We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sovereign Inn Wollongong

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sovereign Inn Wollongong
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 62: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for one night - thankfully. I asked the manager about noise from outside and was assured noise was not a problem. Well we heard most of the passing traffic until we stuffed a spare blanket at the foot of the door to block out noise. But that didn't stop the drunks from the local pub finding the bench... More 

Helpful?
Thank mxdad026
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for a week on a work trip. From the outside the place looks a little run down, the rooms are pretty much the same. However the rooms have everything you'd expect for the price; flat screen TV, aircon, fridge and microwave. The staff are very good, the food from the restaurant is good old fashioned home cooking and very... More 

Helpful?
Thank marcnemma
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Though we are an older style motel, we agree that we do provide all the creature comforts for an enjoyable and comfortable stay at a good price. Our staff are always happy to provide friendly & helpful service to our guests, and we're glad you enjoyed your meals and the complimentary biscuits. We look forward... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016

We have stayed here a couple of times in the past 6 months and its a very basic motel a little dated but is great for a place to lay your head for a good price. Staff are lovely and offer information willingly and are up for a friendly chat! We would stay here again no problems. Has a bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank diamond_wilson
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are an older style motel, but as you mentioned we provide clean, comfortable accommodation at a good price. Our friendly, helpful staff are always happy to help. We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Wollongong More 

Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2016

Motel appears aged from external appearance however guests will find rooms are quite comfy, clean and spacious with sleeping, WC and kitchenette all individual rooms. Outside there are some fixed furniture which is located in quiet leafy surrounds. Motel is on major highway and within easy walk of food, drink and retail shopping. Road noise is well managed through building... More 

Helpful?
Thank fantazbaz
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our staff pride themsleves on their friendly, helpful service. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Brisbane Region, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2016

Stayed on Saturday night very full Managers bent over backwards to get us a room CLEAN COMFORTABLE .............. breakfast Sunday Morning just wonderful worth ever cent $15 buffet worth coming back for the breakie

Helpful?
Thank Grannie x
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Wollongong More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2016

Dont waste your money. This is a old motel, in need of maintenance and serious updating. You cannot open the single window and room is dark. The shower needed a thorough clean with bleach. Bed sagged which resulted in little sleep over two nights. Might suit a couple on a budget or a group looking for cheap digs but at... More 

Helpful?
Thank PJL L
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. We have taken your comments on board and are addressing them. More 

Travelers are raving about these Wollongong hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2016 via mobile

We were driving through Wollongong from Coffs Harbour back home to Melbourne and stopped off at Sovereign Inn for the night. It was reasonably priced. Hotel was neat and tidy. Was greeted by a lovely gentleman who was very helpful. It's not a new hotel but very comfortable. Kids enjoyed sleeping on the bunk beds. Parking was available at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our managers pride themselves on always providing friendly helpful service and clean, comfortable accommodation. Our guests also enjoy the reasonable price of our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you pass through Wollongong. More 

Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Staff friendly, clean, but needs a major update. We had a room with double bed and a single. Very pokey and small for 3 adults.D/B had a broken slat underneath it, not that comfy. TV set up too high on the wall, Shower good but mould in the shower recess. Bathroom and mini kitchen and wardrobe in a very small... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have taken your comments into consideration. Would you mind contacting the motel about your review as we don't have any slats under our beds, they are all ensembles so would like to check which room you stayed in. More 

Goulburn, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

We arrived late from Sydney Airport to check in. Asked the managers for somewhere to have a bite to eat. We were offered some cheese and crackers with their complements. We would like to thank them very much again and had a great nights sleep. Rooms clean, bed comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Colin T
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our managers always take pride in going the extra mile to ensure your stay with us is pleasant and enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Wollongong. More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015 via mobile

A very old motel in style & build. The rooms are extremely basic with paper thin walls. The air conditioner in our room sounded like a tractor. Not much more to say other than the whole site is probably due for re-development. Not worthy of a star rating in this day-and-age.

Helpful?
Thank silverstreak78
woywoy123, Owner at Sovereign Inn Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your comments have been taken into consideration. We are an older style building however we do provide clean, comfortable accommodation at an affordable price and our managers always provide friendly, helpful service to our guests. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
2.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
2.7 mi away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 16 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
3.1 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 16 in Wollongong
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club
2.0 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 16 in Wollongong
3.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sovereign Inn Wollongong has a range of rooms including queen, twin and family rooms. AAA 3.5 star, We are ideally situated within 8 minutes drive of the CBD of Wollongong, the Entertainment Centre, beaches and Port Kembla. We are conveniently located close to Figtree private hospital and Wollongong hospital. Licensed restaurant, bar, pool room and conference facilities are all available at the property. Ample off-road parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sovereign Inn Wollongong

Address: 111 Princess Hwy | Figtree, Wollongong, New South Wales 2525, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Price Range: $79 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sovereign Inn Wollongong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Sovereign Inn Wollongong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolongong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay