We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Commodore Regent

Hotels.com$76*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Commodore Regent
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 195: English reviews
Start your review of Commodore Regent
 Click to rate
Burnie, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here recently expecting the restaurant to be open. it wasn't. alerted to the fact that their website indicates that it isn't open on those nights. the booking site i used did not disclose this, so it was a big disappointment for us; particularly as it was a pre-hospital stay. Breakfast delivered early for us although this attracted a charge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dgewin
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi dgewin Yes, I was here for your check-in and sorry to see you hadn't noticed our restaurant opening hours on-line. I'll make sure to see if the booking sites have a space for the opening hours to be displayed in their information and have that updated. We were certainly glad to accommodate your partner with a complimentary 11:30am checkout...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived late at night. Stayed in room at the back, so very quiet from road noise. Newly refurbished, with huge bathroom and bedroom. Good water pressure and comfortable bed. Only problem was a noise which I thought was coming from an outside air conditioning unit, which seemed to be going on and off all night. It turned out to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angel2Australia
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi angel2Australia and thanks for your booking, Sorry to hear your fridge was not working well. Please contact us and let us know which room you were in so that I can have it looked at. Hope you enjoyed your time in Tasmania! Simon Peavey Hotel Manager

Gatton, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice clean rooms..very friendly service...within walking distance of shops and restaurants..fair few steps to walk to rooms..not easy for those with joint issues..there is a restaurant attached to the hotel which is good if you don't want to walk through town..we unfortunately couldn't experience it because we got in after it closed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ingred61
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi ingred61 Thanks for the great feedback We hope that next time you visit you'll get to experience our great service in the restaurant too. Room service meals are available and if you are arriving late we can always have something ready for you in your room! With thanks Simon Peavey Hotel Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night at the Commodore Regent. When we drove to the reception, I was concerned about my high car fitting under the roof. The gentleman behind the counter came out and said we can drive straight up to the top, but just to watch for cars coming the other way. He was extremely helpful and knowledgeable of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wogaridginee
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi Wogaridginee and thanks for your review Tasmania is a wonderful place and am glad that we were able to pass on information which could make your stay more enjoyable. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and look forward to seeing you again. Simon Peavey Hotel Manager

Canberra
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Staff very helpful, room has everything you need and generally clean but bathroom very dated and shower was pretty dirty. Nice views and across the road is the lovely city park. Short walk into town and lots of restaurant options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi Amy and thanks for your feedback, I'm glad we were able to assist you during your stay. If you can let me know which room you were in I can have look at the shower - our standard rooms are quite a lot older and it's certainly a lot harder work to keep the small tiles in great shape...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed April 17, 2017

No service on public holidays Room service only included making the bed No cleaning of cups or dusting No fresh towels available on non-service days Linen not changed at all over the 5 day stay The bathroom has no shelf in the shower

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiiingers
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Good afternoon Fiiingers and thanks for your feedback. I was one of the staff who worked over the Easter Weekend of your stay and I'm sorry to hear that you haven't had a great experience. On check-in for the Easter weekend, all guests were provided with a welcome letter indicating that we would not be servicing on Good Friday or...

Pennant Hills, Australia
Reviewed April 13, 2017

Friendly atmosphere and a short walk into the centre of town. Rooms are fairly spacious but some are more modern than others. The restaurant is good - The seafood is fresh and well cooked. Wine list good - some good Tasmanian whites on the list.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikefor01
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi Mike and thanks for your review, We are really lucky to be able to showcase the best Tasmanian food and wine and glad you enjoyed your stay. We have our last 9 rooms being upgraded this winter so we look forward to showing them to you on your return visit! Safe travels Simon Peavey Hotel Manager

Perth, Australia
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

The hotel was easy to book online, with lovely friendly staff, a clean comfy room, necessary amenities and close enough to everything we needed. Staff were very helpful with ideas on things to do both locally and further afield.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LynB777
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hi LynB777 and thanks for your review We LOVE Launceston and know that the information we impart can make a huge difference to your trip. Glad we were able to help and hope to see you soon. Many thanks Simon Peavey Hotel Manager

Reviewed April 10, 2017

The staff were very welcoming, very knowledgeable in the area. Hotel room was warm, comfortable. If we come back to Launceston we will be booking here again. Close to the town, and had fun at the monkey park. Great home AWAY from home

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Thanks Ben for your review We do try and offer a personalized service and are glad to have made your stay comfortable on this occasion. Looking forward to your next visit, Simon Peavey Hotel Manager

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed April 7, 2017 via mobile

We are staying for two nights over the V8 Supercar weekend and on check in found Simon's customer service to be outstanding. Nothing was too hard. Suggestions and directions for local pubs restaurants, he even helped make bookings for the bus trip. Thank you Simon, Well done 10/10

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Twowok
Commodore R, Manager at Commodore Regent, responded to this review

Hello Twowok and thanks for your review We are really glad you had a great trip in Launceston and that we could use our local knowledge to get you to the event. It was good that Tasmania's Own Redline were running a free bus service in partnership with the V8 Supercars. We will advise our guests for next year as...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#20 of 30 in Launceston
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Commodore Regent is perfectly located with fantastic views overlooking the City Park, and only a 3 minute walk to the CBD with great cafes, boutiques and shops. We are also within walking distance to many great Launceston attractions. Free internet access, off street car parking and daily newspaper. The motel also features Restaurant 13 which has sweeping views of the City Park and is open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Commodore Regent

Address: 13 Brisbane St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn )
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Price Range: $64 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Regent 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Commodore Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Launceston
Regent Launceston
Launceston Comfort Inn
Launceston Regent
Commodore Regent Launceston, Tasmania
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Commodore Regent staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“At the back and check the robe for fridge and if light sleeper, leave robe door open.”
angel2Australia, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“rooms at back have new bathrooms”
Fiiingers, Apr 17, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room number 30 or above for more modern decor.”
Mikefor01, Apr 13, 2017 | Read review
“Our room, which was at the rear of the complex, was quiet and had a view of sorts over some of the city. Depends what you are looking for”
ianj569, Mar 24, 2017 | Read review
“Recommended ground room”
lillypilly72, Mar 12, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotels.com
$76* /night
View Deal
HotelQuickly$103
Expedia.com$76
Cancelon$80
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates