We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

946 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 940: English reviews
Abingdon
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a 2 bedroom house with everything we needed to look after ourselves and to be really comfortable. Each bedroom was en-suite and well-kitted out and the surroundings were quiet and beautiful. The terrace overlooked the golf course and there was plenty to see and do in the area. Highly recommended - just book the spa well in advance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarbRW
Phil S, General Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Hello BarbRW, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our views are spectacular and we are located close to some of the Hunter Valley's best wineries and restaurants. We hope to see you again soon. The day spa is a separate company, and yes they do book out quick. our front office staff are more than happy...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was on the last few days of a business trip to Australia and decided to go to the Hunter for some golf, wine, and wild life. I "walked in" single to Cypress Lakes at 11am Saturday morning without reservation looking to stay and play for a day. Receptionist put a nice package together with a 1 BR villa #641...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank newts057
Phil S, General Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Hello newts057, Thank you for your review. It is good to hear that the front Office staff could assist on short notice to give you the weekend away you desired. Our championship course is a great draw and I am glad that you were able to return after so many years and see the improvements to the resort and surrounds....

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here with my family for 3 nights during my visit to hunter valley in a 2 bedroom villa breakfast included at a reasonable price. It has a home comfortable feeling, very clean inside, nicely furnished but some outdated bathrooms which need painting to cover up the black mould, a long walk to the reception, restaurant and out and about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet O
Phil S, General Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Hello Janet O, Thank you for your review. We are in a spectacular location, close to all that the Hunter Valley has to offer. Being in a secluded bushland setting, spiders and cobwebs are a natural part of the experience, and while our housekeepers are diligent in clearing cobwebs, they can come back very fast. I am glad that you...

Makati, Philippines
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Quite a mixed experience. I was there for a few days this week with about 100 others from my company for our annual offsite. The location and property are fantastic. On a lake, rolling hills, large airy rooms, lots of outdoor activities and pretty decent food...so all those things were good. In addition, there were a few staff who really...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David Michael S
Phil S, General Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear David It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay at Cypress lakes and overall you had a great time. Very pleased about your feedback about the food Mario and Anika It was disappointing to read your comments about Summer who is another great staff member who also receives a lot of great feedback, I have followed up...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at Cypress Lakes every year around Xmas time for the past 4 years. We always have enjoyed our stay there with our 3 young kids and haven't had any issues. Our car was stolen from right outside our villa on the early morning of our second day. Inside the car was my pram, car seat and other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laloa062
Phil S, Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear Laloa062 Thank you for posting your review. It is lovely to see that you have stayed at Cypress Lakes many times in the past. It is disappointing to read that your vehicle had been stolen from the car park, we apologise that the incident took place during your stay. As it was a criminal matter, the police were notified...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed in the 3 bedroom apartments. Very clean, All we needed. Staff were so friendly and attentive to any request we had. A great relaxing getaway. would highly recommend. Pools were cleaned often so lots of bugs and leaves floating around but such a minor detail in a great place to getaway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mia74_11
Phil S, General Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Hello mia74_11, thanks for your review, It is great to hear of your stay and I am glad that our staff were able to assist you in all things. We look forward to seeing you again

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Villa 544 from Xmas day for 9 days.The villa has recently had a refurb and is very comfortable. The a/c was still the old one but did its job in the extreme conditions, Nearly 40 degrees every day. Found it to be in a great spot, at the top of the hill over the course between the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bcummerford
Phil S, General Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

hello bcummerford, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you could enjoy the full scope of Cypress Lakes facilities. We are very proud of our refurbishment and I am glad that you were able to enjoy it as well. Our location in the Hunter valley makes us a great location for groups and families and It is...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awful place. Waited 15 minutes to check in whilst the receptionist flirted with a lady who was asking lots of questions. No acknowledgement that I was waiting. Booked a standard villa and when we walked in could tell it was very dirty. Floors dirty – carpets needed hovering and stains on wooden floor needed wiping. Hair in beds. Dead flys...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chickabeme
Phil S, Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear Chickabeme, Thank you for your review. We apologise for the inconvenience of waiting to check in, and for the standard of cleaning in your original villa. It is great to see that you were given a change of villas into an executive villa. We apologise for the wait on the take away and it is unacceptable that you were...

Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visit The Hunter often, usually at small BNB's or self contained accomodation. This was a first for us at Cypress Lakes Resort, and we chose it as we had overseas guests whom we thought would enjoy the Resort atmosphere and amenities. I was so dissapointed, as this would be the worst place we have ever stayed in The Hunter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kjbinoz
Phil S, Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear Kjbinoz, Thanks for your review. It is regrettable to read that you were disappointed with your stay. We apologise that villa 792 was not up to scratch. We have currently refurbished 65% of our letting pool and anticipate to have the whole letting pool refurbished in the near future. We apologise for the delay in the Bodega restaurant service,...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night as a family of 5. Our 3 bedroom cabin was huge and spacious with a lovely view. The staff were welcoming and friendly. Our favourite part was the pool! It had the most beautiful view. There was a nest of wasps in the outdoor pool bathrooms (not too sure if that has been taken care...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
Phil S, Manager at Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie F, Thanks for your review. It is lovely to see that you found our three bedrooms spacious and that our staff were welcoming and friendly. I apologise that there was a nest of wasps at the pool bathroom, we will have maintenance attend to this if not already taken care of. We have 24 hour reception and would...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

308 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (278)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (107)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.8 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
801 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley Resort
3.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the Hunter Valley's picturesque hinterland surroundings, Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels & Resorts promises a tranquil and indulgent escape, ideal for a leisurely holiday with family and friends, golfing break, memorable wedding, or unique conferencing experience. Coupling luxury, self-contained villa accommodation in one, two and three bedroom configurations with thoughtful in-room appointments and elegant furnishings, each apartment features a modern kitchen, dryer, spacious living and dining areas and private balcony overlooking the resort's verdant bushland and 18-hole championship golf course. The resort also features a selection of superior onsite leisure facilities set against an exquisite backdrop - ensuring guests can enjoy more active pursuits or simply relax in serene surroundings. Enjoy a game of tennis or golf, dine at the onsite Bodega restaurant and bar, unwind in the swimming pool and spa, work out in the fully-equipped gymnasium or Bike Hire is also available for purchase. Cypress Lakes Resort is also just a stones throw from the indulgent Golden Door Day Spa, where guests can choose from an extensive menu of pampering treatments. For all types of occasions and both short and longer stays, Cypress Lakes Resort by Oaks Hotels & Resorts is the Hunter Valleys premier resort destination. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts

Address: 15 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Price Range: $145 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Lakes Hotel Pokolbin
Cypress Lakes Pokolbin
Cypress Lake Resort
Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Cypress Lakes Resort By Oaks Hotels & Resorts staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“apartment was quite, no complaints”
 of 5 bubbles mia74_11, 1 week ago | Read review
“Do not choose 3 bedroom villa 792- awful.”
 of 5 bubbles Kjbinoz, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“near the golf course will give some nice morning/evening views”
 of 5 bubbles Wombat1984, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“ground level would be good we had a room upstairs and it was just a tad wierd”
 of 5 bubbles putsy99, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Try and get a room overlooking the first few golf holes”
 of 5 bubbles alexk829, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay