We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 71: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Sunkist. The host was very kind to us and the room was very clean. It is a short walk into town where we had a great dinner. It was a bit eerie at night because it was incredibly quiet, but that's hardly a complaint! Very unique place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tali C
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2016

We arrived at 7.50pm, which the owner had told us by phone was ok, for one night passing through towards Auckland. The owner was incredibly rude to us during the process of checking in, with little snide remarks throughout. Having traveled in NZ several times (and lived there), I have never experienced hospitality like this before. In general the owner... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lars L
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

Sorry I didn't meet your expectations, I can't personally remember you or a problem as I assume you arrived just as I was closing after a 14 hr day and left by 10 the next morning so contact must have been extremely minimal, I apologise if paying for internet was the reason or asking for ID? This seems to ring... More 

Travelers are raving about these Thames hotels

Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016

I made the mistake of staying at this place twice. The hostess is entirely in the wrong profession - unhelpful, rude, everything seemed to be too much trouble. The first occasion I stayed I booked a 4 bed bunk room and the bed was possibly the most uncomfortable sleep I have ever had. This last weekend I decided to give... More 

Helpful?
Thank webberd
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

Booked for 3 nights, arrived at closing time, left by 7.00 am to attend seminars missing complimentary breakfast, back late & went straight to your room both days. I asked when I saw you briefly coming & going if any problems etc, always said no everything was fine? Tea/coffee, queen bed & quality linen plus towels, flannels, extremely clean &... More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2016

I stayed here for 2 nights with a group of friends so we could walk to the Pinnacles. The accommodation was great value for money, bedding and breakfast included in the price. it was very clean and well kept. Cheryl was very informative about the local history of the district and the hostel building. I would recommend this accommodation.

Helpful?
1 Thank spike123609
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and our lovely Guesthouse. Look forward to maybe seeing you all again 1 day. More 

Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016

After staying for five months in different accomodations this is the place with the unfriendliest host ever. It looks that she never heard about hospitality and service with a smile. Little questions were anwsered really rude. We had no other options to stay somewhere else in town because all the other accomodations were full. The house looks really nice but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leasylvia
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

I am so sad having to answer these petty reviews, & all I can say is niceness & respect go both ways, the sofa in question is an expensive antique chaise lounge & is not designed for putting filthy backpacker bags on. Because of my age I appear to be subject to all sorts of abuse from the new age... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

Had a great time staying here. Rooms were very spacious and catered to everyone. Massive kitchen and dining area and a great outdoor area to lap up some sun. Loved the animals! They are so friendly and LOVE the attention.

Helpful?
Thank 202rochelleb
kiwiscorpio1971, Manager at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay & we hope to see some of you back again soon. You were a fun group More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2016 via mobile

In general the hostel and its facilities are nice and clean, but when we arrived there we got a very terrible welcome. The lady at the reception asked us out of the blue if we were hitchhikers and accused us of not supporting the NZ economy and putting us and others to danger. We were really tired at that moment... More 

Helpful?
Thank Isabell M
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

I am very sorry you found me rude as I thought we were having a general discussion about the good & bad of h/h and the reason I asked if you were H/H's were for our stats which we record for every traveller to help with our advertising. Our only rules are common sense about smoking, drinking, noise & cleaning... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2016 via mobile

My friend and I came across this hostel after a long day cycling in the sun and were looking forward to winding down. We called prior to arrival to check there was availability and then 'knock knock' on the door... For a hostel who calls themselves "stay bike n hike" this was incredibly biker unfriendly. As the owner reluctantly opened... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
kiwiscorpio1971, Owner at Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike, responded to this review

I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations, you rang prior, hung up when told the price with "no thank you." & would find something cheaper, then arrived Our door is permantly locked, we have an intercom system (you didn't use it) rms all had occupants, disturbing them wasn't an option, photo's usually acceptable but your main concern was taking... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2016 via mobile

I've thought long and hard about this review. I obviously read all the super positive and also super negative reviews before I got to Thames. Here is what I experienced after several nights there. Overall, they aren't trying to be a low budget backpacker accommodation. Thus the experience is a little more upscale and includes some more rules that might... More 

Helpful?
Thank world_travels27
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

If I base the experience by our welcome experience I was going to leave the hotel straight away. The lady maybe wasn't in the good mood since we checked in almost at 8 pm. At the start she didn't want to owner the price booked, but in the end everything got sorted. She definitely don't like third part website like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maluca33
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
1.2 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avalon Thames Motel
Avalon Thames Motel
#35 of 53 in Coromandel Peninsula
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
The Imperial Hotel
#8 of 14 in Thames
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 14 in Thames
5.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay, Bike n Hike. Our 1860's Heritage Bed n Breakfast offers a clean and relaxing environment in our own part of the Thames Goldrush History. Catering for the established traveller looking for a relaxing place to stay. Clean and Quiet makes for a great nights sleep between your adventures. A great base for Couples or groups wanting to explore the Coromandel Peninsula and starting point for the Hauraki Rail Trail and the Kauaeranga Valley for those wanting to hike the Pinnacles. The building is an 1860s heritage kauri hotel, now restored and modernized to provide quality accommodation with many home comforts. We do not offer camping or freedom camping facilities of any kind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike

Address: 506 Brown Street, Thames 3500, New Zealand (Formerly Sunkist International Backpackers)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Price Range: $49 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunkist Stay Bike n Hike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay