good drinking water, and the bathrooms are clean as well - but one of the showers is absolutely terrible. I don't know if it was the timing or if it was just bad, but there was so little water coming out of the showerhead that it did absolutely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lmercerpaiva
whfalls, Front Office Manager at Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Imercerpaiva, We are glad you enjoyed the kitchen and the rooms and the rest of the park. Thank you for letting us know about the showers. We don't usually use them ourselves, so it is useful to know when they need attention. We just renovated them over the winter, and will have to ask the plumber to come back...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Highly recommend staying here. It's out of town but right next to the falls. They hostel is very high quality, there are great facilities and the team are excellent. I would definitely come here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley P
whfalls, Front Office Manager at Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Hayley P, We do love being so close to the falls, and we are glad you enjoyed it, too. Thank you for your review.

Katzrin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

You should go there if you want high quality hostel in minimum price!!! Good beds, everywhere is clean and quiet. Also the kitchen is very clean and organized. The manager of the hostel is very kind and his explanation about the place very useful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yosefbz
whfalls, Front Office Manager at Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello yosefbz, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass along your compliments to our cleaning staff and to Martin. Thanks for your review!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pro: Room is good, comfortable, well-equipped Cons: service of the staffs is horrible. Reception is open only at 8am & i need to leave at 7am. Made me go back to get the deposit of NZ$20. Totally unwilling to help or try to see if we can solve it instead of going back to keep up the deposit when the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice L
whfalls, Front Office Manager at Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Janice L, We are glad you enjoyed your room here. If we are informed in advance of a need to leave early, we will always do everything in our power to work with guests. We are sorry you did not let us know in advance of your plans for an early departure, or you might have had a much...

New Zealand
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

We booked here for one night only after staying with friends for the weekend. We were greeted by amazing friendly helpful staff that directed us to the falls walk and where we would need to catch the bus into the town centre. He also provided us with bus timetables and maps. Room was clean and tidy and so were the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
whfalls, Front Office Manager at Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers, responded to this review

Hey bethcox90, Glad you enjoyed your stay here so much. I will be sure to pass your compliments along to our cleaning crew. Thank you for your review.

Reviewed October 14, 2016 via mobile

Very nice hostel to visit if you find yourself coming to Whangarei, host is a nice guy and always willing to help with any inquiries! If you're up for a few drinks in the night lovely area with tables and lights perfect for a few quiet beers in the evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aiden R
whfalls, Front Office Manager at Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Aiden R, We are rather proud of the location and vibe for just relaxing, so we are glad you enjoyed your time here. Thank you for your review!

Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. The hostel rooms are nice and clean, as are the communal toilets and showers. The staff are very friendly and gave us some great suggestions of things to do in the area. Would highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah D
whfalls, Front Office Manager at Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Hannah D, We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. I will pass your compliments along to the cleaners. Thank you for your review.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangarei
1.6 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#10 of 35 in Whangarei
43 reviews
11.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka
12.2 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Little Earth Lodge
Little Earth Lodge
#3 of 24 in Whangarei
78 reviews
2.0 mi away
Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.6 mi away
Whangarei Central Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a small family-run backpackers and holiday park in a semi-rural setting two-minutes' walk away from the beautiful Whangarei waterfalls and scenic walking tracks. Stroll to town along bush-lined riverside walks or laze the day away beside the swimming pool. Evenings are for soaking in the hot tub and sharing stories around the BBQ. Our aim is to provide clean, comfortable accommodation in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Located 5kms north east of Whangarei City centre on the Twin Coast Highway, we provide an ideal base for diving and exploring the Poor Knight Islands. Beautiful coastal beaches and Tutukaka with its marina are a short drive away. We can organise diving, snorkelling and kayaking at the Poor Knights with arranged transport from the front gate available. Local bus stops, shops and a supermarket are within a short walk. Internet Provided. CityLink Bus# 3 and 3a bus stop 300m down the road. We look forward to having you stay with us. ~Martin and Team ... more   less 

Additional Information about Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers

Address: 12 Ngunguru Road | Glenbervie, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Price Range: $41 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“the 10 bed dorm is great!”
 of 5 bubbles lmercerpaiva, 1 week ago | Read review
“Spacious and comfortable ten bed dorm with storage lockers.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeHermary, Mar 25, 2016 | Read review
“Ours was the "Budget Cabin" - don't take that one.”
 of 5 bubbles BlkChockr, Feb 10, 2016 | Read review
“Watch out for Bed Bugs”
 of 5 bubbles Kiwihorrace, Sep 28, 2015 | Read review
“No tip for a good room per se, but need to remember are in a caravan park therefore need to bring your own tea and coffee, and importantly remember a torch in case you need to go to the toilet in the middle of the night.”
 of 5 bubbles KristyLeanneMorgan, Feb 9, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay