We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarendon Chalets

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clarendon Chalets
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

We spent two nights in the Meadow Chalet mid June 2016. We found the owner helpful & friendly. Came & lit the potbelly stove & had a chat. Being my husband's birthday, we celebrated dinner at the Barn, 300metres down the lane. Wonderful food, the steaks are to die for!! This is our second stay at Clarendon chalets, & will... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 84Yvonne
ClarendonChalets, Owner at Clarendon Chalets, responded to this review

thank you for sharing with us the magic and blossom of clarendon we look forward to your next visit frank More 

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016

We have visited Mount Gambier twice in the past 3 years with one trip being a poor experience and other being fantastic. The town hadn't changed so the contrasting experiences came down to the accommodation. The Clarendon Chalet is located on a couple of hectares that allows for a lovely walk that includes beautiful trees, plants and wildlife. The setting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria20161965
ClarendonChalets, Owner at Clarendon Chalets, responded to this review

Thanks Maria It is our pleasure to se and here that our guest have enjoyed there stay ,we thank you for you words of encouragement , More 

Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

Lovely farm setting to relax on our trip through the great ocean road. The cottage was very comfortable and well catered. The hosts were easy to deal with and nice to chat to. We really enjoyed our overnight stay.

Helpful?
Thank Richard P
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

Wife and I spent three nights in the Garden Chalet early April 2016. The owner was very friendly and helpful both when dealing with him over the phone when making the booking, and in leaving friendly notes to make us feel welcome as we arrived late in the day when he was not immediately available. The chalet had everything we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John W
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016

The owner offered to find us a different place to stay when he discovered he had double booked our room. After Clarendon Chalets discovered this they suggested keeping the booking.com rate charged to us and they would book and pay for alternative accommodation on our behalf. However, the alternative motel was significantly less expensive than what we paid Clarendon Chalets!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Otsale
ClarendonChalets, Manager at Clarendon Chalets, responded to this review

Dear UK Traveller, On reading your review it seemed very one sided and that was not the case. The booking resulted as a computer glitch at a weekend that the area was totally booked and taxed for accommodation. We advised you immediately on receiving your booking that we were not able to assist you in the accommodation. You advised us... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

We had a beautiful time and enjoyed the serenity! My son loved the space with the huge lawn but was jelous of the owners grandson getting to drive the tractor! Very clean, very cosy. Thank you. Shame the avocados were not ripe though!

Helpful?
Thank Bellsy_12
ClarendonChalets, Owner at Clarendon Chalets, responded to this review

IT was our pleasure having you and your family enjoying the magic of clarendon More 

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2016

Quiet, well appointed chalets. We stayed in the studio and it was great. We walked down the road to a fantastic restaurant that night, The Barn. This is not in town but we were only there one night and it suited well. Friendly owner. Continental breakfast. Will stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Jbpooket
ClarendonChalets, Manager at Clarendon Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely response and we hope to see you here again.... Frank Templeton More 

Casterton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2016

This was a great place to stay, however our stay was tarnished by being charged twice for our stay and having to ask for a refund. This is poor organisation on the part of management and should not happen.

Helpful?
Thank windyhill2016
ClarendonChalets, Owner at Clarendon Chalets, responded to this review

hi windy hill I regret the account error ,as the account was paid by another party from your group [not in your name ]and when you brought this to our attention your account was credited instantly. Thank you for staying at Clarendon Chalets More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016

We stayed overnight when travelling from Melbourne to Adelaide and we were made to feel very welcome. We were able to unhitch our caravan so we could explore the Blue Lake & Umpherston Sinkhole. Breakfast was fantastic & before we knew it we were back on the road.

Helpful?
Thank Mitch0528
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

We loved the Advocado cottage. 2 bedrooms and very spacious. Peaceful surroundings. The cottage has everything you need. Very reasonable priced and very clean unit. A short drive from town but far enough away to get the countryside feel. We had a great stay, thank you Frank and family!

Helpful?
Thank non74
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (46)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Gambier hotels
1.5 mi away
The Barn Accommodation
The Barn Accommodation
#1 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mount Gambier Hotel
Mount Gambier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
5.9 mi away
Quality Inn Presidential
Quality Inn Presidential
#8 of 17 in Mount Gambier
3.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Colhurst House
Colhurst House
#1 of 13 in Mount Gambier
5.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Old Mount Gambier Gaol
The Old Mount Gambier Gaol
#1 of 10 in Mount Gambier
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
5.9 mi away
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
Golden Chain Tower Motor Inn
#2 of 17 in Mount Gambier
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Birds Life Abounds, let nature introduce you to Clarendon serenity. A spectacular driveway lined with tall blue gums brings you to Clarendon Chalets. They are nestled at the bottom of a three acre garden and decorated to reflect charm and elegance. Fully self contained, THREE with spa baths, PRIVATE COURTYARDS, timber kitchen, TV, wood fire, reverse cycle air conditioning, BBQ, hair dryer, DVD player, fully equipped shared laundry, children’s cubby house. A short leisurely walk or bicycle ride to the hilltop past the neighboring winery. Breathe in the cool country air and enjoy the panoramic view of rich farmland tapestry and green hills rolling to the beautiful Mount Gambier, a city of lakes, limestone caves, gardens and pine forests. Cosy, yet spacious, the Chalet is a restored artist/potters studio with lofty timber ceilings. Set on 15 acres in a unique farmland environment. Private and secluded romantic hideaway. There are four chalets operational. They are all fully self-contained with private bathroom facilities. Included is a continental breakfast or, for a small fee, provisions for a hearty farm style breakfast of bacon, eggs & tomato. Don’t worry about linen, crockery or hair dryer as it is all supplied. The smallest compact Studio Chalet outlook is onto the beautiful lawns & garden. It has a queen size bed, which is combined with the living area. It is lovely and cosy in winter & a ceiling fan cools the Chalet for summer. Star gazing windows surprise with a cathedral ceiling in this contemporary executive chalet. Suitable for executives or a couple. The Meadow Chalet has a slow combustion wood burning fire & ceiling fan in a separate living area with a timber floor. An outdoor setting allows enjoyment of a private patio area. A perfect getaway for couples, with a commanding view from the master bedroom.From the lounge room of the Orchard Chalet, you have a peaceful view of Clarendon’s own walnut grove. Enjoy quiet nights by the slow combustion wood fire or in the luxurious Corner Spa. The 2 room loft with one king bed and one queen overlooks the living area with double sofa. The Garden Chalet has the prettiest outlook being nestled at the bottom of the lawns, garden & towering blue gums. It’s ideal for families, with spacious accommodation for 4 - 7. Take a short drive to Port MacDonnell, renowned for its crayfish, or watch the sea mist roll in off the Great Southern Ocean at Nelson. Observe abundant bird life, flora and fauna while picnicking at a BBQ area on the banks for the Glenelg River in the national park or tour our world class Coonawarra wineries. Relax on your private patio and watch the sun set behind the towering sugar and ghost gums and enjoy the serenity of Clarendon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarendon Chalets

Address: Clarke Road, Mount Gambier, South Australia, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Mount Gambier
Price Range: $133 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarendon Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Clarendon Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay