We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Crest on Barkly Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crest on Barkly Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 63: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After paying up front for 2 nights accommodation I was hit with a further $300 up front payment as a security deposit, nothing said about this when I booked, then upon departure I asked for the security deposit back and was informed it would take up to seven business days to get the refund. The property itself is old and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cate-Pete
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful charming older 2 bedroom apartment well appointed had everything we as a family of 5 could want. The polished wood floors and staing glass windows and doors were charming and beautiful. Will definatly be back 😀 $20 per night parking was secure and very well priced. The area was super quiet and close to everthing. The service was imaculate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in a room with bunk beds and a shared toilet. Very nice room, although the layout is a bit odd. can only see the TV from one bed. Fridge and kettle provided. Bathroom was very modern and clean. Staff were lovely and even helped us carry our bags over to our room. Very nice stay

Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
CrestonBarkly, Front Office Manager at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robyn, Thank you for the positive words about your stay at the Como Court Apartments. I am pleased that you found the accommodation to be pleasant. We always pride ourselves on good customer service and I am pleased that you noted the efforts of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

Efficient and friendly welcome by staff at front desk, shown to our apartment. Parking was very convenient to our apartment on the ground floor. The 3 bedroom apartment was great, heaps of space, comfortable beds, neat kitchen. Central location, easy 20 min. walk down to Acland St. shops. Will only get better when renovations all completed within the complex. Highly... More 

Helpful?
Thank alreidy
CrestonBarkly, Manager at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Reidy, Thank you for your review and generous comments. We are pleased to know you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you soon on your next holidays. Kind Regards, Lorena Front Office Manager More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016

Location of this hotel is good. However the room we stay in was Room 232, which little to our knowledge was right next to the lift, when the lift when up and down it created a horrendous noise, which went right in to the night and started early in the morning. I think in total I managed 45 mins sleep... More 

Helpful?
Thank PpboiBris
CrestonBarkly, Front Office Manager at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sir, Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your stay at the Crest on Barkly. I am disappointed to read of the shortcomings you mentioned. I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for your undesirable experience. I understand that one of the most basic expectations as a hotel guest is that you would... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

Location is great. Staff very helpful and friendly on arrival. Carpark is very small and poky, not suitable for SUV, too tight. The hotel floors are very disjointed. We had a family room, 2 queen beds plus one single for 4 people. Disappointing 2 mornings in a row we only had 3 towels and had to go downstairs to additional... More 

Helpful?
Thank Soni M
CrestonBarkly, Guest Relations Agent at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Soni, Thank you for the candid feedback from your stay at the Crest on Barkly. We always endeavor to improve our standards and your feedback plays an important role in identifying areas that needs improvement. I am sorry that you had difficulties with our car park. For your next visit may I suggest that you utilize the open area... More 

Diamond Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

5 of us Girls (50 years plus) stayed here as we were seeing a show nearby. Stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment which was great value for money. Management showed us to our room & services. Very attentive. Following day also showed us othe facilities this Venue has which is very exciting times ahead. Management handled a situation with another... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey T
CrestonBarkly, Guest Relations Agent at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracey, Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your stay at the Crest on Barkly. I am very pleased that you found your recent stay at the hotel to be pleasing and that you enjoyed using the facilities that we offer at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in... More 

Altona, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

Today I attended a full day event held at this venue. We were really looked after. The big room was great, with good acoustics for the mike and PA. Food was taken care of well, and great coffee was easy to find. The staff were so helpful, and it was a pleasure to attend.

Helpful?
Thank Russell S
CrestonBarkly, Guest Relations Agent at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Russell, Thank you for the positive feedback from your function recently held in the ballroom at the Crest on Barkly. We pride ourselves on good customer service and I am pleased that you appreciated the efforts of our staff in making you feel welcome at our hotel. Please feel free to contact the hotel if you have any queries... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

Once we checked in we were taken to our room by the receptionist via the rear of the building where you had to walk through the builders rubbish because they are still renovating the apartments....not a very good first impression and it didn't improve. We requested a quiet apartment but got put into one along the busy road, they have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

The room had heaps of room and was clean. The reception staff very accommodating of all queries responding immediately. Free parking, wi fi we didn't pay for but were able to use. Close enough to St Kilda points of interest that we could walk. recommend to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank shameg27
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.6 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Abode By Easystay
Abode By Easystay
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Apartments Ink
Apartments Ink
#7 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Crest on Barkly Hotel is located right behind No. 1 St Kilda Road Melbourne. Just 8 minutes from Melbourne's Central Business District. Our apartments are all fully self contained, you will find all the facilities you will need to feel at home away from home. Great for families, long stays and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crest on Barkly Hotel

Address: 47 Barkly St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Price Range: $82 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crest on Barkly Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Crest on Barkly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest On Barkly Hotel St Kilda, Greater Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay