We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hillview House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hillview House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 60: English reviews
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Hillview House ten years ago, have fond memories and we're hoping for a repeat experience. Unfortunately, since the change of ownership approximately twelve months ago, Hillview appears to have evolved into a type of Back Packers accommodation. The building looks the same from the outside, however inside tells a different story. A lovely girl checked us in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stav V
HillviewHouse, Owner at Hillview House, responded to this review

Dear Stav First of all, thanks for your time to write this review. I appreciate your comment and feel sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. However, please allow us to explain. First of all, there seems to be a misunderstanding. We never sell any shampoo or body wash. On the contrary, we provide very good quality of... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were very surprised by our marvellous stay here,Our room had the most comfortable king size bed,the room was very clean and well maintained,the owners made us feel very welcome.we only stayed 4 nights but wished we stayed 7 days,we recommend Hillview House to everyone.

Helpful?
Thank possumtan981
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016

Noticed when booking that this place got mixed reviews, but read well and was good value with tariff including a continental breakfast. Good points: Very pleasant welcome from polite and friendly young lady. Reasonable free Wi-fi, Comfy bed and pillows. Small ensuite bathroom was nice and clean. Not so good: Limited tight parking. (we had to park in the street... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darryl B
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016

We check-in at around 4pm, we are surprised that the reception girl is a Hong Kong people, she used Cantonese to welcome us. There is free parking outside the house. The view from the house is really good. However, the room is a bit small, and not much equipment and amenities in the room. And the room cleanliness is quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank cyl1226
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the cosy B&B, Kit made us very welcome and looked after us very well during our four day stay.Great value with reasonably priced cooked breakfasts,( continental breakfast was included in the price)and within easy distance of local attractions. Free wifi and parking make Hillview an attractive option for your stay in this lovely city.

Helpful?
Thank Linda D
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016 via mobile

Spent an evening at Hillview House - the National Trust house is delightful. The room was old fashioned, warmband comfortable. The welcome and service was excellent with us being in our room within minutes of arrival. Good continental breakfast in the morning. Free car parking available.

Helpful?
Thank John C
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016

Good location to CBD and Cataract Gorge. Nice hotel down the hill for a drink and meal. We stayed in the 2 BR self contained apartment. Clean and tidy but could use a facelift with some new furniture/fittings. Beds were comfortable but the pillows were somewhat flat. Plenty of hotwater for showers. Some other guests and/or staff were outside our... More 

Helpful?
Thank WE_R_OFF_and_RACING
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2016

Launceston, being the civilised little city that it is, does B&Bs well, and the last time I stayed at this place – which would be a few years ago, probably under previous ownership – I seem to recall it being rather charming. Somehow it has gone off in the interval. It starts with a lot of advantages, being about four... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doug F
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016

Very disappointed with this B & B. It was old and tired, needs updating. Bed was comfortable, but room was small. There is parking, but it is tricky. Average Continental Breakfast. Easy walk to town, but a bit of a chore uphill coming home.

Helpful?
Thank Hall_10
sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2016

DO not stay here... Vastly Overpriced 'tired' over rated old home. Tiny rooms and minute bathroom. Bed was loose and uncomfortable. TV was the size of a Laptop. No Air Conditioning. Supplied with an Old Fan on request. Be early..Limited 'off street' parking. Very Noisy, Day and Night. Tripped over upstairs Step. Carpet in upper floor hallway loose and dangerous... More 

Helpful?
Thank 7007
HillviewHouse, Owner at Hillview House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I do regret that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and the room you stayed in is not your style. Every room in the house is different with its own feature. I note you made an urgent booking with us just one day before you checked in and you only booked one night with us.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#14 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.7 mi away
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hillview House was originally built around the 1840's and extensively enlarged by Rev. W Law in the 1860's. It has now been sympathetically restored to provide a charming stay for your Tasmanian holiday. Hillview House offers supurb home cooked or continental breakfasts, served in our colonial dining room with sweeping views of Launceston and the Tamar Estuary.You will find a visit to Hillview House will leave you with fond memories of personal care and attention. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hillview House

Address: 193 George St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: $67 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillview House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hillview House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview House Launceston, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay