We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Avenue Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Avenue Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 24: English reviews
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2016

Comfortable stay, good parking close to room, units off the road so quiet and no traffic noise. Room was comfortable and clean. Lady at reception was lovely. Shower was great - lovely and hot (on a cold wintry day). Have stayed in other motels in Palmerston North and found this one to be one we would stay at again. Good... More 

Helpful?
Thank lyndyloo15
Management response:

Hi Lynda. Thank you for your review, It was a pleasure having you stay with us over the weekend, We look forward to seeing you again. Many Thanks Graham & Jo More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2016

I used to stay in this motel alot with work, but I haven't stayed for a few years. Stayed there last night, 27/07/2016 but never again, The spa pool was lovely when you first get in, but goes cold within 15 minutes and you can't adjust the temperature to your like, as it is set to 40. On different sites... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie W
Management response:

Hi Julie Thank you for your review, We are sorry you did not find our motel, up to your standard With your concern about the temperature of our spa pools, After checking with our local Spa Pool dealer, No spa pool should be set at more then 40 degrees, the recommended bathing temperature for spa pool is 37 degrees. anything... More 

Travelers are raving about these Palmerston North hotels

The Windy City
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

My daughter was going to Palmerston North for work, so I thought why not tag along. We checked in about mid day and was greeted by the grumpiest, rudest man I have ever encountered. He turned out to be the owner. My daughter rushed to check in as she had to go back in to work; I went out and... More 

Helpful?
Thank SeaGrove
Management response:

Thank you for your review We understand that you and your daughter were upset by our call on the Sunday evening inquiring as to her arrival time, This call was made as a courtesy call as her firm had booked her in to arrive Sunday afternoon and she had not arrived by our closing time. The intention of the call... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

We stayed at the Avenue Motel In Palmerston North for one night in July. We arrived at 1.00pm - 1 hour early and approached reception staff to ask if we could leave our car on the premises until our check in time. They were very friendly and actually allowed us to check in early and showed us to our room.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica N
Management response:

Hi Jessica Thank you for your review I'm not too sure on your concerns about the decor in our motel. Our motel was decorated inside in February, along with new bedding, Curtains & cupboard doors and draws, along with new LED lighting. More 

Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

Found the host to be very helpful and polite so not sure of other review. Very quite as set well off the road. Extremely tidy and clean rooms. Stayed two nights instead of the one we originally booked for and was welcomed a day early with no hassles. Comfy bed and good sized room. Will stay again when in town.... More 

Helpful?
Thank johndee1
Management response:

Hi John Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile

DO NOT EVEN BOTHER BOOKING INTO THIS PLACE! I got a very rude phone call the day before my arrival from the owner asking me where I was and when I plan to turn up? In a tone like your dad would give you if didn't come home at the time you were supposed to. The next day I arrive... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mae W
Management response:

Hi Mae Thank you for your review. In regard to our phone call. It is our policy to contact any guests with a courtesy call if they have not arrived within normal check in times, unless prior arrangement has been made. Your firm had booked you in for a 3 day stay arriving on the Sunday afternoon. When you hadn't... More 

Foxton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

Stayed the night here. Upside: Bedroom was tidy and an ok size, Bed/pillows comfortable (a big tick in my book), close to venue. Downside: Dead Spider in the bath/shower, toilet door didn't close properly, dated decor, no smoke alarm & cord of electric blanket showing wires. Stayed at nicer places in Welllington for the same price.

Helpful?
Thank Scousegirl01
Management response:

Thank you for your review All our units have working smoke alarms, (checked on a 6 monthly schedule) All our electric blankets are tested and none have exposed wires. The dead spider in the bath/shower( not sure), all our units only have showers. All our units were repainted in February 2016, new bedding, curtains & cupboard doors and draws were... More 

Ikamatua, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

Nice Motel for country folk, set back off the street it is quiet with very little traffic noise. the units are neat and tidy, we enjoyed our 2 night stay. its a short walk to the city square with many places to eat.

Helpful?
Thank Robyn D
Management response:

Hi Robyn Thank you for your review Many of our guests comment on the quietness of our motel units, We appreciate for feed back More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

We stayed here for one and found the place very clean and tidy, it,s in a great location a few minutes walk to the centre of the city, it was quiet and very comfortable, room had microwave and refrigerator and dvd player also got free wifi included, host were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank nwi7756
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

This motel is for sale and I think this is for best as the owners are clearly over it! Rude, angry, inflexible are just a few adjectives to describe. After a very long drive I was not expecting to be yelled on my arrival for supposedly trying to rip them off. An innocent mistake that could have been addressed when... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Bellajami
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#9 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Legends Motel
Legends Motel
#7 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kiwi Studios Motel
Kiwi Studios Motel
#8 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palmerston North Motel
Palmerston North Motel
#12 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Avenue Motel Palmerston North is located on a quiet back section. All of our motels - 13 ground floor units, Just a ONE MINUTE stroll to the Palmerston North CBD. The Plaza shopping centre, Palmerston North Convention Centre, Arena Manawatu and Victoria Esplanade all within easy walking distance. One of the quietest motels in Palmerston North.- Relax in your own private spa pool (2 bedroom units only) 32" LCD TV with Freeview HD and 3 Sky channels in all units - Free Ultra fast Wireless Broadband - Have dinner delivered hot to your door from one of our affiliated Restaurants - Cooked or Continental breakfast - - Car parking right Close to your front door - One Minute walk to The Square & The Plaza shopping centre. Off to Massey University? A bus runs regularly from outside the Motel entrance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avenue Motel

Address: 116 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Price Range: $81 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avenue Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Avenue Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay