We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Launceston Backpackers

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Launceston Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Launceston Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 133: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This backpackers is huge, but the communal dining room, kitchen and TV room are spacious enough to accommodate most guests (although I wasn't there when the hostel was full!) These communal areas were well heated, however I found my bedroom quite cold. A panel heater was suspended from the ceiling over the bed (very bizarre) but it was connected to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirsten B
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Kristen B, I will check which room you were in. You may have been in a room with an old panel heater, if so we will replace it if it is not working efficiently. Yes we do have signs about not using your own heaters, we do this to help minimize the fire risk. After 24 years in the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

went here in late july on a cold wet day. everyone was friendly and rooms were clean, the amenities are good and the place is huge. one tip is bring your own blankets, you can hire blankets from the reception and the price is ok for them, you will need them in winter though. I'm sure in the summer it... More 

Helpful?
Thank matt19900
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Matt19900 thanks for your review. We are glad you good nights sleep. Enjoy the rest of your travels. More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We were only here for one night, but I thought the staff was friendly and the place was clean. The only thing I would say is that you have to bring some serious blankets, because the building really retains cold air! Freezing!

Helpful?
Thank Evelyn L
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Evelyn, thanks for taking the time to review Launceston Backpackers. It is a good idea to grab a few blankets in winter. For 50 cents customers can take as many blankets as they like. All the bedrooms have heaters which come on at 7pm and go off at 6am. Safe travelling. More 

Hobart
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I'm an Artist who works on Festivals I always book into Launceston Backpackers because of its casual relaxed atmosphere and dependable service. Its a great location 10 min walk to the unbeliveable Cataract Gorge and 10 min walk into town. When I've finished for the day I know I can cook up a feast in the huge kitchen that has... More 

Helpful?
Thank fujirama
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Fujirama thanks for your review, it was nice to see you traveling through this way again. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I had a great time here - the location is very quiet but a quick walk to town (though I found very little to do on a Sunday arvo/evening) so easy parking and minimal traffic. Middle of winter so I had the room to myself and was a bit nervous about how cold I would be - you can rent... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sophie M
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

We appreciate your review Sophie M. It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay at Launceston Backpackers. We are glad you found your room warm and comfortable. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a twin room, bathroom shared but clean, kitchen - dining is large and also clean. Reception was very helpful and gave us plenty of tips for the oncoming track in Cradle Mountains. We didn't use the living areas, went out instead. Hostel location is very good, about 10 minutes walk from the gorge and 5-10 minutes walk from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Viktoria2011
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Victoria2011 for your review. We are glad you liked the facilities at Launceston Backpackers and thanks for recommending us on the Tripadvisor site. More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here as part of an Under Down Under package tour. We found the beds comfy, the bathrooms and kitchen clean and well appointed, and the glorious rabbit-warren of a building charming. Management were cheerful, helpful and accommodating. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
derek l, Owner at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you Andrew M for your review. Under Down Under have been staying with us for nearly twenty years now. We are glad you liked our comfy beds. We do keep an eye on the mattress quality and we replace the ones that are wearing out. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour around Tasmania. More 

Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

comfy beds with a spare blanket in the cupboard. room heater worked a treat to keep out the winter chill . great kitchen. easy walking distance from anywhere in Launceston, several pubs within a few blocks.. Quiet area. great t.v. room. Very easy to find. Funny old cat is friendly. We had 3 twin rooms for us and the adult... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donald H
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Donald. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Went to Tasmania with my parents and decided to give them a taste of a backpacker's experience. My parents took the ensuite double room while I took the single room. Stayed in this place for two nights and here's my review: Room: - 1 double bed or 2 single bed - 2 pillows - Bathroom attached for the double ensuite.... More 

Helpful?
Thank hypernut
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Hypernut, we apologize for the fright we gave you during the night. One of our staff picked up the wrong key while showing someone to their room. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed in an ensuite room which was quite ok. The hostel appeared to be busy whilst we were there but was quiet during the night. ie no parties etc. Off street parking, close to shops and the centre of town. The staff were very friendly, cheerful and helpful. We happened to check out the kitchen, which is quite large... More 

Helpful?
Thank macca46
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Macca46 thank you for staying at Launceston Backpackers and we appreciate your review on TripAdvisor. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.7 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#14 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Bakery Inn
The Old Bakery Inn
#16 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Launceston Backpackers is a one hundred year old Victorian building. It has 30 rooms, including double ensuite, doubles, singles, triples and dormitory rooms. It has a large commercial kitchen, large TV room and separate dining room. There is a free car park. Launceston Backpackers has a modern fire protection system. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Launceston Backpackers

Address: 103 Canning St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: $35 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Launceston Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Launceston Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Launceston Backpackers Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay