We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Aotea Motor Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aotea Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 150: English reviews
Start your review of Aotea Motor Lodge
 Click to rate
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in a 2 bedroom apartment for a hens night. Apartment was very spacious with it's own courtyard. Easily slept 8 people and was very well equipped with kitchen utensils etc. Very modern units. Would highly recommend. Beds are comfortable even though bedspreads look dated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trailertroll
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This motor lodge has large rooms with balconies. My room was very comfortable. The spa bath in my room would fit four. Although the location is a short drive from the town centre, there are three large supermarkets on the door step. There is unlimited free WiFi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scribo
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked for one night but decided to increase it to two once checked in. A top fit out that you would expect in a 5 star hotel. In fact better than some 5 stars I've stayed in. Staff a friendly and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AK-Food-Lover
Reviewed January 17, 2017

Cannot fault Aotea Motor Lodge. There was a bit of a mix up with the room I had booked, this was swiftly actioned and a corrected. The beds are to die for - so comfy. Lovely rooms, great staff. Would definitely recommend the Aotea Motor Lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed January 4, 2017

We travelled from Australia as a family of 4 and arrived 3 hours earlier. We were met by a lovely Maori lady who was able to offer us our room on arrival. The room exceeded expectations, great quality furnishings, spotless, comfortable beds, surprisingly luxurious bathrooms and spacious enough for 2 adults and 2 children aged 5 & 8. We also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniella P
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile

Stayed the night here on our way to Wellington. The room was superb - very clean, good natural lighting, quiet and furnished to a high standard. The spa in the room was fantastic and you could easily see the tv. The guy checking us in had an unusual manner and never said hello just asked our name, checked us in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelKay4126
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed December 11, 2016

Comfortable room, but here were issues with a leaking shower which caused water to travel into main room, and toilet was coming off wall. This was notified to management, however damage to the woodwork indicated that there had been maintenance issues for sometime.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jetsetterj2015
Leowangavegas, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review - it is a busy time for Plumbers but the repairs did get done.

Reviewed November 28, 2016 via mobile

Polite friendly staff. Rooms are spacious and 100% spotless, Spa bath was amazing I expected a smallish 2 person bath as that's normally what you get but these are huge. I agree with prior reveiw do not go to restaurant across the road we had a terrible dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
Leowangavegas, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, I will provide feedback to the Restaurant across the road.

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed November 27, 2016

This is the second time we have stayed here and find it good value for money. Good size rooms and as long as you are away from the road reasonably quiet. The office doesn't open early in the morning, so if you want a morning paper on a Saturday don't expect if before 8.30am as we found out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bartholomew123693
Leowangavegas, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the review - staff should have been there at 8am on Saturday/Sunday.

Reviewed November 22, 2016 via mobile

We had two rooms for two nights there while holidaying on the north island with friends The rooms are quite roomy and comfortable but the beds are extremely soft which we were not used to The room is fitted out with a large 2 person spa which we did use and enjoyed The rooms are not really suitable for in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin K
Leowangavegas, Owner at Aotea Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us this response. We are actually located on the Main Street in town. I will however give the restaurant across the road your feedback.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
1.1 mi away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.1 mi away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 27 in Whanganui
219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#10 of 27 in Whanganui
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#9 of 27 in Whanganui
121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#8 of 27 in Whanganui
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#3 of 27 in Whanganui
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury 5 star central city Wanganui accommodation including free wifi, spa baths, LCD Sky Tv and corporate rates available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aotea Motor Lodge

Address: 390 Victoria Avenue, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Price Range: $136 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aotea Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aotea Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whanganui
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whanganui
#5 Business Hotel in Whanganui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Aotea Motor Lodge staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Aotea Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Choose a room on the ground floor with large Spa Bath”
 of 5 bubbles ronbbell, Oct 2, 2016 | Read review
“Great view from upstairs room 18 on a nice day. Quiet as further off the road. Lovely separate bathroom and spa.”
 of 5 bubbles AnnaFrancescaB_12, Jun 7, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a back room away from street”
 of 5 bubbles MRGuiliani, Feb 3, 2016 | Read review
“we had 125 - in a corner/low level. If you like light rooms as for one on the opposite side to 125”
 of 5 bubbles 435lynw, Jan 13, 2016 | Read review
“Do not get unit 17 ..18..19. Around the vback of the motel cold and dark. xo”
 of 5 bubbles LAURANIC287, Dec 7, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question