We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ritz for Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ritz for Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 102: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

Very cheap hostel, but it's not that great. Stayed for 3 nights, rooms are really dirty, beds were really uncomfortable. I was told by someone staying in my room not to use the downstairs showers as they were rubbish, used the upstairs ones so can't say what they were like myself, but the upstairs ones were pretty good. Living room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Olivercorston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2016

After staying in YHA hostels in Australia, this hostel was a big change! Went into our room to find that the previous people had covered the smoke alarm and it felt/smelt like they had smoked about 5 packets a day. Went to have a shower to find that ALL the windows were open (bear in mind that it was about... More 

Helpful?
Thank beth2307

Travelers are raving about these St Kilda hotels

1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2016 via mobile

Had a great stay the staff were very helpful will be back the free breakfast was a nice touch also all the free activities at night,the only downside was the loud music from the bar downstairs on the weekends but the bar is owned by someone else.

Helpful?
Thank Keira M
Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

The Ritz is a great place to stay, nice people, activities every day!! The hostel is always clean and the location is perfect to take the tram to the city or walk to the beach. 100% recommend this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Ignacia V
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

This place is amazing, im a french girl travelling on my own, and this place is the best ! Its safe, with a friendly staff and a lot of free stuff (pasta, rice, tea coffee and breakfast) and every single evenings they are organising funny events to meet all the residents :) its like a family, the staff its so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mathilde C
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

Good atmosphere especially for solo travellers. It's like a family. Big rooms and they look fancy. Really really clean everywhere! Staff is helpful. When you extend last minute you have to change rooms. They are always fully booked. Good kitchen.

Helpful?
1 Thank naddl1992
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2016 via mobile

Me and a friend (who had been travelling for over a year at this point and have stayed in many hostels) stayed for a week when we first arrived in Melbourne and hated it. Too many long termers who make you feel unwelcome and act as if you are trespassing in their home. The staff are also long termers so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maizey R
Ritzbackpackers, Manager at Ritz for Backpackers, responded to this review

**This comment is about under the old Management/read below about the new hostel** Dear Mazey Sorry you have experienced the old Ritz for Backpackers. Unfortunately it wasn't the place to be for travellers like you. Since February 2016 we are working under new Management and they changes came to stay. Our new priorities are: Make a place where everyone is... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2016

Good location for St Kilda beach, big kitchen and common room and the private room we stayed in was spacious and comfy. Staff were friendly and let us cancel one night when our plans changed which was really helpful. Bathrooms were old, there was always a queue for the showers and never enough hot water - if you want a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
Ritzbackpackers, Manager at Ritz for Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear guest! Great to hear your liked us quite a lot! Let me explain you... oh future guests of us... how to fully love us. Bathrooms are old but they like to do their job and we have never heard of hot water not working properly (will double check as might have been an isolated case). Free wifi... is FREE!!... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2016 via mobile

.... This is the place for you. The bar downstairs has a live band at the weekend which plays till about 1.30am. I thought the mirror was going to fall off the wall at one point. This was not the only issue with the hostel.... It was cold, damp and dirty. I guess, if you're a young traveller that wants... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joshua G
Ritzbackpackers, Manager at Ritz for Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear guest, I do like Rock music personally and I think many people too however we All like sleeping properly. We have the unfortunate situation (but nice in a way) to be above a pub that throw some rock on fridays and saturdays. I'm surprised you found us Cold, damp and dirty when most people find us clean and really... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 21, 2016 via mobile

VERY noisy pub below so if you're unlucky enough to have a room on the 1st floor you won't be getting any sleep. Cleaning wasn't up to standard and the kitchen is regularly missing essentials. The staff also didn't seem to have a clue what they were doing. Not worth it.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ritzbackpackers, Manager at Ritz for Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Mister/Misses "No", It's interesting to start a reply to someone I'm not even sure if has stayed or not but you have touched some sensitive subject that I can deal. Yes, we've got a pub and we've heard that before. I'm happy to give an answer to it. They like rock and roll during the weekend and we don't... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
0.3 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Kilda
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.1 mi away
Crest on Barkly Hotel
Crest on Barkly Hotel
#12 of 19 in St Kilda
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest on St Kilda Road
Quest on St Kilda Road
#7 of 19 in St Kilda
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Additional Information about Ritz for Backpackers

Address: 169B Fitzroy St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Price Range: $24 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ritz for Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz For Backpackers Hotel St Kilda
Ritz St Kilda
St Kilda Ritz-Carlton
Ritz For Backpackers St Kilda, Greater Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ritz for Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Worth it to spend extra money for less people in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles 911oliviad, Feb 22, 2016 | Read review
“try to ask for one not above the bar. ridiculously loud”
 of 5 bubbles kellyorich, Nov 17, 2015 | Read review
“second floor is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles paul8827, Oct 27, 2015 | Read review
“Dont!!! Just Dont!”
 of 5 bubbles Deanna75, Dec 2, 2014 | Read review
“Upstairs, never downstairs. The noise from the Elephant bar is so loud downstairs. Room 217 has an ensuite bathroom as well.”
 of 5 bubbles Backpackingchick94, Sep 17, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay