We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 92: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Worst experience ever - the owner is an incompetent, deranged and deluded man whom is operating the wrong industry. we were abused, threatened and intimidated on arrival due to the timing - mate if you don't wish to be woken do not serve in hotel industry. Disgusting I watched his staff move about in fear.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mauve417
Robert R, Owner at Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth, responded to this review

Yet again tripadvisor posts offensive repsonses, yet if I was to post a reply like this I would be in trouble. This person arrive vis NRMA booking, key was left in door and she was to be given directions. This didn't happen so she chose to abuse me over night bell because she didn't know where to go. On video...

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When travelling I try to find value ie a good place for a reasonable cost. This place looked ok even though previous reviews said otherwise. Motel is the first if heading from Armidale on left hand side. Cost was $110 for a twin room of 2 double beds with breakfast. The motel lookalike a 1970s one with minor changes. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tigger2594
Robert R, Owner at Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth, responded to this review

I have just wasted my time going around our twin rooms and no surprise ALL remotes switch TV on and off. Comment about double bed is absurd, everyone knows what size a double bed is, these rooms are booked for two people, heavily booked by guys working as most motels from our feedback is rooms have 2 singles or bigger...

Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

On the highway on the north side of Tamworth. Can be noisy. Quite a big room with a couch and fridge plus kettle toaster etc. Ok for a night or two. Easy to find and has a restaurant as well as barbecue facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neville S
Robert R, Owner at Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to respond.

Armidale, Australia
Reviewed August 25, 2016

I stayed in this motel overnight when I was on a business trip and I found that it was clean, comfortable and great value for money.The owners were very welcoming and friendly and most accommodating, particularly as I had to change my booking arrangements. Although the motel is an older one, the room I was in had been refurbished and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alice C
Robert R, Owner at Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to respond. Look forward to seeing you again.

Wingham NSW AU
Reviewed August 24, 2016

We had a good night sleep on a comfortable mattress. Clean room but a bit stale. Loved that we could open front and back doors and we could walk down to the river. Breakfasts included cereal, juices, toast and tea or coffee. I would recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank welchie
Robert R, Owner at Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to respond.

Tamworth, Australia
Reviewed August 3, 2016

I stayed here a couple of weeks ago. I stayed near the back and couldn't really hear the highway at all. A few people have mentioned free wifi but there was nothing written in the room about this and no one told me. Didn't know about the Foxtel either and there was nothing in the room indicating this. Apart from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KiwiinOz2014
Robert R, Owner at Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to respond, sorry there should have been a compendium in the room.

Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

Reading some of the reviews I think there may be some rooms that have been refurbished and others not. We got a "not refurbished room". But we paid the same. The room was at the rear of the complex, so was quiet and the beds comfortable. Staff are friendly also. However, there were a few major issues - fridge froze...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nici O
Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

The room was comfortable and warm and clean. But the free breakfast was the best! Rice bubbles toast and juice in a dining room with loads of guitars. Will definitely a stay here again when in Tamworth.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
Robert R, Owner at Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to respond, look forward to seeing you when next in Tamworth.

Thirroul, Australia
Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

Thank you what incredible people own this place! My daughter left her doll of 12 years at the hotel and the wonderful owners called us to let us know they had found her and even mailed her to us express post at our next destination! We will be back next time we are in Tamworth 😀thanks!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saraberry123
Robert R, Owner at Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to respond, glad all ended well.

Orange
Reviewed May 5, 2016

we were very disappointed with this motel, not very clean, decor outdated. I would recommend this Motel for workers travelling and needing a place to rest but for families travelling for a holiday it really doesn't do it. There is free Wifi but not worth using as it's so slow. Not sure what era the air con was from but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy L
Robert R, Owner at Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth, responded to this review

Only realistic comment is truly reflects its rating, yes we are 3.5 star AND under new rating system, if you wanted more then you should have stayed at a higher rating motel and paid more. Regardless of price our rooms are clean, I am using WIFI at moment it is still fine, you need to include your hardware in the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tamworth hotels
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Tamworth
Econo Lodge Tamworth
#12 of 31 in Tamworth
102 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abraham Lincoln Motel
Abraham Lincoln Motel
#2 of 31 in Tamworth
272 reviews
2.1 mi away
Motel 359
Motel 359
#19 of 31 in Tamworth
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Almond Inn Motel
Almond Inn Motel
#23 of 31 in Tamworth
45 reviews
1.8 mi away
City Gate Motel
City Gate Motel
#28 of 31 in Tamworth
8 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stagecoach Inn Motel
Stagecoach Inn Motel
#7 of 31 in Tamworth
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth

Address: 519 Armidale Road, Tamworth, New South Wales 2340, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Tamworth
Price Range: $63 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Colonial Inn Motel Tamworth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Regardless of what hotel you go to always take your own soap and shampoo.”
 of 5 bubbles welchie, Aug 24, 2016 | Read review
“avoid this hotel and keep driving until you find another.”
 of 5 bubbles FPA208, Apr 10, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the road as the highway is quite busy all night.”
 of 5 bubbles summutha, Mar 26, 2016 | Read review
“room 25 was ok and well away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles 585col, Jan 9, 2015 | Read review
“Had a room right at the front but did not hear any noise from the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelN779, Sep 8, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay