We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

322 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 318: English reviews
Start your review of Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We received an indifferent greeting at reception. We had paid extra for a "superior room with a view and breakfast". Both were somewhat disappointing... The view was of the car park, Burger King and Paknsave a discount superstore. The room was as expected however wifi was chargeable and the prices of the mini bar alarming. The quality of the cooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Having stayed at the Copthorne Palmerston North several times, I find that every stay is different, however as always is great value for money and love the comfy beds. My recent stay I didn't find my room as clean as it normally is. The vent in the bathroom had a layer of thick dust on it (which I ended up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liam404
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback - appreciate you taking the time to let me know of the faults

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked into Central City Accommodation behind Copthorne Rooms are dated but ok until we found we were getting bitten by mozzies also side of toilet was leaking water told reception they were good swapped us straight away. Moved to new room all was good accept hot water tap in bathroom basin didn't work. Other than that great location Good value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJnemz
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Attended the hotel on a two day conference. The staff were really friendly and helpful we stayed in the main building which was modern and clean. The rooms were spacious and the king size bed very comfortable. The bathroom was very modern and the shower had great refreshing water pressure. Lots of little touches like shower caps, shampoo and face...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moonie2011
.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for two nights and enjoyed it so much we decided we wanted a third but the price quoted for an add on was a tad much. It was very quiet and the view from the 6th floor is great. It's very central location made walking to town for food and shopping easy. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dallas S
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

With my husband as part of a huge cycling group. Booked by organizers and this is no criticism of them. However, feel shocked that Copthorne would associate their name with accommodation as poor as this. Our motel room was old and disgusting! Old everything, stained bed quilt, dirty fridge, grotty bathroom with badly rusted rail for shower curtain, paint falling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 699meredith
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in one of the old rooms, hasn't been refurbished for a very long time, dirty cups, fridge filthy and hadn't been emptied from previous occupant. Whole room dirty and very tired. Worst hotel room I have stayed in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jellybean5955
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked early and got a very good rate. We would rate this as a solid three star hotel. Reception is clean and modern but the welcome was lacking. We had to wait to be served and when we were there was no attempt at pleasentries. Our room was clean and modern except the shower in the bathroom which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacey R
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the review

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We always stay at the Copthorne and ask for the economy rooms that get you a breakfast in the morning. The staff are always helpful & friendly, as we were wanting two nights but they only had one free night and gave us a card with their number on to ring if there was a cancellation to let them know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eggy62
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Once you get over the unattractive appearance of the building (not out of place in this town) all seems ok. Quiet room, nice view, good sleep in comfortable huge bed. Sadly there were some bogan street racers in the night, but processes of natural selection will look after them in due course

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank samandhenry
Carey L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.5 mi away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#8 of 25 in Palmerston North
205 reviews
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#18 of 25 in Palmerston North
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North offers 76 contemporary guest rooms ranging from Superior Twin or King rooms and Family Units to premium Executive Suites with spa baths. All have been designed with your comfort in mind and offer a relaxing space to unwind whether staying for business or pleasure. Facilities include a restaurant, bar, gym, 4 meeting rooms, 24 hour room service and a guest laundry. The hotel also offers complimentary car parking on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North

Address: 110 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Palmerston North)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Price Range: $63 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Palmerston North
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Request a corner room- they are slightly bigger.”
 of 5 bubbles liam404, 3 days ago | Read review
“if you are low on funds ask for the economy rooms around the back and also get breakfast with these rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Eggy62, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Make sure you book the rooms in the main building and not the motel styles rooms around the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles KA0007, Dec 26, 2016 | Read review
“for a breakfast add on ask for the older rooms out the back of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Eggy62, Oct 29, 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the ants!”
 of 5 bubbles 240carols, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question