We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 29: English reviews
Savona, Italy
Level Contributor
278 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

Probably , only a big effort by management on general maintenance is duly requested , in order to come back at ancient splendours! A lot of FREE items are available for guest but , honestly , the level of cleanliness and efficiency , is very poor specially in common spaces and bathrooms!

Helpful?
Thank lucianoferro61
Greater Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

Even for Australia its very dirty now an seems not not cleant up over the last 12 month! Dusty, betts unsanitary, black mold cover the walls and showers. The actual cleaness and state of the rooms, kitchen and the central room is totally different from the posted internet pictures. We intented to stay some days but we moved out first... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan7724
Ian U, Manager at Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are extremely sorry and confused that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are not sure why you have given us this low rating. I have personally checked the areas you have mentioned and can not find any evidence of such things. Maybe you stayed during an extremely busy period and time and staff and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bunbury hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

Extremely run down . Very small rooms in 4 bed dorms so small nowhere to leave your luggage / belongings .. No air con on rooms only a smell of vommit..very small and dated bathroom much like the kitchen which didn't even have an oven. Would have had more space and comfort if I was in a one man tent... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank EndaConway
Ian U, Manager at Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for choosing a dorm bed for $27 that included free breakfast, free Wi-Fi, free home made cake and coffee, free parking, free use kitchen and only 2 minutes walk to the beach and city centre. Thank you for your feedback although I do disagree with you about some points you raise or you may have given... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015 via mobile

The hostel is ok. You have free breakfast - so you can safe a little bit money. I stayed there a few months and it is a good place to meet people. Great area. You have to walk just 200m to the beach and in 2 min you are in the centre.

Helpful?
Thank Jul C
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015 via mobile

I found the room (sole use) room was comfortable but besides the lack of a sink was fully functional; they had even put a heater inside to counter the cool evenings. One thing I will mention is the hostel began to shut down around 6 or 7 with a duty caretaker coming on who could only be contacting in case... More 

Helpful?
Thank seasonedaveler
Ian U, Manager at Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear David, It was a pleasure to meet and speak with you recently. Thank you for staying with us recently and choosing us for our great location and value offered. We are so glad you enjoyed the free upgrade to our Queen room that we offered to you at check-in as you siad you were very tired from your travels.... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Very warm welcome from really friendly and helpful staff. Didn't find any of the problems that some of the other reviews mention. Free WiFi voucher for booking online, towel, lollipop, cake and bread. Plenty of space in the dorm with lots of shelves. It was quiet at night and a super comfy bed, I did not want to get up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Xrean
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

We found the inn when we decided to go see the dolphins in Bunbury. My boyfriend and I had our own room and it was pretty interesting. I feel when you go to a hostile, it;s much more about the experience, not the amenities. We paid $60, had nothing stolen and were left alone. It wasn't bad at all.

Helpful?
Thank Britt J
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised when we came to stay at this hostel. We read a couple of negative reviews but didn't find any of the problems mentioned. The staff were really friendly and helpful when we arrived, and we immediately felt welcome. The room and the bathrooms were clean and there were two shelves per bed to keep your things... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alice R
Ian U, Manager at Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Alice, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Yes we have had a few not so good reviews and I am glad this did not put you off from staying with us. We have many many happy guests who stay with us and it is unfortunate that it is only the very few dissatisied guests make a... More 

Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

crammed rooms, terrible beds, unfriendly staff and a disgusting authoritarian boarding school vibe. Pretty ridiculous was the 10$ dishes deposit. Staff was extremely adamant about the 10 AM checkout time, when we got dishes at 9.25, we were warned that we only have half an hour left… but then they started cleaning the shower from 9.15 to 9.45 so that... More 

Helpful?
Thank thegreatestbane
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015 via mobile

The rooms were cramped, the shared facilities were dirty, the wifi (extra cost) did not work properly, the staff were not friendly, and there was a bad atmosphere at this hostel. I would not recommend it to anyone and I would never stay again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Chad F
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bunbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lord Forrest
Hotel Lord Forrest
#4 of 9 in Bunbury
3.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
Mantra Bunbury Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bunbury
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
Dolphin Retreat Bunbury
#7 of 10 in Bunbury
3.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Discovery Parks - Koombana Bay
0.2 mi away
Rose Hotel & Motel
Rose Hotel & Motel
#4 of 10 in Bunbury
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clifton & Grittleton Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Additional Information about Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers

Address: 16 Clifton St, Bunbury, Western Australia 6230, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Bunbury
Price Range: $44 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wander Inn Bunbury Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay