We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gateway Motor Inn

Hotel website
69 Raglan Parade | Princes Highway, Warrnambool, Victoria 3280, Australia
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gateway Motor Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly and accomodating receptionist. Room (3) spacious, clean,comfortable & functional. A bit dated and no microwave, but was told that they working through and doing major upgrading of most of the rooms, but still retain a few lower cost "Budget"rooms which would be freshend up. Comfortable bed, free WiFi, some rooms with Foxtel and Spa (additional cost for using the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

Needing to attend a family function near Warrnambool, we settled on the Gateway Motor Inn. I originally tried to book online & messed up my dates. A quick phone call to Brendan on reception & everything was sorted immediately. His helpfulness was greatly appreciated. We stayed in one of the refurbished doubles. The room was not only clean but stylish... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
Morphett Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

The room was clean and comfortable. The service, especially from Joel was outstanding. He couldn't do enough for us, recommending somewhere to eat and giving us directions to local sightseeing attractions. He was very cheerful and friendly. More hotels/motels need someone like him.

Helpful?
Thank Marina M
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

We booked the Gateway Motor Inn Warrnambool because there was nothing left in the middle between Melbourne and Adelaide. We paid $159 per room per night, which is certainly the inflated holiday season rate. Upsetting, however, was that some rooms have been refurbished to a modern standard, while other rooms still sporting the original 70s style salmon colored bathroom facilities,... More 

Helpful?
Thank teamberg
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

We arrived and greeted by friendly and welcoming Brendan - service cannot be faulted. We stayed in a Family Room (Queen and twin beds) and the room was a good size. The furnishings were clean and there were plenty of supplies in the room. It just felt a little tired - windows were dirty and flyscreen was torn in bathroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoeHYL
bubblegee, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Motor Inn, responded to this review

Dear JoeHYL thank you for the review, we are constantly refurbishing rooms as you may have seen whilst there. Unfortunately due to the Fires around Apollo Bay the small amount of rain an ash/smoke may have caused the windows to be dirty. If you can call us and advise which room you were in so we can attend to any... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

Needing a total break, we chose wonderful Warrnambool and selected Gateway Hotel for its location and great offer. The room was clean and spacious and we were pleasantly surprised at how much was included - microwave and toaster, the spa, even a nice bottle of wine. The value for money was exceptionally good. The staff were friendly, ultra-helpful, and efficient.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mar J
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

My wife and I enjoyed our overnight stay at the Gateway Motel during our return trip to Perth, WA. Our reception was friendly add very helpful. The price was alright too. It was up to me to pack the car and I mistakenly left two items of clothing hanging in the wardrobe. A couple of hours after our early departure,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johan G
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

The purpose of my stay at this friendly and comfortable motel was as a staff member with a school group from the Mornington Peninsula. I had heard from previous year groups what great accommodation this venue is, so I was lucky this time to experience it first hand. Brendan and his staff couldn't do enough for us. They were so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LeeLoves2Travel
Cranbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

We were a group of 24 senior citizens. From the moment that we arrived Brendan and the team were amazing. They were informative, fun, obliging and very generous with their time. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the restaurant easily catered to our needs. Overall our experience was a great one we will definitely be staying with them again.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015 via mobile

We don't recommend saying at this motel, especially if you have vouchers. If there isa spa in a family spa room and you want to use the spa in your room, its an extra change per us. After to speaking the the staff twice before arrival, as well as once on arrival, about staying an extra night, as we wanted... More 

Helpful?
Thank ezzap81
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Warrnambool hotels
3.0 mi away
Quality Suites Deep Blue
Quality Suites Deep Blue
#15 of 29 in Warrnambool
4.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn On Raglan
Comfort Inn On Raglan
#5 of 29 in Warrnambool
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Western
Comfort Inn Western
#1 of 29 in Warrnambool
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mid City Motel Warrnambool
Mid City Motel Warrnambool
#10 of 29 in Warrnambool
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Olde Maritime Motor Inn
1.4 mi away
Blue Whale Motor Inn & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
#