We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
1/28/2018 1/29/2018
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Ritz for Backpackers

    169B Fitzroy St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    1/28/2018 1/29/2018
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    $49
    $43
    View Deal
    Traveler (3)
    Room & Suite (3)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Overview
    • Excellent38%
    • Very good11%
    • Average10%
    • Poor16%
    • Terrible25%
    Travelers talk about
    Free Internet
    Kitchenette
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (137)
    Traveler rating
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 127 reviews

    Reviewed 2 days ago

    I've been in this hostel for 10 nights. I stayed in a room for 10 people and I met many backpackers like me, with many stories to tell. Everything is clean and in kitchen pasta and the rice are free. The wifi is free for...More

    Thank SteveintheWorld
    Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

    Stayed at the ritz for backpackers in both dorms and a private. Had a great time, but have to say that asking $585 for a week in a private room is extortion and taking advantage of backpackers who have little money and no where else...More

    Thank laura1892
    Reviewed October 15, 2017

    Rooms, good value but noise is constant with slamming of doors all night particularly by cleaners in the morning. If you want sleep forget it. As previously mentioned manager showed queer behaviour by pretending to be a cleaner when he was in fact the manager...More

    Thank craigcyclist869
    Reviewed September 14, 2017

    The lady at reception was lovely and friendly. The hostel was big, and in an old building, which gave it a nice ambiance. The room itself was as expected, the bed was comfy, the room was large enough for the two of us, and it...More

    Thank arq16
    Management response:Responded September 15, 2017

    Thanks for the review. We are sorry about the fire alarm. Unfortunately one of the sensors was damaged but we have fix it already. The alarm stopped cause there was a staff member in house that after doing the security check to make sure no...More

    Reviewed August 24, 2017

    The first couple of days we had an amazing time at Ritz. They had no bar so it was okey to drink at the hostel, it was self-served pancakes in the mornings etc. The room was good and we had free, but limited Wifi. Then...More

    1  Thank ellen j
    Management response:Responded September 5, 2017

    Dear Ellen, Thanks for leaving us some feedback about your stay. We are very sorry to hear about then noise you experienced during your stay here. The response of the person on duty when you went to complain is completely unacceptable and does not reflect...More

    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Internet
    Details
    • Price range
    • $25 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette
    • Number of rooms
    • 44
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ritz for Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Australia >
    • Victoria >
    • Greater Melbourne >
    • Port Phillip >
    • St Kilda
    • Also Known As
    • Ritz For Backpackers Hotel St Kilda ,
    • Ritz St Kilda ,
    • St Kilda Ritz-Carlton ,
    • Ritz For Backpackers St Kilda, Greater Melbourne
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveler (3)
    Room & Suite (3)
    Pool & Beach (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (16)
    Bathroom (1)
    Nearby
    Nearby HotelsSee all 19 hotels in St Kilda
    Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
    1,339 reviews
    .08 miles away
    Crest on Barkly Hotel
    105 reviews
    .11 miles away
    St. Kilda Junction Accommodation
    291 reviews
    .11 miles away
    Holiday Inn St Kilda Rd Melbourne
    4 reviews
    .20 miles away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Fitzrovia
    543 reviews
    .10 miles away
    Milk the Cow
    235 reviews
    .08 miles away
    Banff
    286 reviews
    .14 miles away
    Mahjong Restaurant
    116 reviews
    .05 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    Jewish Museum of Australia
    77 reviews
    .31 miles away
    Windsor Siding
    6 reviews
    .41 miles away
    Windsor Castle
    6 reviews
    .44 miles away
    Linden New Art
    11 reviews
    .52 miles away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Ritz for Backpackers staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Cold hostel but easy to live in, perfect location"
    Read review
    "If you can, avoid room 101, as it is the nosiest room of them all there. I also stayed in room 217 and it was..."
    Read review
    "Upper floors are probably a little quieter"
    Read review
    "Worth it to spend extra money for less people in the room."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing