We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pioneer Villa Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pioneer Villa Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pioneer Villa Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 54: English reviews
Moranbah, Australia
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I booked a room at the Pioneer Villa and was unable to stay due to a family emergency. The manager was kind enough to refund my booking due to the circumstances! Great customer service and friendly staff members. I recommend this hotel for anyone that loves great hospitality and service.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Morganjade95
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review

Sorry about the family emergency but happy to help out with the refund. We appreciate when guests contact us at Pioneer Villa Motel to tell us that they need to cancel. Thank you.

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed May 5, 2014

After a long day of travelling picked this motel review said under new management and recently refurbished $109 a night new beds ect. Asked what room they have was told what do you want to spend asked about new refurbished showmen $145 near road cheaper at back $109 up near road chose $115 at back didn't make a difference and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan H
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review

We offer different room types and different rates to suit the guests rather than upsell them into a larger room with cooking facilities if that is not required. That way guests may chose their own room at their own budget. That is why we show rooms to travellers where possible. Pioneer Villa Motel is located on Nebo Road which is...

Bundaberg
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Getting on a bit now, very clean and also comfy. Owner, Darryl, is fabulous. A true gentleman. It is just getting on in years and needs more than a facelift, it is very comfortable but if you want upmarket it isn't for you. Would I stay again, yes I would.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GregoryBBundaberg
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review

Like the building, the owner also is getting on in years. The good news though is that Pioneer Villa Motel is getting a facelift and improvements, not so for the owner. Such is life.

Reviewed April 28, 2014

During my 5 days in Mackay on Business, I stayed at this Motel. It was Great. After my long trip to Mackay and long days working, it was a great place to come back to, for rest and relaxation, so quiet and restful. > Loads of hot water in the Shower, great water pressure. > My room was spotlessly clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia H
Daryl W, Manager at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review

Staying away from home for extended periods is often onerous, especially for business travellers who work all day and spend half the night doing computer work. We do ask guests at Pioneer Villa Motel to tell us if they need anything extra as sometimes they may have forgotten their phone charger or extension cord. We are always happy to help...

Sydney
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I can't speak for the rooms themselves as due to the incompetence of Virgin Blue we never made it, however the very kind manager didn't charge us for the room, even though we weren't able to alert him we weren't coming until the morning AFTER our booking. I had family that stayed here and they had no complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SydneyJimmy
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review

We are not in the business of taking money for rooms that are not occupied if there are exceptional circumstances. This gentleman was travelling to a funeral so we had emphaty for him. Pioneer Villa Motel does have a 48 hour cancellation policy but unlike many of the big chains who have a rigid no refund policy, we do have...

Bundaberg, Australia
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The owner was very welcoming and went beyond the norm to help us feel comfortable. Dinner was well received by all. Slept very well. The room we were in needs some updating as it was looking very shabby.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mummygirl58
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review

More than half the rooms have been renovated, three new rooms have been added within the past few months, and the remainder will be refurbished with a modern bright decor. There is a saying that "everything old will be new again" but it takes time to complete everything.... but it is happening! All the rooms are clean with new beds...

Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I know this site is usually only for those who have stayed at a certain motel. But I had to leave a note. Because this experience made me smile and lifted my day. The morning I made my booking, I had called a number of Mackay motels. As I am in need of accommodation during my business trip. I am...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cyndy75
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review

Blush ....we do get some wonderful guests and good service is a right, not an expectation, for those of us from the old school. Thank you.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I have stayed here on two occasions and have found the the staff amazing. On the last occasion I arrived at 7 am for that night and was able t.o immediately check in. Darryl and Mal provide amazing customer service with a smile. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with new very comfortable beds, austar t.v and not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sydgal14
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review

We have a policy at Pioneer Villa Motel to check in guests as early as possible, provided that the room is available and has been fully serviced and cleaned. Many travellers are weary when they reach Mackay so it is great for them to be able to put their feet up, have a cup of tea or coffee and a...

Palmview, Australia
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed at Pioneer Villa Motel on 2 occasions when travelling up and back the Qld coastline. On the first occasion things were in quite a state and needing repair as per guest comments below. I have stayed here again in March and things are very different for good reasons. The old sign has been replaced, the pool fence has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mal B
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind comments and we have made significant changes since removing the previous managers. We operate 24 hour check in and give priority to a personalised service. It is a pleasure to look after our guests and we value them highly. New pool fencing and signage gives us a new profile in line with the improved levels of...

Tully, Australia
Reviewed February 27, 2014

needs upgrading, one air con which did not have any effect on the 2nd bedroom, for that we had a pedestal fan that didn't work. breakfast was terrible, didn't get what we ordered, restaurant aircon got turned on when we sat down so we sweated thru the meal. bathroom in need of help

 Report
Helpful?
Thank townsvillemiss65
Daryl W, Owner at Pioneer Villa Motel, responded to this review

Dear Townsvillemiss, I apologise that you were not satisfied with you stay at Pioneer Villa Motel, it is my hope and intention for all guests to be completely satisfied based on the value of the rate they are paying for the service and condition of the motel. Since you have not stated when your stay was I can only assume...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackay hotels
0.2 mi away
Miners Lodge Motor Inn
Miners Lodge Motor Inn
#24 of 34 in Mackay
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mackay Rose Motel
Mackay Rose Motel
#8 of 34 in Mackay
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#15 of 34 in Mackay
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Windmill Motel & Reception Centre
0.2 mi away
Cool Palms Motel
Cool Palms Motel
#23 of 34 in Mackay
37 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mackay Motor Inn
Mackay Motor Inn
#21 of 34 in Mackay
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Under new Management, all rooms have been upgraded, and feature brand new beds, and bedding, Digital TV and new split system air-conditioning. Book here now. Pioneer Villa is a small motel with great personal service. Our motel is very clean and comfortable with a large in-ground pool w/slide and on-site restaurant & bar. We also offer free WiFi, off street undercover parking and Foxtel sport & movies. Conveniently located Pioneer Villa Motel is on Nebo Rd 8 minutes from Mackay airport and 15 minutes walk from the City heart - well positioned for business or leisure! Mackay Bowls club across the road, great spot for weekend tournaments. We pride ourselves on the service we offer guests, both business and leisure and like to 'go the extra mile'. Our restaurant offers scrumptious hearty meals that will leave you feeling happy and full. Restaurant open for breakfast & dinner Mon - Thurs night. Room service at other times by arrangement. 24 Hour personal check in. Heavy vehicle parking available in side street Bagley St Cnr & Nebo Rd Come and visit us today in Mackay Pioneer Villa Motel and let us look after you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pioneer Villa Motel

Address: 30 Nebo Rd, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Price Range: $55 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pioneer Villa Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Pioneer Villa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Villa Hotel Mackay
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Mackay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pioneer Villa Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“There is only one $70 room which is next to housekeeping. Pay the extra $10 for a nicer location.”
 of 5 bubbles MagneticFriend, Dec 29, 2014 | Read review
“good value for money”
 of 5 bubbles guohua, Aug 27, 2014 | Read review
“I had an Executive room, it was average.”
 of 5 bubbles GregoryBBundaberg, May 3, 2014 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles Bundy_Cairns, Sep 4, 2013 | Read review
“Avoid rooms 20 and 21 - they are the "cells"”
 of 5 bubbles TaliaT698, Oct 29, 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question