We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 130: English reviews
pakenham, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the staff are extremely good. friendly, efficient and polite. but the decor in the reception and first floor landing is very dated, and the rooms are also dated. the lighting needs updating, the bathrooms, and bedrooms all feel like 1970's. Great size rooms, very clean, comfortable bed, but compared to other BW and other accomadation need to spend some money... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Peter G
Swan Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As we had been staying in inexpensive rooms on our travels we decided to treat ourselves to a more expensive room and have a night in, in a spa room First impression when we walked into foyer was nice. But once we walked into the room we noticed the smell first and the dirty carpets. Then we noticed the light... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 71Kell
David P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel, responded to this review

Hello, Thankyou for your feedback We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and are alarmed at some of your comments. It would have been nice to have you raise these issues while you were here but unfortunately you didn't and that leaves me no chance to fix and confirm your complaints. We do always thrive on cleanliness... More 

Travelers are raving about these Mount Gambier hotels

Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Looks can be deceiving. Foyer, reception and bar areas look inviting, but my room was so dated, bordering on dangerous, I couldn't believe it. Lowlights - room was very dated and in urgent need of updating, lighting was very dim, cupboards filthy, breakfast set up confusing, some staff attitude left much to be desired. Highlights - reasonable rates ( only... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Notorious M
David P, Owner at BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel, responded to this review

Hello, Firstly its nice to read that you actually enjoyed some of your stay. But I am very disappointed in your review and find it grossly inaccurate and misleading. Your claims of our rooms "bordering on dangerous" are ridiculous and its an insult to our business. I also cannot understand how the breakfast menu & set up is confusing, we... More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The first you notice is about this hotel is location, very close to CBD, the second thing you notice is the huge room which allows you to make you self at home. The staff are laid back back but generally helpful. I found the lady in the restaurant at breakfast a little abrasive, In her defence she is busy. (The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Willysduck
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

Spacious clean room. Currently doing a few renovations but it did not interfere with our stay at all. Breakfast was delicious and great selection of choices on buffet and continental menu. All staff members at reception, dining and cleaning were very friendly and welcoming.

Helpful?
1 Thank graysand2016
Red Cliffs, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016

This motel was in a good location with very little traffic noise at night.. Close to CBD. Our room was very spacious, a little dated and the carpet was badly stained. The bed was clean and comfy. The bathroom lacked ventilation. Lift or stairs to the upper floor. A good mid-range motel.

Helpful?
Thank Judith C
David P, Manager at BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for completing your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while visiting South Australia. Was very big room and bed was also very comfy and loved the spa bath. Great room to get back to after a long day of driving. The price was excellent as it was a last minute thing. Would definitely recommend :)

Helpful?
Thank Anne C
David P, Manager at BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016 via mobile

Kim & David, you helped make our wedding reception perfect in every way!! You and your staff were so amazing leading up to, during and after it was all over. The food was delicious, the beer was cold and the venue came up a treat. Our executive room was spacious and very comfortable, plus we loved our spa after a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016 via mobile

I definitely feel we were given the worst room in the motel as I dared have the cheek to book on a booking site and saved 2.00 We arrived in an unknown area early evening. We were the first room by the elevator and although most rooms overlooked the pool we over looked the air conditioner unit and the roof.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank gertie05
David P, Manager at BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and had a king executive room. It was very large and very comfortable. The bathroom was very large if a little dated, but still clean and very functional. There a large sitting area and a table and chairs and sofa so plenty of room to relax and read, watch TV etc. Free wifi worked well.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nagatron
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
6.1 mi away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#1 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Presidential
Quality Inn Presidential
#9 of 17 in Mount Gambier
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mount Gambier Hotel
Mount Gambier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
#3 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arkana Motor Inn & Terrace Apartments
0.8 mi away
Commodore on the Park
Commodore on the Park
#4 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel

Address: 175 Commercial St E, Mount Gambier, South Australia 5290, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Price Range: $100 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Southgate Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mount Gambier
Mount Gambier Best Western
Best Western Southgate Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mount Gambier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay