We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cardigan Lodge Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cardigan Lodge Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 22: English reviews
Start your review of Cardigan Lodge Motel
 Click to rate
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a single night at this motel expecting a clean and basic room. The A/C did not work with the inside room temperature above 30 degrees when we arrived. The owner tried to get it working then shrugged his shoulders and said he didn't really understand how it worked anyway. We asked about a fan he told us they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerard W
Joseph N, Manager at Cardigan Lodge Motel, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry the A/c did not work and since we was full we could not move you to another room. However we compensated you to almost 50% refund to your room charges. We have replaced the AC in the room with a brand new AC

Bairnsdale, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Even though the motel was booked out the manager still got me a room on a Saturday night. Very nice couple running this motel and I recommend to stay here. Worth the short drive out of Ballarat. Breakfast in the dining room was also pleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaded05
Joseph N, Manager at Cardigan Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments we try our best to make our customer feel home away from home

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed February 11, 2017 via mobile

On arrival at the motel the greeting was great. We were asked did we want breakfast and we chose a hot breakfast for 15 dollars each. We were asked would we like baked beans ,tomatoes, sausages , eggs and toast and a juice. My husband said he would have everything and I would have everything except the baked beans. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zebony1
Joseph N, Owner at Cardigan Lodge Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We purchase one for the best beds on the market however it is a personal choice. Some say the bed is soft and other say the same bed is hard. We try to do our best to make our guest fell at home away from home. I hope you will enjoy...

North Adelaide
Reviewed December 20, 2016

On arrival at 1400 hours office was unattended.Phone number was on the door which I rang.No answer.Finally opened office about 1430 and I checked in.Basic room Was their for 3 days.Came across cobwebs and 2 spiders in room.Could do with a good clean and revamp.Air conditioner was temperamental

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
Joseph N, Owner at Cardigan Lodge Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy the stay with us. Also I am sorry we could provide the discount request for your stay. Our standard basic rooms are of old deco and is getting renovated. We have 6 renovated deluxe rooms and we are renovating 7 more rooms by January Feb of this year. Also or deluxe rooms slight...

Goulburn, Australia
Reviewed November 14, 2016

Not very appealing, weeds everywhere in the centre island and around the pool, lumpy beds and cold rooms ie not so much temperature but cold as in unappealing. Could be good but needs a lot of TLC, obviously good in the past but lack of trade probably due to the Ballarat bypass.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roblor2791
Joseph N, Manager at Cardigan Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay in the motel. Yes we recently took over the motel and is constantly upgrading our rooms so far we have 6 renovated deluxe rooms. If you book our deluxe rooms it is huge different to our standard. We are aim to renovate further 7 more rooms early next year

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed October 31, 2016 via mobile

No electric blankets in Ballarat plus a noisy old fashioned airconditioner / heater. The bed was so soft that when you say on it you were nearly on the floor. The throb of the airconditioner in the next unit did not help. A very dated motel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jdebrona
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as we were in Ballarat to visit Sovereign Hill and see the Winter Wonderlights. Room was clean and spacious. Bed was comfortable and had electric blanket. Heating worked well. Shower pressure was good. Staff were friendly. It was a little further out of town than I had realised but would probably stay here again if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Somethingtoshare
Joseph N, Owner at Cardigan Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback. We make every effort to make our guests feel welcome and homely while staying with us. We strive to provide best value for money. to our guest

Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

We stayed just the one night. Friendly host. Clean room. Heater worked and shower was lovely and hot. Beds were comfy. I expected to hear a bit of noise from the main road or other guests thru the walls but nothing. Very quiet. And it was fully booked too. Thank you we will happily stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
Joseph N, Manager at Cardigan Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback. We make every effort to make our guests feel welcome and homely while staying with us. We look forward to being of service to you when you come to Ballarat next time.

Murtoa, Australia
Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

While the motel was relatively clean, the electric kettle was dirty therefore we were not inclined to have a cuppa on arrival. Mine host was very friendly and cheerful, most likely because he had sold the business and this was his last night. While the room as stated was relatively clean, if had no atmosphere. It was very large and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
Joseph N, Owner at Cardigan Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear about the furnishing in the room as you would have notice this is recently renovating room about 2 months ago which had rugs and bedside lamp etc. We had recently a change of opertional management and I am currently investigating what happen to the room furnishing

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

Stayed just the one night with the family. The room was nice and big with plenty of beds for us all. The staff were lovely and so welcoming. Room had basic stuff but light in toilet didn't work and neither did the hair dryer. Kids went into the pool which would be ideal when warmer. Location was very quiet as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 202Casiel
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
8.6 mi away
Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites
7.8 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#6 of 18 in Ballarat
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Ballarat
10.3 mi away
Miner's Retreat Motel
Miner's Retreat Motel
#11 of 18 in Ballarat
21 reviews
12.8 mi away
Ballarat Colonial Motor Inn
Ballarat Colonial Motor Inn
#10 of 18 in Ballarat
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Tennis Court
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Cardigan Lodge Motel

Address: 741 Remembrance Dr, Ballarat, Victoria 3352, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Cardigan Lodge )
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Price Range: $81 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cardigan Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Cardigan Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardigan Lodge Motel Ballarat, Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cardigan Lodge Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The motel is set back from the main road so there is not much traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles Beth70_12, Aug 4, 2012 | Read review
“Rooms at the back near the restaurant are quiet and well placed.”
 of 5 bubbles DogJudge, Mar 18, 2012 | Read review
2 of 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question