We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Travelodge Newcastle

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Travelodge Newcastle
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,027 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,024: English reviews
Sydney
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Room was clean and the bed was comfortable but there was no hot water in the morning to have a shower. Staff was nice and helpful. Location convenient. there was a party going on and there was a lot of doors banging throughout the night

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank R3651FUmicheller
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear R3651FUmicheller, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback on your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and, where necessary, improve upon service levels for our valued guests. I am very sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not... More 

Gladstone, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

great place to stay, good value rate booked day before through booking.com , staff very helpful and friendly. some streets around the area not great late at night but hotel was located in area I wanted. Bus connection from train stops close to hotel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Catherine C, Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about Travelodge Newcastle. We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I appreciate your feedback on our friendly team and will ensure your compliments are passed on. Thank you again for sharing the experience of your stay with us and... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a girls weekend - the rooms were clean and tidy and location is great. Staff were generally nice apart from one who was a bit rude but it was a Saturday night so she must have been fed up with the drunk people. Beds weren't overly comfortable but to be expected of the price

Helpful?
Thank Foodielover95
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Foodielover95, I am so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Travelodge Newcastle. I am pleased to hear you found our rooms clean & comfortable. I hope you had a wonderful girls weekend. Thank you again for sharing the experience of your stay with... More 

Rozelle
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The room was clean and tidy. However, there was no hot water in the morning, so we had to go with out a shower. We were also not informed at check in about the &15 parking fee. Although when we pointed out we didn't use the car park overnight, the fee was waived. Reception should inform you of the parking... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank paulabH4641IR
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear paulabH4641IR, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback on your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle. I am very sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations due to the problem with our hot water system. This issue has now been fixed, however I apologise for the inconvenience caused.... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Staff are friendly and efficient. Hotel is well located and good value I thought. Had an interrupted nights sleep due to a defective aircon system, but got moved the next day. Reception were great arranging that...annoyed that they put us in a room that clearly did not have functioning equipment. Would certainly give them another go though!!!

Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Daniel T, Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. I have taken on your feedback regarding our air conditioning system and we are looking into solutions to resolve this. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon so that you can experience what we are truly capable of. Regards, Natalie Jenkins... More 

Kempsey, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hotel is close to Newcastle CBD and only 10 - 15 walk to Beaches. Room clean, tidy and comfortable. Thought it would be noisy being on a busy corner but other than a few horns and sirens didn't hear the traffic. Parking was handy and cheap. Will definitely book again next time in Newcastle.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank berni399
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear berni399, Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about Travelodge Newcastle. We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! I am pleased that you found our hotel to be comfortable and to your needs. Thank you again for sharing the experience of your stay with us and we hope... More 

Gosford, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I would not recommend this hotel as we had no hot water Saturday night as we going out we couldn't freshen up The receptionist on night tried to find problem with no luck Sunday again no hot water When booking out told Receptionist about problems we had and she didn't really care

Helpful?
Thank Mr N
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Mr N, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback on your recent stay at Travelodge Newcastle. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and, where necessary, improve upon service levels for our valued guests. I am very sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did... More 

Travelers are raving about these Newcastle hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelodge is in a central location and in walking distance to restaurants but is in need of updating. The staff were very friendly and the bed was very comfortable but I am unsure why there is no mini bar available in the rooms. Also on the second morning of our stay there was no hot water. Not sure if this... More 

Helpful?
Thank RayleneL
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear RayleneL, Thank you for taking the time to provide your constructive feedback, I appreciate the time you have taken to do so. I'm glad to read you found our team friendly & slept well in our comfy bed. We have minibar items available from reception, and our 24-hour team are happy to run this up to your room at... More 

Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed with Travelodge many times. This hotel needs upgrading. The staff as usual were very nice including the housekeeping staff. That's the best we can say I am afraid. On a positive note the location is excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Di S
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Di S, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I appreciate your kind comments about our team & will be sure to pass on your compliments. I'm glad to hear that you find our location convenient & continue to stay with us, we appreciate your loyal business. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind... More 

Lennox Head, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would give this Hotel very good rating for a 4 star accommodation. A couple of equipment's they could improve on, however the staff was excellent to me, nice and amicable to me. The house keeping where wonderful to me as they where so dedicated to making me feel comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank shayne829
Lucy O, Manager at Travelodge Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear shayne829, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I'm so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay! I'm delighted to hear that you found our team so friendly & welcoming, and I'll be sure to pass on your compliments. I look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Newcastle again soon. Kind... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Newcastle
Ibis Newcastle
#9 of 22 in Newcastle
3.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Travelodge Newcastle

Address: 12 Steel St, Newcastle, New South Wales 2302, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: $89 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Travelodge Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Travel Lodge Newcastle
Newcastle Travelodge
Newcastle Travel Lodge
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay