We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shores Holiday Apartments

9 Pacific Drive | Blacks Beach, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Shores Holiday Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 68: English reviews
Java, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed in the 2 bedroom beachfront apartments a couple of times. The apartments are well equipped and comfortable although somewhat expensive. The undercover barbeque is excellent as are the grounds and tennis court. The place has a couple of brickbats; each time we have stayed we have had to sweep the outside areas on arrival; there are ants... More 

Helpful?
Thank ecconcobbler
Kerryn B, Manager at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our property and the positive feedback about the apartments and facilities. If you feel our rates are expensive my suggestion is to phone us directly to book for the best rates. When booking online there are always additional costs that are born by the property. My apologies about the ants and sand outside... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

Looking for a place to stay in Mackay on our road trip through Queensland and came upon the Shores. Booked for three nights originally but love the place so much we stayed for more. Two story appartment was great with all the facilities to be self contained loved the massive bathroom, walking out the back door to the swimming pools... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diana219
Kerryn B, Manager at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for the wonderful review. Looking forward to seeing you again. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

We love The Shores apartments at Blacks Beach. The units are comfortable and well equipped, the gardens and pool areas are well kept and lush and best of all, the magnificent Blacks Beach is right there. The managers are extremely helpful and friendly and we go back to stay there time and time again. Without doubt our favorite place to... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Liz W
Kerryn B, Manager at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for the wonderful review. We appreciate all feedback from our guests, but especially positive comments. The Wifi strength can be a bit touchy depending on where you are in a unit and how close you are to the external aerials. All our buildings have core filled walls for cyclone protection, which can interfer with the strength of the signal.... More 

Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

Units are a bit dated but are very big and well priced with all amenities. Great for kids as there are 2 pools and heaps of grass for them to run around. The hosts were very helpful. Quite location. Shops not too far away to go grocery shopping. It suited us and we will go back. Would recommend for families.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank melaniefourstar
Kerryn B, Manager at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive comments. Hopefully next visit you get to stay in one of the many refurbished units. We continually encourage our unit owners to upgrade their units. We look forward to welcoming you another time. More 

Townsville, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

Don't stay here unless management has changed. I was one of a large group of families staying at the accommodation and no one had a pleasant weekend. Broken furniture, dirty bathrooms, dodgy electrical work and poor staff contact.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rebecca_edwards81
Kerryn B, Owner at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

My sincere apologies if you felt our management was lacking. It's certainly not the response we usually receive. We are the owner/managers, so try to go out of our way to please all our guests as our business relies very heavily on providing great customer service. I was working the weekend you, and two other units of ladies and young... More 

Townsville, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

Our 4 boys aged 16 to 9 enjoyed the outdoor activities the Shores offered. They spent time fishing off the beach, Tennis, swimming in the tropical pool area and hunting for dead twigs and branches for the fire pit. The BBQ area and games of Boules just topped off a great week.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sandyp635
Kerryn B, General Manager at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Wonderful to see such a lovely review. Thanks for your positive feedback. More 

Cloncurry
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

Spacious,close to beach,great entertaining facilities,quiet. Owners helpful. Downer - wi fi lasted less than one day and we were booked in for 4 days. Needs to be topped up daily in this day and age .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank L2148OIjudithm
Kerryn B, Manager at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive review of The Shores Holiday Apartments. Its great to see you enjoyed our facilities. We provide free WiFi vouchers to all our guests based on their length of their stay. For a four night stay you should have received a data allowance of 2000mb which would be ample for your stay. Not sure how you could... More 

Qld
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

We were very happy with the accommodation. We had 11 boys and a few others tag alongs. The bbq was very popular along with the tennis courts. Staff are awesome and knowledgeable. The other teams from the Gold Coast were so jealous :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank saints-supporrte
Kerryn B, Owner at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. It is wonderful to see our guests making use of our outdoor recreational facilities and communal dining options. More 

Elanora, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2016

Roomy unit but a few things needed to be put right, ie toaster awful. DOor of dryer broken. FAn in lounge clonking. VEry pleasant welcome. SHort walk to the beach. Three pools in the grounds. Gardens in need of TLC.

Helpful?
Thank Flen1953dera
Kerryn B, General Manager at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our property and advise us of some minor maintenance issues with your unit. Its just a shame you didn't mention the Toaster problem at the time as we have spare small appliances in stock and could have replaced it immediately. We don't stay in the units so never get to use the toasters... More 

Medellin, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 weeks when we first moved up to Mackay. Owners are very friendly and knowledgable and made us feel at home. The Shores has excellent facilities, rooms are big and comfy, two swimming pools and direct access to the beautiful Blacks Beach. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Mackay

Helpful?
Thank chris s
Kerryn B, Owner at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for the wonderful review Chris. Much appreciated. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
1:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
4.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
5.7 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#3 of 33 in Mackay
5.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
5.8 mi away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#6 of 33 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#4 of 33 in Mackay
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
6.0 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#13 of 33 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
6.3 mi away
Oaks Carlyle
Oaks Carlyle
#12 of 33 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Shores Holiday Apartments are spacious two bedroom fully self contained units, in a quiet, peaceful, location offering absolute beachfront accommodation. The large outdoor recreation area is an ideal setting for relaxing around the pools, playing tennis, jogging, fishing, barbecuing, or leisurely walks along beautiful Blacks Beach. The Shores is just a couple of minutes walk to shops, restaurants, and the local Hotel. All units have free wifi, Foxtel TV, two televisions, in unit laundries and lots more. A perfect get away for singles, couples and families. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Shores Holiday Apartments

Address: 9 Pacific Drive | Blacks Beach, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Price Range: $113 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shores Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, HRS and Travelocity so you can book your The Shores Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mackay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mackay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay