We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 297: English reviews
New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location and easy to find. Walking distance to restaurants, bars, shopping mall. Staff friendly, room clean, comfortable bed / pillows. Enjoyed wine in house bar after dinner. Would we stay here again - yes 100%.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank expatkiwiwairoa
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed October 31, 2016 via mobile

I've stayed here several times and usually experienced a great stay. I'm not sure if there has been a change in management or cost cutting measures in place but was seriously not impressed with my latest stay. My room was not ready 1.5hrs after the check in time, the receptionist did apologise but when a hotel has a 2pm check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liam404
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed October 29, 2016

This was our second visit back to the Copthorne, helpful friendly staff and the breakfast buffet had a good varitey. Room was comfortable though shower curtain not well hung and tried to snuggle around the leg

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eggy62
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback

Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

Great little hotel in Palmerston North, very modern interior, the Californian king bed was the best part. Burger King is just next door which is very dangerous and a supermarket Pak n Save too! The people there when I stayed we're really nice and friendly, they ordered me a taxi when I needed one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wepiha T
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback

Napier
Reviewed October 25, 2016

On check in we were upgraded to a mini suite. This was a fantastic surprise. But even better was the service. We spend sometime talking to the staff regarding our stay, plus also about our next destination, with some great advise given.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoBates
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback - great to hear the team impressed

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed October 19, 2016

The hotel is very plain and functional but the room comfortable enough, and it is very handy. However we were very surprised and disappointed to find ants in our room the morning after our evening arrival. They made another room available but there was no offer to take something off the price when we checked out as some sort of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed October 8, 2016

we stayed here a few weeks ago. the first night we went to jimmy cooks I had the salmon. when I rang for rooms service the lady made me pay $3.00 just for water. any way. we had a awesome view from our room down to burger king.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pool999
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the review

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed October 1, 2016

I was there recently with a School Team using the Boardroom for a couple of hours for a team analysis. The room was fine, although the lady who was there (Dayle) seemed a little stressed - I ordered a fruit platter that came in at a charge of $95 for a small selection of fruit, definitely not impressed with that....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neta T
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile

After a day in Wellington and then the drive up to "Palmy North" I was just a little on the tired side. Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by one of the frostiest and rudest check ins I've experienced in a very long time. I travel every week for work so am a well seasoned traveler. The young girl...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Di_Australia1302
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and my apologies for the situation. This seems very out of character for the team, but something we will investigate further to identify the staff member concerned. Very disappointing to hear that this will result in the loss of future business from both yourself and your colleagues. A real shame that the efforts of the...

Reviewed September 8, 2016

I am a business traveller and travel a lot, normally checking in tired at the end of the day. The reception was sully and frosty. A smile would make all the difference. I felt like I was interrupting her Pokemon Hunt. The room was faultless, clean and the bed comfortable and I slept well. There are not many hotels or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JCF73
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, your comments are appreciated

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.5 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
197 reviews
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#20 of 25 in Palmerston North
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North offers 76 contemporary guest rooms ranging from Superior Twin or King rooms and Family Units to premium Executive Suites with spa baths. All have been designed with your comfort in mind and offer a relaxing space to unwind whether staying for business or pleasure. Facilities include a restaurant, bar, gym, 4 meeting rooms, 24 hour room service and a guest laundry. The hotel also offers complimentary car parking on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North

Address: 110 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Palmerston North)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Price Range: $60 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Palmerston North
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palmerston North
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“for a breakfast add on ask for the older rooms out the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Eggy62, Oct 29, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the ants!”
 of 5 bubbles 240carols, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
“ask for the rooms that look down to burger king.”
 of 5 bubbles pool999, Oct 8, 2016 | Read review
“I was on Level 4 - the Corporate wing is definitely the more modern of other rooms in the Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Tomokinos, Oct 1, 2016 | Read review
“Request a room in the new Tower wing. These are newer and quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles JCF73, Sep 8, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay