We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Dickson Holiday Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Dickson Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 71: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Gorgeous scenery, absolutely lovely people, helping us hopeless tourists from Aus. Spent half my time outside sitting in the gardens and near the creek, wonderful area and so relaxing. Would definitely come back again, thank you for your beautiful hospitality! X

Helpful?
Thank Olivia L
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
282 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited Friday 2nd September for one night, booked a powered site for a campervan. The site allocated was part of the carpark and not a proper site. We choose this park because it is part of the Kiwi Holidays Parks group, its just a pity we didn't check trip advisor first. The whole park is in urgent need of a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael-4551
707cindy, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this review

We bought the Holiday Park at the end of April and have been busily working upgrading. Where you had your campervan was not a carpark, it was a large concrete pad where we park campervans when it is wet. It is designed to comfortably accommodate 4 vans and has power outlets accordingly. Our kitchen and shower block are immaculately clean,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Thames hotels

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

OH dear this place was the most dismall dreary old tired place we have ever been to, We nly stayed one night on a campervan but that was enough. The staff were OK but not overly friendly. We got given a pamphlet of rules of the camp all what NOT to do. then told to give it back after we... More 

Helpful?
Thank jencooke2015
Management response:

Hi Jenny, I'm sorry that your experience at our Holiday Park was not a happy one. We are new owners and are busy giving the Park an upgrade. Our welcome brochure you are referring to is designed to inform guests about where our Laundry, Dump Station, Card Phone, Games room is, also shop opening hours , emergency phone numbers etc.... More 

Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here recently as part of a sports group. We had a single bed unit. The price at $120 seemed steep for what was provided. We had no hot water for a morning shower and the unit was freezing cold as was the camp generally as it's located in a gully. We also used the oven to heat dinner... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aaron H
707cindy, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this review

Our self contained flats at $120 per night sleep 6. The hot water unit had sprung a fault and was fixed as soon as we were notified - it had been working perfectly well the day before. We have also tested the oven and it is working - other people have been using it with no problems. Im so sorry... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016 via mobile

This campground isn't great 'bang for bucks'. Costing a high $38 for two (powered site) per night, good facilities should be expected. Unfortunately, although maintained and clean, the toilet, shower, kitchen dining block is very tired. A rebuild seems overdue. The newer recreation/TV room is also quite a distance away, so difficult if you are wrangling young kids. On a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kuaka
Management response:

We are upgrading the park. As well as the games room, there is also a reading/tv room beside it. As well as the swimming pool there are two childrens playgrounds, mini putt, and a tennis court. We are close to the beach, and numerous bushwalks, so there is quite a bit to do in the park if one chooses. On... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

For new owners Neil seems OK but Cindy is a rude lady with a very bad attitude. When phoning her about the caravan I was wanting to purchase etc... and about the Park itself, she always had an excuse she was too busy and abruptly hung up a few times on me. She also made it sound like it is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank joanne992016
Management response:

Sorry that you were not happy Joanne. I did my best to answer your many phone calls - even when you called at 10pm at night when I was asleep! As I explained constantly to you - by phone and also emails - I don't have the details of the caravan you were proposing to buy and couldn't answer your... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

It was pouring with rain when we arrived and dark so no outside lights made things slightly tricky to find power points and toilets and steps to get to them! Toilets and showers were immaculate and the man on the desk was pleasant enough but could have offered more info than he did. When we left in the morning the... More 

Helpful?
Thank PennyPie
Management response:

Thanks for pointing out the lighting situation we have put in extra lighting on the steps. Neil did take you down to the site with his torch and helped you plug into the power. As it was after hours - we close at dusk, he omitted to tell you about the Butterfly House, but they do have a lovely big... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

We had a great time at the Dickson Holiday Park! Neil and Cindy definitively know how to make you feel at home and cared for. Thanks again for the experience, we will be back soon! This is the place to stay at in Thames if you ask us.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin_Laura
Management response:

It was a pleasure to meet you both. We thoroughly enjoy this place and meeting new people. We are upgrading the park at present. We bought the place on 29 April 2016 and have great ideas to make it as comfortable as possible for all. Look forward to your next visit:) More 

Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2016

Well what can I say, a nice site, a bit removed from supplies, so pick them up on the way. The butterfly Garden is really a unique feature and well worth popping in. The walk on the gold Miners trail ( on the sites flyer you get when you arrive ) is well worth it, but it is tough. Hard... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
Handy M, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi All, In my last day as owner of Dickson Park I have some brief advice. Every busines on Trip Advisor is in business to be successful. To this end, we thank every one of our honest reviewers. We don't thank those that we have cought cheating or stealing from us that have used their reviews to extract their so... More 

Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016

This holiday park is located near main road in Coromandel, but it is still far enough to remain silent even when there is a lot of traffic in the road. We camped here with a campervan and were happy with the experience. The showers facilities were clean, the washing machine did a good job in cleaning our stuff and there... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoonasHM
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
24.6 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
2.9 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
12.3 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 14 in Thames
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 14 in Thames
5.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Dickson Holiday Park

Address: 115 Victoria Street, Thames 3500, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Price Range: $63 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dickson Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay