We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Barkly Motorlodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Barkly Motorlodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 63: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Met us with good friends who took us to this establishment. The venue is 1st class - nice and quiet. The menu was extensive. The staff were pleasant and efficient Our meals were good without reaching a high standard. Over a pleasant experience.

Helpful?
Thank Bill F
Seymour, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

Very clean room , but just make sure you check bottles of Wine , one in our room was opened and had a glass or two drank from it , Rang down and told them , thank goodness for wanting a cuppa or wouldn't have noticed , Could happen at Any place you stay . Thanks Barkley Bed Comfy as

Helpful?
Thank Ouchiexxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

Room service was great, same price as if you ate downstairs and was quick service. Room was clean and out of the 5 different places I have stayed over my holiday this was the only place to have a clean exhaust fan in the bathroom. The heating worked great and was lovely warm considering how cold and wet it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shellby21
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

A good, central location on the Melbourne side of the Ballarat CBD. Friendly staff, quiet surroundings. large room with comfortable bed. But, very poor TV reception - every channel proved difficult to watch even after we re-programmed the channels. Overall, a pleasant experience.

Helpful?
Thank Ian M
BarklyML, Owner at Barkly Motorlodge, responded to this review

Thanks for the comments. Our tech found the faulty piece of equipment that was effecting the TV signal and replacement part is on the way. It didn't handle the wild weather we had earlier in the week very well. More 

London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile

Was pleasantly surprised by this motel. We were located in the main building in a triple room, with a double and two singles. The singles were partitioned off from the main room which was great for us. Rooms were clean with a good shower and located close to the twin centre.

Helpful?
Thank Walkingape
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night when catching up with long-lost friends in Ballarat. Room was nice and clean with a lovely comfortable bed. Daikin reverse-cycle air conditioner in room was whisper quiet and extremely efficient. Friendly and efficient check-in even though I arrived early - 12:30pm rather than 2:00pm. Free wi-fi worked fine. I will definitely stay here again when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee C
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016 via mobile

The accommodation was lovely - bed was very comfy, room was large & well laid out, shower was odd shaped & cramped - door closers across many rooms were too tight resulting in lots of loud echoey banging 😒 Motel Staff were friendly, helpful, warm & knowledgeable. Brekkie in the restaurant was a big thumbs down - staff unhelpful even... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey D
BarklyML, Owner at Barkly Motorlodge, responded to this review

Not sure this was us. Our restaurant does not open for breakfast. Maybe you are confusing us with another property. More 

Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016 via mobile

I read some conflicting reviews about this hotel, but I must say I was very impressed with our stay. We stayed in room 24, which was a spa suite, and everything from the check in to the room, to the quiet nights sleep was perfect, and I would not hesitate to stay here again on our next visit

Helpful?
Thank Paul1323
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2016

Was recently booked in here for an overnight work trip in Ballarat. Staff were lovely and very helpful - ordered the room service breakfast which was great. I would definitely stay there again when I'm in town! My only dislike was the brightness of the lighting in the bathroom and hallway (not bright enough).

Helpful?
Thank KTay2809
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2016 via mobile

When we arrived it was as reception was closing, so when we had issues there was no one to tell, the cold tap was broken for the bath, there was no soap in our room and the people smoking outside our room was unpleasant. Today we have arrived back after a big day exploring, have a shower and there's no... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen H
Bill H, Manager at Barkly Motorlodge, responded to this review

We would like to apologise for your most unfortunate experience with the towels, soap and tap and assure you we have taken steps to minimise the risk of this happening again in future, our guests comfort is of utmost importance to us. The phones do dial reception and instructions are in the guest compendium; Dial 200 to contact Reception Of... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ballarat hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Main Lead
Comfort Inn Main Lead
#28 of 32 in Ballarat
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bakery Hill Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lake Inn Ballarat
Lake Inn Ballarat
#13 of 32 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Barkly Motorlodge

Address: 43 Main Road, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Country Comfort Ballarat)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Price Range: $83 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barkly Motorlodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Barkly Motorlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkly Motorlodge Ballarat, Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay