We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Barkly

109 Barkly Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Barkly
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 39: English reviews
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016

This was just by chance as accommodation was very tight that weekend but we were pleasantly surprised our room was huge very clean lge bathroom we had booked other accomm for the next few nights but wish we had just stayed there everybody so friendly nothing too much trouble also the bar happy hr from 4.00 you won,t believe the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharryn M
St Kilda B, Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review - we're so glad you enjoyed our public bar menu and breakfast. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2016

The room was just like the picture. Big, clean and silent. The bathroom was also big and clean. People were friendly. I didn´t take breakfast so can´t say nothing about it. So bad it was not alowed to go to the balcony. Such a beautiful view!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank thaisa f
St Kilda B, Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for reviewing us! Yes it's a shame we can't use the balconies but unfortunately it is due to council regulation. Thanks again, Happy travels. More 

Bendigo, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2016

Pleasant enough , but lack of areas to hang up clothing , there's was also besides the bed no sitting area and no desk and soap In bathroom was an ordinary scent , hallways were very seedy looking , the area was very ghetto and not to appealing , I find It funny that the price was higher on a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shannon B
MissB109, Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Hi Shannon, Apologies for your disappointing stay - it does state on all of our booking sites and our confirmations that we are an entertainment venue with elevated noise levels over the weekends. Unfortunately our standard double rooms do not come with a desk or dining area, however our Studio and Twin rooms do. Thanks for taking the time to... More 

Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

We were VERY ANNOYED that we couldn't access our balcony! There was a sign on the sliding doors saying we could not access the balcony!!!! So imagine our surprise and frustration when we saw the people next to us on their balcony! They told us there was no sign forbidding them to access! Very very annoyed at BARKLY hotel!!! One... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heideey
MissB109, Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Hi there, I apologise for your disappointment, however it does state on our website, all booking sites and on your hotel confirmation that hotel balconies are unable to be accessed due to council regulation. As we have many residential neighbours, we are prohibited to open balcony doors at council request. We do apologise for the inconvenience. More 

Melbourne
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

Booked a studio for Melbourne Cup Eve. Staff were friendly on check-in. Studio was large. Furnishings a little off with placement (Hanging space over fridge, drawers with sink??) Bathroom with impressive bath/shower. Great balconies, with decent views - shame couldn't open balcony doors. Bed was comfortable, couldn't find extra pillows (only 2 in total) Location is fantastic. close to shops... More 

Helpful?
Thank James C
MissB109, Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Hi James, Thanks very much for your review. Yes unfortunately it is very inconvenient not to be able to use balconies due to council regulation, however we do our best to inform guests prior to their stay. We do have extra pillows available form housekeeping, please don't hesitate to let us know next time you decide to stay and we... More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015 via mobile

I stayed at this place several times. The rooms are pretty modern and looking nice. The atmosphere is good and the price is not to expensive. It is well located and you need to like party. From Friday to Sunday is a big party on the roof, which is really loud. The kitchen is all right and the staff is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick S
MissB109, Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thanks very much! Enjoy your travels... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
781 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

Okay, I haven't stayed in the accommodation but I have visited the pub on the ground floor, which was okay, but nothing fantastic. I came here once to check the place out, and to have a drink, and I can't say that it really attracted me all that much. Okay, they did have a one way window in the guys... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrDavetheSarks
Melbourne
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

We stayed the night we had an event on at Next Level (1 floor up). Used for getting ready and to sleep afterwards. We had a great function and the event staff we tops. Being able to sleep in the room afterwards was a problem due to noise

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tthornbrough
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

All the staff are lovely and had the best time here! Rooms are big with en suite and bar downstairs and upstairs on the weekend. Communal kitchen and tv room and clean aswell. Will be coming back to the barkly!

Helpful?
2 Thank Grace-Sellars
MissB109, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am happy to announce that Hotel Barkly now has a new Management Team and all of your comments here have been taken on board and further action has been taken. Regards, Management. More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

When booking the site says it's an entertainment venue and may be noisy so we packed ear plugs. What they don't tell you is that the venue is in fact a nightclub. It's directly above your room, there's minimal soundproofing and the club is open to 0300. The ear plugs don't cut it and I think their statement is very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
MissB109, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barkly, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am happy to announce that Hotel Barkly now has a new Management Team and all of your comments here have been taken on board and further action has been taken. Regards, Management. More 

Travelers are raving about these St Kilda hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Kilda
Abode By Easystay
#3 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Tolarno Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#91 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Apartments Ink
#7 of 19 in St Kilda
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Barkly offers an eclectic mix of function spaces and rooftop events with neighbouring modern accommodation for your lively night in St Kilda. All of our private rooms contain their own television, tea and coffee making facilities and refrigerator as well as an ensuite complete with walk in shower or bath. With our locals bar located on ground floor, we offer classic pub meals, sports on screen and live music throughout the week. Weekly events including stand-up comedy and poker night are open to the public with classic pizzas, tasty snacks and main meals available until late to keep you satisfied. Our 'Next Level' Rooftop and deck is open for functions and events and is located just above our hotel level. It's a perfect place to catch up with friends, enjoy a popular house cocktail on our sun soaked deck and dance till late with our resident DJ's. Please note that we are a busy licensed entertainment venue and guests will experience elevated noise levels during weekends and public holiday eves. Please note: We are a busy licensed entertainment venue and our Rooftop Bar and function space will be open throughout weekends and public holidays - elevated noise levels are to be expected. Balconies cannot be accessed due to council regulation. Photo Identification and credit card information is required for bookings. Availability enquiries are essential. Prices are subject to change during peak periods. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Barkly

Address: 109 Barkly Street, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Price Range: $27 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barkly 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Barkly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Barkly St Kilda, Greater Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay