We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Eungella Chalet

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Eungella Chalet
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Mackay, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Was very dissapointed on a recent dinner with family... is such a beautiful place and great scenery but the food was very ordinary...especially for the price...Eungella itself is simply amazing and well worth the visit seen lots.of platypus so peaceful and relaxing

Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
Bribie Island
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016 via mobile

Save your time and money. After hearing people rave about the Devonshire teas and high teas at this place we went to eungella to see the platypus and have morning tea at the Chalet. The place is a dump and our scones were like leather. Didn't finish them as they were so terrible. One to MISS!!

Helpful?
Thank John B
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back, sorry you didn't like us or our scones... We do have lots of customers that do like us however it is impossible to please everyone all the time. It could be more helpful to approach us while you are visiting so we can then find a solution. Enjoy your day. Thank you Management More 

Mollymook, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016 via mobile

Lunch or morning tea with fabulous views down the Pioneer Valley. My calamari ceasar salad was excellent as was my hubbies hamburger. Service with a small, stay a while or a short time, terrific photo opportunities and wonderful historic photos too. Recharge before hitting some top walking trails

Helpful?
Thank Lovista
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback, great to hear you enjoyed your lunch, the view, the bush walks at Eungella and our historical photos. Hope to see you again soon, enjoy your day. Cheers Managment More 

Doubleview, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

The food portion sizes were very generous and tasted nice. Remembering this is a pub. The beer was cold and the staff were friendly. The pub itself was very clean and well maintained. The view was awesome and the art was worth a look. Worth a visit if you are in Mackay

Helpful?
Thank jaslaw238
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

The room was clean and tidy and with two bedrooms had plenty of space for the family. Plenty of facilities oven, microwave etc so fully self contained (a good thing as we came to find as eateries/cafes in eungella are ........ average at best). Cabin came with a bucket of fire wood for the fire along with fire starters and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pat A
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back and that you enjoyed lots of things about your stay. I will be investigating the beds in the mentioned cabin and put in a request to the cabin owner to have the mattresses replaced. Enjoy your day, cheers Managemnet More 

Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

Service was great, the view is amazing and atmosphere. We would come back for a drink but not again for breakfast - The breakfast is expensive for what you get, wasn't very good and not much choice. After the drive up the range it's a nice spot to stop.

Helpful?
1 Thank dita16
Mackay Eungella C, Front Office Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed the view, atmosphere and our friendly staff. Thank you for your feed back regarding our breakfast & prices. Sorry it wasn't to your liking however we haven't had a price rise on any of our menu's for over 3 years and are very competitive with our local competition. We have 8 different choices on our... More 

columbia, mo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

The cabins (especially 1 and 2) have the best views ever, and are full of great things. And by "great things" I mean pots and pans and microwaves and refrigerators and super cute platypus-themed trash cans. The one drawback? The hosts are terrible at labeling stuff. There's no clear indication as to where to find the reception desk (past the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew V
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back. Great to hear you enjoyed our well appointed cabins. Thank you for bring to our attention that we may require more signage from our back door to Reception area.. If the number on the cabin had fallen off this is only recent and will have it fixed immediately. Thanks again for your feed back,... More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2016 via mobile

We booked here not knowing what to expect but when we arrived we were really happy. The cabins at the back are really nice and roomy. We paid just $260 for 3 nights for a 2 bedroom cabin over the easter break which we thought was an absolute steal for the quality of the accommodation. Its close to everything in... More 

Helpful?
Thank pavman_pavman
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you, for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in our cabins and hopefully see you again soon. Enjoy your day. Cheers management. More 

Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2016 via mobile

Stayed in one of the cabins at the back of the hotel itself. The view was amazing but the chalet had a nasty smell to it, and the bathroom could definitely do with a proper clean. The grates that let water go down need to be taken out and cleaned, and some attention to the mouldy grouting all around the... More 

Helpful?
Thank georgiemg
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back, we will be investigating your concerns immediately... Enjoy your day Cheers Management More 

Proserpine, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015

We really enjoyed our weekend at the Chalet. Booked a couple of cabins for the night, they were fully self contained, modern & clean and were set up behind the Chalet in peaceful tropical gardens, they even had a log fire for a cozy night. The Chalet is a charming, old historical hotel steeped in history and has the most... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicki G
Mackay Eungella C, Manager at Eungella Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review, wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the uniqueness of Eungella. Hope you come to stay again soon. Enjoy your day. Cheers Management More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackay
1.3 mi away
Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella
45.8 mi away
Potters Oceanside Motel
43.5 mi away
Kohuna Beachside Resort
Kohuna Beachside Resort
#1 of 1 in Bucasia
4.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.5 mi away
Motel Northview
Motel Northview
#1 of 2 in North Mackay
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
47.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
44.6 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Eungella Chalet

Address: Dalrymple Heights, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Eungella Chalet Hotel Mackay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing