We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Habitat HQ

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Habitat HQ
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

563 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 525: English reviews
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Habitat HQ is the perfect place for backpacker and all travler who want to explore Melbourne. It takes you about 20 min by tram to get to federation square, which stops literally in front of the HQ. There is a fenced parking in the back, for free! The stuff is so helpful and realy friendly. Plenty toilets, showers and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan S
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I originally booked 3 nights in Habitat HQ and ended up staying for 3 weeks. My partner and I booked online and found a great rate. The hostel had a weekly winter rate at the time, which was $175 per week. Which was slightly higher than some of the other surrounding hostels but for free breakfast (4 types of cereal,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Levi92
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was recommended to me by my manager and it is really an excellent place. The beds are so clean and I like the idea of power supply to each bed in dorm room. Clean washrooms, kitchen and nevertheless absolutely superb staff. They are very well knowledges about the places, very friendly and very caring. They also have best deals... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dafny C
Simone E, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

What a great review, thank you Dafny! So great to read you enjoyed your stay and I will make sure your kind words are passed onto my hard working housekeeping team and reception team. Safe travels Simone and the HHQ team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I haven't been in any other hostel in Melbourne, but I heard many of them are really noisy, dirty etc. Habitat is very cosy, CLEAN and nice hostel! All of the stuff is super friendly and helpful. If you're about to party tho, in the hostel there is no bar however every night there is some activities such as trivia,... More 

Helpful?
Thank olesska
Simone E, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review Olesska! So pleased you chose us as your Melbourne Hostel and glad you enjoyed your stay, our great free events, location and staff! Happy Travels Simone and the HHQ team! More 

Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the first hostel I stayed in on my travels and I think I was lucky having it as my first! Very nice layout with large communal room, large shared kitchen and the rooms are of good size with clean bathrooms. We enjoyed eating out in the side terrace too!

Helpful?
Thank Hanna S
Simone E, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Hanna thank you so much for choosing HabitatHQ as your first hostel experience. So pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again. Safe and Happy Travels, Simone and the HHQ team. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great week staying here. It's clean, sociable, organised and staff are very nice! Different events on every night and even free bbq on a Thursday! Projector has also just been fitted in so that looks promising! We had a great time and met some fab people. Would definitely recommend staying here, good on the budget and close to... More 

Helpful?
Thank EjD0611
Simone E, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving your great review! So pleased to read you enjoyed your stay..projector and movie night is happening every week. Hope to have you stay with us again so you can enjoy it! Simone and the HHQ team More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wish I could rate this place 6 stars. By far the best place and best value for money around Melbourne - great location, super friendly, clean and relaxed. There's always something to do and people to chat to. I love the staff (particular shout out to Ryland, James, Ella, and Nadir the Night King), they're always super helpful and up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becca G
Simone E, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Thanks Becca for you 6 star review! It is always great to read that someone enjoys their time with us. Happy Travels Simone and the HHQ team More 

Chiang Rai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really good hostel, easy to get into the city on the tram, easily walkable distance to St Kilda beachfront. Hostel has everything you'd need, good kitchen, nice enough beds, clean bathrooms, decent car park, free tea + coffee! My only issue is with the amount of long term guests it can be hard for people only there for a few... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy C
Simone E, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Andy, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, although finding it hard to fit it with our guests is disappointing. We have nightly events designed to encourage new friendships and welcome all. I am disappointed that this is not your experience. I will also pass onto my team your feedback about their customer service... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this hostel when we first arrived in Melbourne while we were searching for an apartment to rent. We were able to take the 'FAPAS bus' from the airport which very conveniently dropped us at the front door of Habitat HQ. Make sure to call the hostel when you arrive so they can give you a code for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karina F
Simone E, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Thank you fror taking the time to leave your review and feedback Karina. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We have an even mix of WHV and short term guests, I am disappointed to read that you felt that this was tipped towards WHV. Our nightly events are aimed to get our guests, old and new together... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights and felt that was more than enough. The staff are amazing and very helpful with any problem. The facilities are good and I had friendly people in my room but everyone here seems to be working or staying long term. Due to this, the atmosphere isnt great and the place can feel very cliquey.... More 

Helpful?
Thank felix c
Simone E, General Manager at Habitat HQ, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Felix, One of the core aims of HabitatHQ is to bring people together with our nightly free events and I am sorry to read that this was not your experience. I hope you return during your travels and you have the experience most of our guests have. Happy and Safe Travels Simone and the HHQ... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
2:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Kilda
Apartments Ink
#7 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abode By Easystay
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#27 of 115 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Habitat HQ is a Victorian Tourism "Hall Of Fame" and City of Port Phillip Business of the year 2014,budget accommodation and backpacker hostel located in St Kilda, Melbourne. Options available from 4, 6, 8 & 10 bed dorms to private double and triple rooms with en-suites. Free breakfast, free WiFi, large kitchen, lounge, TV room, outdoor courtyard, free secure car parking and 24 hour reception. We specialize in providing budget accommodation for international and domestic travellers and groups. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Habitat HQ

Address: 333 St Kilda Rd | Corner of Blanche St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Price Range: $24 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Habitat HQ 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Habitat HQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitat Hq Hotel St Kilda
Habitat HQ St Kilda, Greater Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay