We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

178 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 172: English reviews
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was warm and comfortable, but had a very poor clean before it was allocated to me! Not impressed with what looked like curry sauce up the wall and ceiling in the bathroom. Did not use the restaurant except for breakfast and that was okay.

Helpful?
Thank Andy K
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your advice re the mysterious substance on the ceiling. We have managed to ascertain the room and housekeeping have given the bathroom a complete clean out. It has been re-iterated to the housekeeping staff that they need to thoroughly check all areas of the rooms they service. Once again thank you and I regret this lessened the... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed with hubby's company overnight. Alas lovely on the outside but gosh you need a crane to get you off the bed. It was far to soft and for tall people when sitting on the side you couldn't get any purchase to stand. The other grumble we had was the night meal they ran out of some of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments regarding your stay. It is disappointing that you found the bed to soft for you. If you had requested to change rooms I am sure we could have found you a bed more to your liking. Unfortunately, from your feedback we are unable to ascertain what room you stayed in as guest comments such as... More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

Not the flashiest of hotels but I stay here because it is clean and tidy, is really well located, has a great range of TV channels and is nice and quiet. Not the place to go for a wild weekend but as it it well priced it suits as a bolt hole for business trips

Helpful?
Thank P468VTianw
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoy the wide range of SKY TV channels available. People certainly like getting all the sports and movies available. Your comments regarding cleanliness is welcomed and will be forwarded to housekeeping, which I am sure will be well received. Thank you for your feedback and it is appreciated you choose to stay with us when in Whangarei... More 

Tzaneen, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

My overall feel of this place was a bit run down. Admitted, I did not spend lots of time here, nor did I utilize the restaurant in the hotel. Rooms were sufficiently sized to not feel cramped. Wifi was limited, and I needed to sit in the bad to download emails and do the necessary communication. Close to nice restaurants... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheoDoris
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide comment. The hotel was built in the early 80's so we cannot do a great deal with the physical buildings and as such it can appear older in style. The soft furnishings have been upgraded over the last 2 years and I believe are in good condition and public areas are also... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2016 via mobile

Close to town, bed ok, room a bit tired, ask for a room with a view, my room had a musty smell, linen and furniture are new,tv was placed in an odd place and the sky remote went when it felt like it, the tape holding it together was nit doing its job

Helpful?
Thank Gazzeroni
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

The best views over the Marina are from our superior rooms and to guarantee a view I would suggest you book these. Ideally the upstairs ones as they also have a small balcony. As I am unable to identify what room you stayed in I will get Housekeeping to look for the remote to replace and identify the musty smelling... More 

Kaitaia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

Staff are happy to help. Our TV had a bad signal due to the satellite dish so they quickly changed or rooms. My favourite spa and pool were closed for maintenance. However, if you went to the aquatic public pool just a small walk up the road the staff discounted the cost of the admission off your room. Apparently the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Justine G
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

It is always appreciated when staff are praised for their effort. They really do appreciate positive comments and do try hard to meet guests expectations. It is also pleasing they changed your room to alleviate the TV problem, this has now been rectified with a new amplifier required. The contractors start work on the pool area on the 30th May... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

Stairs' carpet worn and stained. No lift. Upstairs standard room, no sea view, wallpaper peeling off, mould in bathroom and nasty stain on bathroom ceiling. Room service dinner $30 main - "spiced chicken on risotto rice with citrus and grilled leeks" was awful with marmalade, green food colouring and rice pudding texture, with some crispy thin slices of leek on... More 

Helpful?
Thank dianamsd2015
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing that your room service dinner was not up to the standard required. It is a new menu that has been introduced and feedback has been very positive regarding it, especially the dish you have mentioned. I apologise for the breakfast, this was set up by the night porter and he obviously got... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

we stayed here for a night on our way up to mangonui.The hotel was clean and tidy.Staff very courteous.We had a nice double room on the side facing a quiet street.Breakfast was very enjoyable and staff happy to cook some fresh eggs for my wife.The pool and spa were closed for maintenance.

Helpful?
Thank Charles A
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

It is appreciated you have taken time to make comment. Your comments on the staff and breakfast are particularly pleasing as we have made a lot of effort in both these area's. it is unfortunate the pool and spa were put of action but our contractor builders are due to make necessary repairs starting 30/05/16. Unfortunately the maintenance required is... More 

Pembrokeshire, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

Stayed at hotel with my wife while on a business trip. Our room was clean and very comfortable. The meals (especially bar meals) good and reasonably priced. Bar staff very friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast is much better than previous stay..

Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hello Stephen Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Our new menu has only been fully in place for 2 weeks now and the Bar nibbles menu only introduced this week. Feedback on both has been very positive and thank you for adding your comments regarding these changes. Our new bar person has been with us just... More 

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

Would happily return here if the occasion occurs. Spent 2 nights to attend a funeral. Very clean and friendly staff in all areas. 2 things to mention which 1 has nothing to do with current owners and I haven't struck before and that is soundproofing between rooms could be better. Secondly of all my travels both here and overseas 1st... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trisha826
DistinctionWhangarei, General Manager at Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make comment. Without knowing how you booked if you had booked on-line depending on what site you could get two different rates available for rooms. One would be flexi and this means the booking can be changed or cancelled and the other is at a reduced rate but non-refundable and means it is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
0.6 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel
Discovery Settlers Hotel
#14 of 35 in Whangarei
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#12 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#25 of 35 in Whangarei
3.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#3 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 35 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Opposite city marina. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 9 Riverside Drive, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Price Range: $90 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay