We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ritz for Backpackers

Booking.com$30*
View Deal
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ritz for Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 118: English reviews
Start your review of Ritz for Backpackers
 Click to rate
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I spent two weeks at The Ritz in St Kilda and had a real ball. The dorm rooms are nothing special, but okay. The location is good, a five minute walk to the grocery store, and ten minutes to the beach and pier (go see the Fairy Penguins off the end of the pier). While you're there, hang out on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tommy O
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Free pancakes for breakfast.. Say no more! The rooms were a decent size relative to the amount of people, however, there were nowhere near enough plugs. En suite bathrooms were handy and the communal showers were hot and powerful. The common area would be great but it seemed to be constantly occupied by the same group of people that had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam F
Reviewed April 19, 2017

We arrived for 3 nights and Ritz told us they only had us for 2 nights and had given away our room. We had to walk to another place they owned, definitely lesser quality, dirty and loud. The manager was always too busy to deal with us and the promised refund of 1 night for their error was never credited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosalyn B
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed April 6, 2017

Good Location, chill vibes and friendly staff. Like that the place is near most public transport and parks, the room I stayed in is clean and there are many food outlets nearby which make it pretty convenient. The staff here are super helpful, thanks again for helping me find my way around Melbourne! Would visit again if I drop by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TetLeon
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed April 5, 2017

Stayed during peak period over the F1 week. Easy access to public transport, food & events! Some quirky travelers but that adds to the experience. Friendly staff always ready to help with a smile. Especially the morning shift guy who went above & beyond to get me out of a pickle - missed my bus ride to the airport &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lilian C
Reviewed April 5, 2017 via mobile

I' ve stay at the Ritz more than 2 weeks and has been awesome! The building and location are perfect, close to the beach, parks and great bars. The rooms are very nice n clean the staff is very friendly and the free dinner nights are the best! Can't wait to come back! Thanks to all for being such friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina S
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed April 3, 2017

Male member of staff, Max, standing at my door in the morning counting, '3,2,1, I don't see you moving, 3,2,1, move.' This was because I wasn't out of the room at checkout time, unacceptably rude and intimidating. Other staff are nice. Limited wifi and very noisy due to hostel being right on the road. My room deposit was taken from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ballindine
Ritzbackpackers, Manager at Ritz for Backpackers, responded to this review

We are sorry you had a bad encounter with one of our staff but it's important that we all respect the rules and you are didn't want to help at any point by attending our house rules (2 hours late c/o is incomprehensible) . That's why your key deposit was taken away from you. Not aware of any locker deposit...

United Kingdom
Reviewed March 29, 2017 via mobile

a very quirky, homely hostel! the people working on reception were very friendly, up beat, helpful, warm and welcoming! Our room was spotless and comfortable! The smoking area is set out beautifully! A lovely place to chill out! Also pancakes for breakfast!!!!!! Had a great stay, thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eva C
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed March 24, 2017

Stayed here a couple of times, both good no issues, always friendly staff swearing any problems you may have. Free internet is limited but you can pay for premium service 10 mins from beach and bars/restaurants

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darrentonks2008
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 12, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel for 10 days whilst in Melbourne. It was clean throughout our stay which is good when sharing a bathroom! The hostel itself is a bit run down (common area etc) but they offer lots of free food such as rice and pasta in the kitchen, as well as organising a free BBQ and pasta night,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MollyM1995
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Kilda
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#98 of 159 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Habitat HQ
#1 of 18 in St Kilda
611 reviews
St. Kilda Beach House
#3 of 18 in St Kilda
179 reviews
BASE Backpackers St Kilda
#2 of 18 in St Kilda
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Internet
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about Ritz for Backpackers

Address: 169B Fitzroy St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Price Range: $18 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Ritz for Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz For Backpackers Hotel St Kilda
Ritz St Kilda
St Kilda Ritz-Carlton
Ritz For Backpackers St Kilda, Greater Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ritz for Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you can, avoid room 101, as it is the nosiest room of them all there. I also stayed in room 217 and it was fine.”
tommyo949, 1 week ago | Read review
“Upper floors are probably a little quieter”
LouP456, Dec 29, 2016 | Read review
“Worth it to spend extra money for less people in the room.”
911oliviad, Feb 22, 2016 | Read review
“try to ask for one not above the bar. ridiculously loud”
kellyorich, Nov 17, 2015 | Read review
“second floor is quieter”
paul8827, Oct 27, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$30* /night
View Deal
Priceline$40
Hostelworld.com$33
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates