We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barclay On View

Traveler (24)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (5)

About

#15 of 24 hotels in Bendigo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
It's all about LOCATION! Barclay on View is situated in beautiful, tree-lined View Street, in the heart of Bendigo's arts, theatre and cafe precinct, making it the perfect place to wine and dine, or simply relax and take advantage of our spa and sauna facilities. Our central location means you're only a short stroll from Queen Elizabeth Oval, The Capital Theatre, Bendigo Art Gallery, Hargreaves Mall, Bendigo Visitor Information Centre and everything else the CBD has to offer. Complimentary on-site parking and WiFi access come standard with every booking, and we also provide a guest laundry for your convenience. Our spacious courtyard area offers BBQ facilities and is the perfect place to sit back and enjoy a quiet, sunny afternoon. We offer continental or delicious cooked breakfasts every morning, with the option of in-room or dining room service. However, if you prefer to eat out, you have a great selection of cafes and restaurants only minutes away. Our friendly staff are more than happy to help you make the most of your stay. From suggestions on where to go and what to do, to making a restaurant reservation or booking a taxi, it's all part of the service. If you are travelling from Melbourne by car, turn left into View Street at Alexandra Fountain and we are located 650m on the left, opposite Queen Elizabeth Oval. If you are arriving by train, we are located 1.5km from the Bendigo Train Station.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Sauna
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
224Reviews
0Q+A
43Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 68
  • 91
  • 43
  • 19
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
Overpriced. Old. Poor attempt at modernisation. Can hear couple having sex next door at 5.30pm. Looks nothing like website pictures. Poor response when approached receptionist. Maximum 3star hotel. Would not recommend
Read more
Booking and arrival arrangements all went well. Continental breakfast included in price was quite satisfactory. As we were arriving late, all the necessary self check-in arrangements worked out well. Comfortable room with modernised amenities, good bed and linen. Room "compact"
Read more
Response from Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View
Responded Apr 13, 2019
Thanks for the feedback Ian. Great to hear that we were able to meet all your needs - from a late check in right through to breakfast. It is a shame that you had to deal with the unpleasantness of the smoke smell, that's a tricky one to deal with. Hopefully there's a way we can avoid this happening should you chose to stay with us again.
Read more
We stayed two nights in a ground floor executive queen room. The room was a good size, clean, nicely decorated and well appointed. Good bathroom with a shower. Parking was just outside our door. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Our deal included continental
Read more
Response from Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View
Responded Mar 1, 2019
Thanks for the awesome feedback Steve. We always love hearing from happy guests. It's satisfying to know that we were able to provide you with all the facilities you required to make your stay a pleasant one. The reason we pre-book breakfast is so that we know how many staff are required the next day. It helps us to be organised so that things run smoothly. Our breakfasts have been very popular of late so we like to be prepared so that our guests arent kept waiting. Should you return Bendigo again anytime soon, we hope that you will stay with us again. We look forward to it.
Read more
Revisited this motel after a while. Noticed this place has gone downhill since last time. After travelling from NSW this place just doesnt measure up. We will look for other places in Bendigo next time.
Read more
Response from Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View
Responded Jan 2, 2019
This is really dissapointing to hear. Your review doesn't really help us when it comes to making improvements as your explanation for being GONE is very brief. We'd love to hear from you directly to further discuss what has changed so badly since your last visit.
Read more
Small room but ok for 1 night. Comfortable bed. No comfortable lounge chairs, just hard dining chairs. Central to bendigo and just a short walk to cafes and hotels which was good. No soap supplied, just a small tube of body wash but I took my own. Clean room.
Read more
Response from Dean B, Owner at Barclay On View
Responded Nov 23, 2018
Thanks for the review Annie. Let us know next time you book with us that you would like a room with arm chairs. Several of the rooms do have them. Also, there is a large bottle of soap on the wall above the hand basin. We have an abundance of body wash, would have happily provided you with more if you required. Our location definitely is a winner. Its great to be able to park the car and walk a short distance to many of the attractions in Central Bendigo. Saves paying for parking that's for sure. We hope to see you again.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$86 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaVictoriaGreater BendigoBendigo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing