We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Hotel Coachman

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Coachman
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 180: English reviews
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The rooms functional. The spa and pool were great. The decor was interesting and nice. The rates seemed average for the area. Parking is on site. The restaurants food was wonderful. We still go for a very reasonable priced night out.

Helpful?
Thank David J
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Options for lunch were great with tasty favourites cooked well. Nice seating options for small group or up to ten, still providing a quality experience and atmosphere. Service was very good, and all left refreshed to take on the rest of the day.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jadedog
Samuel-FOM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Dear Jadedog, Thank you for your recent review of La Patio Café & Bar. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed both our food and service. You will be pleased to hear that our new menu is now out for both Lunch and Dinner and look forward to welcoming you back to try some of our new options. Kind... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

We booked a motel room for a night as got too late to drive back to Hamilton. Had to lead early so booked a room with b&b for 135$. Sounds reasonable and alas why not when they don't change the bed sheets or the pillow cases (ours had lipstick smears from bouts of passion from who knows who and how... More 

Helpful?
Thank leysingi
Debbie J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your concerns that you encountered during your stay with us. I would like to apologise for the issues that you experienced. I can assure you that a compliant of this nature is taken very seriously as we take our level of service with upmost importance. Could you please email me... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

I have stayed here many times since the 70's , has the returning home feel to it, well appointed rooms , good bed , perc coffee, and a well laid out fridge, getting on a bit but for me it adds to the comfort. Great staff , very efficient , Restaurant is great value but on the last two trips... More 

Helpful?
Thank OliverWellington
Debbie J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Thanks for your great feedback. It is always nice to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay at Hotel Coachman. You will be pleased to know that we now have updated our beverage list to include some craft beers including Tuatara Pilsner. We hope to see you back in the near future More 

Wellington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

Check in/out was quick and efficient. The room was spacious, clean and nicely fitted out. Great shower (although it didn't seal off that well from the rest of the bathroom, water everywhere, and it's not well ventilated so leaves it quite steamy). Comfy bed, maybe a bit on the soft side for my linking. Not very soundproof, if you're unlucky... More 

Helpful?
Thank floydbloke
Debbie J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to advise us on your stay. We would like to apologize for the slow service you experienced with the WiFi, I have personally addressed this with our IT person. We have located a fault in our system which we have now rectified. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with your the... More 

Napier
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2016 via mobile

We thought the Garden Villa sounded great so we booked. Reception on arrival was welcoming and we were shown upstairs. It's on the corner of a 2 very busy roads. It's large with 2 bedrooms a big lounge with kitchen and a separate laundry. The view from the lounge is a lawn and we were disappointed. The small intimate deck... More 

Helpful?
Thank tripsta00
Debbie J, Front Office Manager at Hotel Coachman, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your concerns that you encountered with us during your stay. We would like to apologise for the delayed response and your disappointment with your room. We have spoken to staff members concerned and have discussed the issues you have raised. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff... More 

Amsterdam
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016

We stayed at the motel part which was nice, clean and practical. Staying at multiple motels during our trip it was nice benefiting from the hotel service like restaurant and bar. Short walking distance from downtown and a cozy place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank Lars B
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

Hotel needs a refurbishment, understatement. Older lady check me in who seemed flustered to say the least. Dint tell me about the free wifi, meal times etc. Intervened by Sid, who was quite good really. Even made a recommendation for a main meal and insisted that we came down for happy hour

Helpful?
Thank Roland D
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2016

Hotel Coachman is definitely one of the most prestigious hotels in Palmerston North. It has this air of style and class around it. As a boutique hotel, it has managed to keep clients that are not into faceless business hotels for just to sleep in between the meetings. I stayed there with my son to enjoy the Easter without any... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jussiluukkonen
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016

Service at reception and in the restaurant was friendly and helpful. The room was clean (even the shower, which is often a nasty surprise!). Dinner and breakfast were good. While not particularly modern it had everything I needed for 1 night for a conference.

Helpful?
Thank Stellarwella
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#7 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.6 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#19 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of Palmerston North, New Zealand and just a 3 minute walk from the CBD, Hotel Coachman is Palmerston North's only 4 star plus Qaualmark boutique accommodation provider offering 72 accommodation rooms and suites feature sky digital television, mini bar, queen and king size beds and some studio rooms offer cooking facilities and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Coachman

Address: 140 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Rydges Palmerston North)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Price Range: $83 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Coachman 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Coachman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay