We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Crest on Barkly Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crest on Barkly Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 67: English reviews
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was very stuck this past weekend and desperately needed a place to stay quick. Luckily I found Crest on Barkly with vacancy still, but for some godforsaken reason I have booked the wrong date. The front desk staff Maxi was kind enough to try in every possible way to deal with the online travel agency to change the booking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maggie L
CrestonBarkly, Guest Relations Agent at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maggie, Thank you for your positive review about the Crest on Barkly. Your kind words will be passed on to the relevant staff. Our priority is looking after our guests. After all that is what hospitality is all about. We are very pleased that we were able to assist you in your time of need. We are honored that... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms were very clean and well presented for the price we paid. Easy to find, friendly staff and a good location. We booked a room with no window , were surprised by having a room with a window with nice views of the city. Bed was very comfy too

Helpful?
Thank Aaron F
CrestonBarkly, Guest Relations Agent at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review following your stay with us here at the Crest on Barkly. We are so pleased to hear of your enjoyment during your stay with us. We indeed do strive to offer a service worthy of our 4 star rating and we are pleased this was achieved during your visit. We look forward to having... More 

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely Hotel. Inexpensive. Rooms clean. Though a bit far from downtown Melbourne. The hotel was nice. Would stay here again. The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of five, Was the lift kept breaking down, and it was a far walk from the garage to my room with heavy luggage. No help with luggage available.

Helpful?
Thank Nurserosie
CrestonBarkly, Guest Relations Agent at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rosie, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that overall your experience at the Crest on Barkly was positive and that you would stay with us in the future. I do apologize for the difficulties you faced with the lift being out of service due to maintenance. I understand that it would have been unpleasant having... More 

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2016

Very large room, Elevator was out of order for repairs, but was only on second floor fortunately. Smoke free building, staff very pleasant and helpful. Secure car park was definitely a requirement, and was included in price of room.

Helpful?
Thank Camrowley89
CrestonBarkly, Guest Services at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that overall your experience at the Crest on Barkly was positive. We appreciate your understanding with regards to the maintenance work that was carried out on our lifts. We are very pleased to announce that the maintenance work is over and we now have upgraded lifts. At the Crest on... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

After paying up front for 2 nights accommodation I was hit with a further $300 up front payment as a security deposit, nothing said about this when I booked, then upon departure I asked for the security deposit back and was informed it would take up to seven business days to get the refund. The property itself is old and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cate-Pete
CrestonBarkly, Guest Services at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review following your stay in one of our serviced apartments. We take all feedback from our guests very seriously. Your feedback allows us to improve our services. We are disappointed that over all you were not happy with your stay. As a business we do require room bonds to cover incidentals. Our security bond policy... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful charming older 2 bedroom apartment well appointed had everything we as a family of 5 could want. The polished wood floors and staing glass windows and doors were charming and beautiful. Will definatly be back 😀 $20 per night parking was secure and very well priced. The area was super quiet and close to everthing. The service was imaculate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
CrestonBarkly, Guest Relations at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl M, We appreciate your positive feedback following your stay in one of our serviced apartments. We are pleased to hear that you found the apartment to be aesthetically pleasing. We also agree with you that our location is very handy. We are not far away from the attractions of St Kilda and it is only a ten minute... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a room with bunk beds and a shared toilet. Very nice room, although the layout is a bit odd. can only see the TV from one bed. Fridge and kettle provided. Bathroom was very modern and clean. Staff were lovely and even helped us carry our bags over to our room. Very nice stay

Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
CrestonBarkly, Front Office Manager at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robyn, Thank you for the positive words about your stay at the Como Court Apartments. I am pleased that you found the accommodation to be pleasant. We always pride ourselves on good customer service and I am pleased that you noted the efforts of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

Efficient and friendly welcome by staff at front desk, shown to our apartment. Parking was very convenient to our apartment on the ground floor. The 3 bedroom apartment was great, heaps of space, comfortable beds, neat kitchen. Central location, easy 20 min. walk down to Acland St. shops. Will only get better when renovations all completed within the complex. Highly... More 

Helpful?
Thank alreidy
CrestonBarkly, Manager at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Reidy, Thank you for your review and generous comments. We are pleased to know you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you soon on your next holidays. Kind Regards, Lorena Front Office Manager More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016

Location of this hotel is good. However the room we stay in was Room 232, which little to our knowledge was right next to the lift, when the lift when up and down it created a horrendous noise, which went right in to the night and started early in the morning. I think in total I managed 45 mins sleep... More 

Helpful?
Thank PpboiBris
CrestonBarkly, Front Office Manager at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sir, Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your stay at the Crest on Barkly. I am disappointed to read of the shortcomings you mentioned. I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for your undesirable experience. I understand that one of the most basic expectations as a hotel guest is that you would... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

Location is great. Staff very helpful and friendly on arrival. Carpark is very small and poky, not suitable for SUV, too tight. The hotel floors are very disjointed. We had a family room, 2 queen beds plus one single for 4 people. Disappointing 2 mornings in a row we only had 3 towels and had to go downstairs to additional... More 

Helpful?
Thank Soni M
CrestonBarkly, Guest Relations Agent at Crest on Barkly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Soni, Thank you for the candid feedback from your stay at the Crest on Barkly. We always endeavor to improve our standards and your feedback plays an important role in identifying areas that needs improvement. I am sorry that you had difficulties with our car park. For your next visit may I suggest that you utilize the open area... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.6 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Abode By Easystay
Abode By Easystay
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.4 mi away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#7 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Crest on Barkly Hotel is located right behind No. 1 St Kilda Road Melbourne. Just 8 minutes from Melbourne's Central Business District. Our apartments are all fully self contained, you will find all the facilities you will need to feel at home away from home. Great for families, long stays and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crest on Barkly Hotel

Address: 47 Barkly St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Price Range: $79 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crest on Barkly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Crest on Barkly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crest On Barkly Hotel St Kilda, Greater Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay