We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Sebel Launceston

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Sebel Launceston
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

741 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 735: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The room was a good size and well equipped. The ear plugs beside the bed were a bit disconcerting but although the clock tower chimed on every 1/4 hour it really wasn't a bother! Location was good and close enough to walk most places. Undercover parking was limited & $8.00 but parking inspectors in force on surrounding streets!

Helpful?
Thank Yvette B
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for 1 night with family (2 toddlers) in 2 BR apartment. Prior to trip inquired about port-a-cots and the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful and said not only would they provide 2 (no extra charge) they would rearrange 2nd BR and set them both up - all was done perfectly on arrival. Morning of arrival requested an earlier... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MikeD190C
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We chose the 2 bedroom Deluxe Spa Suite for our stay as we were spending the weekend in Launceston with family members. The very spacious corner suite was perfect for our stay. The two bedrooms with adjoining bathrooms were at opposite ends, allowing privacy while the large kitchen/lounge/dining area was a very comfortable area to spend time as a family... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank winelover045
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I have stayed in most of the hotels in Launceston as I regularly travel up for work from Hobart. The Sebel offers space, a balcony, good facilities and comfy beds. The location is very central to shops and the town centre. Only down side about the Sebel is the very tight parking, wouldn't recommend parking at the hotel if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very nice rooms, very comfortable beds, great set up of the rooms (kids on the other side of room), friendly staff, yummy food down stairs, couldn't fault it, really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this place.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank staceybF1418XU
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This place disappointed on every level. Obviously designed and priced to be 5 star. From the time we arrived we were greeted with an $8 charge for parking. No other parking nearby, so it may as well have been included in the price. Just a shameless cash grab. Arrived in the room and found the shower water pressure to be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mootch L
TheSebelLaunceston, Owner at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review

Dear Mootch L, I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have undercover parking available to guests at $8 per day, parking directly in front of the hotel on St John and William Streets is free from 5:30pm to 9am, or there is unrestricted parking on The Esplanade which is 1 block towards the river. My apologies... More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 11 days for the championships in a 3 bedroom apartment on the Forth floor. The rooms were clean and well presented. The only thing that was annoying at first was the clock tower 1 block up the road (bong, bong, bong) which happens all night, you zone out to it after a while. (This is only a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allan J
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a good hotel in a great location. You can walk easily to either the city centre or stroll to the Gorge via the Seaport. Staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are everything that you want. This is my second stay. Will be back if in Lonnie. I especially live the size of the rooms

Helpful?
Thank Gongboy53
Brisbane
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We based ourselves at The Sebel for our 2 night stay in Launceston. We scored a 3 Bedroom apartment which was ideal for the 4 of us. Room had a view over the local area through to Cataract Gorge. Service at the hotel was ok. Parking is an additional $8 and you had to pay extra for wifi. Most attractions... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 1TRMan
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived at hotel to check-in around 4.30pm and after a very early start to my day, was looking forward to a wine. Whilst the bar was not yet open the front desk receptionist organise a drink anyway if we were happy to drink in the front lounge area. We accepted. The staff hospitality was warm & welcoming across the reception,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank michellefromadelaide
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.4 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#7 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sebel Launceston hotel is an elegant, boutique style hotel set in a central CBD location, within walking distance to the Seaport precinct and major attractions such as Cataract Gorge. Combining style and convenience, the hotel comprises 51 self-contained guest rooms boasting a private balcony, separate bedroom with luxurious king size bed and spacious en-suite. Many also feature spa baths and kitchen and laundry facilities.Showcasing natural Tasmanian stone and timbers throughout the interior and locally commissioned art, The Sebel Launceston offers charming, contemporary accommodation and unrivaled service in one of Australia’s oldest and most picturesque cities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sebel Launceston

Address: Cnr St John & William Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: $108 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Launceston 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Sebel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Launceston Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Hotel Launceston
Sebel Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#3 Family Hotel in Launceston
#7 Business Hotel in Launceston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay