We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Peppinella Motel

102 Smythes Rd, Ballarat, Victoria 3356, Australia
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Sovereign Hill
    2.8 mi
  • 2 star hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviewed November 20, 2016
BUSTLING BALLART
Peppinella does not present well when you drive up (dated, needs... more
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 68: English reviews
australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Needs significant improvement. Very tired. Photos look more appealing than reality. Quite a drive away from all the interests in this wonderful historical city. Not a lot more to suggest other than perhaps look elsewhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jays4
Crib Point
Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times over the years but this time was a bit surprised. Whilst the room was still clean and comfortable, the grounds and surrounds are in a bit of disrepair and in need of a lot of love. Has a new owner from my last stay so that may explain the change.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kidgell12
Mount Barker, Australia
Reviewed November 20, 2016

Peppinella does not present well when you drive up (dated, needs clean and paint job and garden surrounds need attention) However rooms have been tastefully upgraded with good facilities. A very comfortable stay. 3 nights. Not too far from shops, amenities (2kms). 5 kms from Ballarat Central. Easy drive. Manager was friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LES S
Handson Y, Manager at Peppinella Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We will work hard in the future for the the gardening and painting job etc.

Berkeley Vale, Australia
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Only stayed in Ballarat to break our journey. Motel very ordinary and peculiar set up of no wash basin the the bathroom but a general sink in the bedroom for everything. I know the No Smoking rules in rooms but when the smoker is outside your door and the smoke is wafting in day and night it is not pleasant....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed October 22, 2016

We booked in for several nights but left after one. It was freezing cold the heater did not work. Extra blanket supplied were very old. The shower room was old and dirty looking very basic. The net curtains were torn the whole place needed updated. The positive thing was the bed was comfortable, there were no fly screens on door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pattiesud
Handson Y, Manager at Peppinella Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and sorry to hear your bad experience here. For the air-conditioner, I think it was not user friendly but it is working as Ballarat is so cold in winter while it is impossible to stay without heater. Please remember the reception is always standby for help.

Reviewed October 3, 2016

Looks like it's been refurbished, lovely clean room. Manager was fantastic and allowed me to check in early while my partner was unexpectedly in hospital for the night! Pool was overflowing but we were in the middle of the big wet

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed September 27, 2016

Manager very helpful but motel needed a lot of updating. Family room fine for one night and electric blankets. Heater didn't work .Manager put in floor heater. Shower needed a big upgrade so we didn't use it. Good cheap price for stay and breakfast was value, but we didn't have cooked one. Ok for overnight stay as we were mostly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 348elsie
Traralgon, Australia
Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile

This was a last minute booking for us and we needed somewhere cheap and clean. We had one extra adult when we arrived and reception quickly and virtually no extra cost gave us a bigger room. Beds had electric blankets (thankfully as it was Winter) and were comfortable with good pillows. My only fault was that the bathroom could have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leah W
Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in family room. Blanket had stains, vanity basin (scratched, old) and kitchenette in same room with no cupboards/drawers for crockery/cutlery, no toaster supplied, toilet seat old and stained, front blind broken, very sub-standard, dusty and dirty. Cutlery bags were old and reused, air conditioner not working very well, had to sit with blankets over us to keep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Val D
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed June 21, 2016

I arrived at eight and got straight o work on my laptop, around 10 pm pulled the sheets back to fall into bed and hey bingo.....dirty stained sheets... I then turned an extra light on and found the pillowcases also stained. Rang reception and when the lady came in she said "this is horrible and to think I have to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hammo1959
Handson Y, General Manager at Peppinella Motel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear this bad experience in our motel. I was on leave when you were here and this was true according to what the relief manager told me. We would be very careful with the issue in the future. For the refund I am sure that money had been returned to your account as we promised over the phone...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Main Lead
Comfort Inn Main Lead
#27 of 32 in Ballarat
82 reviews
4.4 mi away
Victoriana Motor Inn
Victoriana Motor Inn
#18 of 32 in Ballarat
77 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bakery Hill Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
2.7 mi away
The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat
3.1 mi away
Alfred Motor Inn
Alfred Motor Inn
#24 of 32 in Ballarat
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Peppinella Motel

Address: 102 Smythes Rd, Ballarat, Victoria 3356, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Price Range: $74 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Peppinella Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Peppinella Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppinella Motel Ballarat, Victoria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Peppinella Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“all ground floor, in a row”
 of 5 bubbles 916less, Nov 20, 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Hammo1959, Jun 21, 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in rooms 7 and 8.”
 of 5 bubbles 661traceyb661, Sep 26, 2015 | Read review
“Family room had two bedroom a room 13”
 of 5 bubbles villareme, May 31, 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet as it is set back from a main road.”
 of 5 bubbles micheller861, May 18, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question