We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sage Hotel Wollongong

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sage Hotel Wollongong
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,176: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Friendly hotel staff, clean room just next to WIN Stadium. Conveniently located with decent dining options in the vicinity and availability of street/hotel parking. Stayed for two nights and enjoyed my stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
Nicole_Temple, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on our property, we appreciate the effort in these busy times. Our staff and location certainly add great value to the stay. The team is certainly friendly and approachable, they are always looking to meet & beat our guests wants & needs. Location is great with Wollongong City Beach opposite the...

Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have just read through the reviews and found them quite surprising. Up checking in I found the gentleman checking me in to be fantastic - very informative and seemed very focused on providing me with great service. The location was fantastic as we could walk to the events I was attending at the Art Gallery and the Town Hall....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mjontour2016
Nicole_Temple, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review

It is always uplifting to read of happy guests that have enjoyed their stay with us here in Wollongong. We think our team is one of the greatest assets to the business. They try to meet & beat guest expectations on every encounter and it would appear they have achieved this for you. Sage Wollongong is located directly opposite WIN...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall my experience at the hotel wasn't a good one. On the positive side the hotel is well located close to the shops and beaches. But for the rest ... I had booked a last minute deal of $244 for one night (the hotel quoted $280 for a booking direct with them). Given the pricing I had fairly high expectations....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cmcinsydney
Nicole_Temple, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review

It is only through honest feedback that we are able to improve our product and service levels to ensure we are delivering on all of our guests needs and wants. Our location is certainly a great point as we are only a short stroll from both leisure and business activities and attractions. I thank you for taking the time to...

New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

My adult daughters stayed at this hotel and spoke very highly about their stay at Sage Hotel. They said the staff were really friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. The staff were very clear in communicating up front about the $100 held on credit and refunded after checkout when room is checked. The rooms were lovely,very clean.There is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
Nicole_Temple, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review

It is heartwarming to read that guests have enjoyed their experience with us at Sage Wollongong. Our staff are certainly an amazing team, looking to meet and beat guest experiences on every encounter. It is great that your daughters found their interactions with the team to be friendly and helpful. We certainly have many facilities that operate throughout the property...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The good: Rooms are nice Seperate bathroom with large bath tub Good location Walking distance to restaurants and shopping district Coffee machine in room Beds comfortable The bad: 100$ held on credit card 14$ per day for parking Staff smile a lot but are apathetic and disinterested Shower has mould and could use a thorough clean Noise from near by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
Nicole_Temple, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback on our property so we can improve in the future. Our location is a huge plus for us, being directly opposite WIN Sports & Entertainment Centre and Wollongong City Beach with easy access to many local attractions as well as shopping centres. I have raised your issues with the rooms...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

booked a room, arrived only to be told we not booked in, pulled email up, oh yes you do have a booking...... but the good news is we have upgraded you to the honeymoon suite.... suite had lovely views.... but it was suite for disabled people, i am not dissing disabled people as they are entitled to a nice place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maltbyman
Nicole_Temple, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review

Hi Leanne, thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your recent stay. After some investigation in to your booking we noted that your reservation was yet to drop in to our Property Management System hence why the Guest Service Agent could not see it when you first approached the desk. It is helpful that you...

Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sage is located right on the beachfront and is a great location for a week in Wollongong. The rooms were clean and the staff were really attentive. A couple of things stopped me from rating this any higher than average - the food was. It great, the room service menu mirrrored the meals in the restaurant downstairs and everything was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony K
Nicole_Temple, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for you feedback about our hotel. We appreciate all forms of feedback as it allows us to improve our property so that your future stays will deliver what you desire from the hotel. The location is certainly one of our great points. With beach, event venues, restaurants, bars and shops all a short stroll away from our front...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location, next to beach, golf course, stadium, restaurants. Rooms new and clean. Usually free parking outside. Burger bar type place downstairs ok and worth a try. Perfect sport if you are going to Wollongong.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scash80
Nicole_Temple, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review

It is always good to hear of guests that are not only return customers but have enjoyed their time with us at Sage Wollongong. We are located perfectly for both leisure and business travelers alike, with WIN Stadium & Entertainment Centre opposite the hotel and many restaurants, bars, venues and CBD all a short stroll from our front door. Coldwater...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Why do you have to wait 5 -10 days for refund of $100 dollars of your credit card. We weren't told when they took the money on check in. Surely they clean the room after you leave and work out you havnt trashed the room or used anything from the mini bar. My wife and i have stayed all over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luke7717
Nicole_Temple, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review

All of our accommodation rooms follow standard practice of taking Pre-Authorisaton on the nominated credit card. This is not taken solely to insure against damage or mini bar usage, but to ensure that all final room charges can be reconciled in a timely fashion. The reception staff should have informed you on check-in of this procedure, I have spoken with...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in Wollongong on business for a four day event (Thurs - Sun) held within a few kilometers from this hotel. Finding accommodation availability in the area was very difficult due to the event over the weekend and thus the accommodation prices were very expensive for the quality of rooms available. The staff were very friendly and the standard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Feebee0801
Nicole_Temple, General Manager at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this review

Thank you for you comments on Sage Wollongong. It's only through honest feedback that we can improve. I am disheartened to read that you would not choose to stay with Sage Wollongong again. It was good to see that you found our F&B team and their product to be to your liking. They are definitely an outgoing and friendly team...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (97)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
1.0 mi away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
2.8 mi away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 16 in Wollongong
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN City Sands-Wollongong Golf Club
0.8 mi away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 16 in Wollongong
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Wollongong
Quest Wollongong
#6 of 16 in Wollongong
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sage Hotel Wollongong is a modern hotel located about an hours drive from Sydney on the scenic NSW South Coast. The hotel is situated on Wollongong's foreshore, adjacent to WIN Sports and Entertainment Centre and a short walk to Wollongong City Beach, vibrant restaurants and cafes, and fabulous shopping at Wollongong Central and Crown St Mall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sage Hotel Wollongong

Address: 60 - 62 Harbour St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Price Range: $107 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hotel Wollongong 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sage Hotel Wollongong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wollongong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sage Hotel Wollongong staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“confirm booking”
 of 5 bubbles maltbyman, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Southern side has water and golf course views”
 of 5 bubbles 840sandrag, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
“Have wider beds in the twin rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles angelamirabito, Oct 29, 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a room with a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles jppetty, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“When booking ask for the 10th floor with ocen views”
 of 5 bubbles 865jennyr, Oct 16, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay