We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Novotel Newcastle Beach

Booking.com$112*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/09/2017 04/10/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

801 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Novotel Newcastle Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 793: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed September 19, 2014

Everything about this hotel is what you'd expect apart from the cleaning of my bathroom which wasn't up to the mark of a four star hotel. My bathroom wasn't cleaned satisfactorily on my first night (face washer not replaced and there was only one, used glass not replaced, floor not clean) so I asked at reception about this and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tig68er
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Dear tig68er, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel, firstly we apologise that your bathroom was not serviced properly, your feedback has been shared with our room attendants as a reminder to ensure that this is done 100% correctly every day, we appreciate you letting us know. We thank you for the remainder of the...

Tamworth, Australia
Reviewed September 15, 2014

My whole experience was 10/10. From walking into the Hotel for Check-In to Check-Out. Upon walking in, greeted by lovely staff. While processing the deposit we where given a map of the surrounding area and shown the location of some local restaurants and nice areas to check out. Our complimentary In-Room Wi-Fi was setup for us with the click of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marco_0124
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Dear Marco_0124, Thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel, we are very grateful that you have taken the time to provide feedback on your experience in Newcastle. We are very pleased that you had such a great stay and we look forward to your return. Kind Regards Simon Glover General Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed September 14, 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank John M
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed September 13, 2014

This is a very nice hotel close to the very nice beach area in Newcastle. It is also close to some good restaurants and cafes. It is unfortunate that the hotel charges $18 per night for parking rather than providing it as a courtesy.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank scottbill9
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Dear scottbill9, Thank you for your kind review, we are very fortunate with our location and access to the best of what Newcastle has to offer. The car parking is in line with the Newcastle market and also secure underground, there is and alternative of paid parking available on the street between 9am - 5pm, this is free outside these...

Fishing Point, Australia
Reviewed September 12, 2014

After looking up the novotel site on the Internet and booking,we looked forward to being able to sit and watch the ships and beach view on our stay. When we entered our room we saw that our only view was looking straight into another building straight across the road so had to keep our curtains closed. The rooms were small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lyn T
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Dear Lyn T, Thank you for the review of our hotel, we are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the stay with us. We apologise that the two rooms were not allocated close by, this is standard practice for us so I am not sure why this would not have happened, we understand this would be annoying...

Inverell, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed September 10, 2014

Upon trying to check in they had lost all my paper work & i had to provide them with MY copy of paperwork which i was smart enough to take & have on me. Next they stuffed up the $100 deposit. Didnt explain where to park or how or where to go to get to my room. My TV could...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kat88au
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Dear Kat88au, Thank you very much for your review, we are really disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us in Newcastle. In relation to the deposit as you paid with EFTPOS on arrival and departed without coming to reception we were unable to provide you with your refund on the spot, our front office staff...

Robinvale, Australia
Reviewed September 9, 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed September 7, 2014

Stayed on Weekend, Went down for breakfast was told breakfast area is full and cant help.. No room ? What ? a hotel restaurant where you are told to go elsewhere ? Disgrace As a member of the hotel rewards program = complimentary wifi....Upon check they request $24.50 for 1 night of internet ?? After discussion it was conceded that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank David J
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Dear David J We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay in Newcastle, we are very sorry to hear that your experience was below par and sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy yourself. The hotel restaurant is quite small and has a limited number of seats, on weekends in particular the breakfast area can be...

Sydney
Reviewed September 4, 2014

The hotel is in a good location, within walking distance to the beach. Our room was extremely spacious but would have been more enjoyable with a balcony rather than a large window. The breakfast is very good. The evening menu at the bistro is quite limited but they do have an all-day menu that is very satisfactory. The check-in and...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusieMacSydney
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Dear SusieMacSydney, Thank you for the review we appreciate your feedback, we do offer some rooms with balconies which are on the Southern side of the building, they are very popular and tend to book our first. We thank you for your comments and hope to see you in Newcastle again soon. Kind Regards Simon Glover General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed September 3, 2014

We actually left another hotel because it was so bad. A quick google search and we found a great deal at Novotel Newcastle beach. We took advantage of the full buffet breakfast the next morning and it was wonderful. Easy walk to restaurants etc, and street parking available if you don't want to pay for underground parking. I think it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan F
Simon G, General Manager at Novotel Newcastle Beach, responded to this review

Dear Megan F Thank you for choosing Novotel Newcastle Beach, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The location of the hotel is indeed one of our best features it sounds as though you made he most of Newcastle while you were here. Kind Regards Simon Glover General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

204 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (38)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (75)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Beach (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Superior Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
04/09/2017 04/10/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
4.1 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
371 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
#12 of 22 in Newcastle
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Novotel Newcastle Beach

Address: 5 King St | Newcastle Beach, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Newcastle Beach)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: $126 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Newcastle Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Newcastle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
#4 Business Hotel in Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Novotel Newcastle Beach staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Penrith, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Newcastle Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“They offer different views so just ask what they have available”
 of 5 bubbles wpa13, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Ask for higher level and superior room option.”
 of 5 bubbles 889tonyp, Feb 12, 2017 | Read review
“high floors have great view of the beach”
 of 5 bubbles 521henrya, Jan 26, 2017 | Read review
“Best to ask for a room with a view away from the building site.”
 of 5 bubbles Pam150505, Jan 11, 2017 | Read review
“Upper levels facing north have harbour/coast views”
 of 5 bubbles DTG59, Nov 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Booking.com
$112* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor$112
HotelQuickly$134
Travelocity$112
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates