We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chifley Apartments Newcastle

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chifley Apartments Newcastle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chifley Apartments Newcastle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 344: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Chifley apartments are in Newcastle CBD so its very close access most places easily from the waterfront cafe's, restaurant's to the Pubs, boutique wine bars and night life. Nobby's beach is a 15 minute walk and is a great spot to swim and relax, on the headland there is a lighthouse with spectacular views North and South. The Chifley apartments...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jjprice5
NEWMGR, General Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review

Hi jjprice5, It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at our apartments. Thank you for taking the time to describe the property and surroundings. It is certainly a great location to be in. We would love to welcome you back in Newcastle very soon. Warm regards, Marcia Willner General Manager Chifley Apartments Newcastle

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed October 6, 2016

The hotel is opposite the old Civic Station and close to the museum, the bus stop (connecting bus from the Sydney train) is about 250 metres away. May be a little difficult with heavy luggage - I found it find with a wheeling case. The building and facilities are all really new. My one bedroom apartment was very spacious and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Asynca
NEWMGR, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Asynca, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. It's always encouraging to receive a 5 star review. I agree the east facing apartments offer particularly nice views from the balcony, next time you might like to try the west side - it might not look much by day but has spectacular city lights...

Reviewed October 5, 2016

Stayed here for 4 weeks during a short-term business assignment. The hotel staff were always extremely helpful, and it was obvious that many of my colleagues had visited this hotel before - with the checkin/out process very streamlined. Every morning at 6.30AM I would go downstairs for breakfast and be greeted by a very warm welcome (even though I'm sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
NEWMGR, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review

Thank you Robert for your lovely feedback! How very rewarding it is to hear of these experiences. I will pass your praise on to my front office team, especially to Thomas who must have made your early morning coffees :) We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards, Maddison Carbery Assistant Manager

Parkes, Australia
Reviewed September 28, 2016 via mobile

Staff extremely helpful at front desk. Had a great room that looked mover a small vineyard and really set it off the nigh scape. Very Close to great cafes and no worries about street safety as you can walk anywhere at night and feel safe. It's central and close to everything but quiet at night. The beds are comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geoff A
NEWMGR, General Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear Geoff A, The Chifley team is very pleased to receive such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that your experience was of a 5 star standard and would love to welcome you back soon. In light of your kind words, please email me directly to receive a 10% discount on your next stay (marcia.willner@chifleyhotels.com). Warm regards, Marcia Willner General...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

Was a short overnight stay hotel was clean staff very nice everything you needed the only thing is breakfast needed a different approach but was nice overall i would stay here again right need pubs food etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank muzza97
NEWMGR, General Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review

Dear muzza97, It's wonderful to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay at the apartments and found our team to be very friendly. We thought you might like to know that we are currently improving our buffet to revamp the "healthy start" breakfast. If you have time, I'd love to hear your suggestions. Feel free to send me an...

Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a period on business, the appartments are shared with residential units which makes parking a bit of a pain, especially on weekends, as there are no allocated bays to units and its first in first served and seem to over book the parking for guests. The location on Honeysuckle is the highlight, as there are plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brainsurgen
NEWMGR, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review

Good Afternoon brainsurgen, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is disappointing to see that we did not meet your expectations, however we value the feedback nonetheless. Our front office staff issue a welcome letter to new guests on check-in, enabling them to familiarise themselves with the services provided by the hotel. As our apartments are...

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Stayed at the Chifley apartments for a little over a week after a terrible experience with another apartment in town. Such a breath of fresh air. The rooms were clean and comfortable, free wi-fi, and were serviced every 3 days. Cannot fault this place, the staff were all great. Especially Nicole (thank you!!). I travel to Newcastle now regularly for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
NEWMGR, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Rob B, Thank you for your outstanding review of the property! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff take pride in the cleanliness and spaciousness of the apartments and it's so nice to hear such positive feedback. Your kind words will be passed on to Nicole :) We look forward to your return....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

Only booked this hotel as I wanted a place gym for a mid week business trip - on this front an absolute fail. Website shows photos of a bunch of equipment but when you arrive there are signs up to say only 'paying gym customers' can use all but 2 old machines (like paying $200 a night makes you free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
NEWMGR, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Mark, It is disappointing to hear that your experience with the gym has lead to a bad review of our property. The arrangement with the gym is somewhat unclear at this point and I apologise for this. We are in the process of reviewing this arrangement in hopes of improving access for our guests. As the gym is...

Sapphire Beach, Australia
Reviewed August 16, 2016

1 bedroom, great location and good value. Centrally located to bike ride everywhere. Secured parking was easy. Friendly staff makes travelling easy. Close to the river makes for a relaxing weekend away.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rickhV594TC
NEWMGR, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review

Good Afternoon rickh, Thank you for your 5/5 rating! We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed a special weekend in Newcastle for your sons 21st. Please keep us in mind for any future celebrations, we'd be only too happy to help :) Warm Regards, Maddison Carbery

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

Overall pretty good. Spacious and well equipped. Good tvs in both bedroom and lounge. Balcony a great boost Disappointed the peanuts were out of date and room wasn't cleaned daily but overall pretty good Good location and lots of food options in the area Would go back just change the peanuts !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mullso
NEWMGR, Manager at Chifley Apartments Newcastle, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Mullso, Thank you for your review, however you were actually a guest of the Honeysuckle Executive Apartments rather than the Chifley Apartments. Cleaning services do differ between the two companies, however we share the same building and are glad to hear you found the location convenient. Warm Regards, Maddison Carbery

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
957 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
813 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quest Newcastle Apartments
Quest Newcastle Apartments
#6 of 22 in Newcastle
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clarendon Hotel
The Clarendon Hotel
#5 of 22 in Newcastle
378 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chifley Apartments Newcastle is AAA rated 4.5 Star and offers a modern and spacious alternative to traditional hotel accommodation. Our one, two and three bedroom apartments are fully self contained with spacious living areas and private balconies which are complemented by the hotel’s fully equipped gymnasium and outdoor heated lap pool. Catering to guests requiring overnight stays as well as accommodation for extended periods, those additional features so often overlooked provide for a comfortable extension of home for regular travellers. Those extra touches include onsite security parking. A DVD library, barbecue, shopping service, dry cleaning, and restaurant chargeback at local restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chifley Apartments Newcastle

Address: Chifley Apartments 14 Honeysuckle Dr | Building 7, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Newcastle
Price Range: $129 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chifley Apartments Newcastle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chifley Apartments Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Chifley Apartments Newcastle staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Chifley Apartments Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Great location and room”
Telnet07, Mar 19, 2017 | Read review
“Pool side rooms are nice.”
JelMK, Mar 8, 2017 | Read review
“Try to get on that is higher up.”
nickn727, Jan 7, 2017 | Read review
“We had a floor on ground level and had a large balcony with hammock.”
S5468YFandreab, Dec 21, 2016 | Read review
“Choose harbour view rooms, make sure the rate is competitive (ours wasn't).”
KarlSice, Nov 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question