We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn

25 Cobra Street, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 108: English reviews
Dubbo, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband had to travel to Dubbo for his work so we decided to make a weekend of it and bring the whole family to see the zoo. There are 6 of us and we usually have problems finding accommodation that can fit a family of our size so booking ahead is essential. After talking to the receptionist about what... More 

Helpful?
Thank belleruss
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We planned an overnight stay in Dubbo while traveling from Tassie to Queensland for our family of 5. We have done this often and usually stayed elsewhere but decided to try this hotel out instead. We were not disappointed. It's a great location just of the highway in the center of town. Conveniently located right across the road from a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Michael, Thank you for your positive review. I have also passed it onto the staff here to read. We hope to see you and your family again, perhaps in the warmer months so you can enjoy the pool. Regards, Sandra More 

Croydon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Overall it's a nice place to stay. Very convenient location to main street and places to eat all around. Very spacious and table and chairs in the room were a great addition. Very clean. Great water pressure in the shower. Microwave, toasters etc are available on request. Staff generally helpful and pleasant especially the young Indian girl on reception. Good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda L
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Linda, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate guest’s sharing their experiences. I would like to address the 4 issues that you mentioned. • We appreciate the feedback on bed/pillow comfort. We have found that people’s preferences differ in this regard. • As we don’t have an onsite restaurant we offer meals from an... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

Had someone attempt to steal items from the tray of my ute. All locked down, so they had no luck; but this motel has limited security, no cameras, and too much public access. I recommend staying further out of town. Maybe not the motels fault, just clown in town; but they could do with better security and recording systems.

Helpful?
Thank Stewart A
dbo74, Owner at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

While we do appreciate reviews, we are very disappointed with this clients review. Theft is an unfortunate and frustrating part of society. At the Aberdeen, we try and inform clients of valuables and what needs to be done. As far as security, we have been informed that camera surveillance whilst been expensive is often not a great deterrent and often... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

A nice motel accomodated within walking distance of the shops, bars and restaurants. The rooms were large, and clean and the motel provided all that you needed, including breakfast if required. The motel has a beautiful pool, and outside seating area. A good stay.

Helpful?
Thank familyoffiveonhols
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016

Large sized rooms, comfortable furnishings. Good location in walking distance to many eating options. Easy to find but some difficulties in wanting to turn right onto the main road near the accommodation. Some issues with noise from carpark. Unreliable wifi.

Helpful?
Thank megan27lucy
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016

We stayed at this motel for 2 nights during Easter for our visit to the zoo and it was fully booked. Our room was on the 1st floor. Check in is smooth and easy, staff is friendly. We booked the family room and it was so spacious! A two seated sofa, round breakfast table and 3 chairs and still feel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wiz2014
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your positive and thorough review. We appreciate you taking the time to write it and are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Regards, Sandra More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here during our recent visit to Dubbo Zoo. Our room was a good size, very clean and a comfortable bed. McDonald's is across the road and some good restaurants are within walking distance. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were quiet. A good place to stay for a short while. Very cost effective.

Helpful?
Thank Holidays1023
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for reviewing your time spent with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Regards, Sandra More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip! Staff were extremely friendly and check in was quick and easy. My room was huge and very comfortable for the duration of my stay! The motor inn is very close to food outlets if you're looking for something quick and easy. I'd recommend Gina's Pizza across the road.

Helpful?
Thank Steph H
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Steph, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It's very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again someday. regards, Sandra More 

Dora, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2016 via mobile

Excellent value...clean and well serviced...quiet rooms despite being on main road...recommended for families as well...has a decent clean pool ...centrally located to all food outlets, Gaol and Zoo. Very helpful staff and easy parking..room to turn the cars or Utes in..I would happily return !!

Helpful?
1 Thank jacqui b
dbo74, Front Office Manager at Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jacqui, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience to the Aberdeen. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again. Regards, Sandra More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dubbo hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Dubbo
Ibis Budget Dubbo
#11 of 30 in Dubbo
3.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Gables Motel
Green Gables Motel
#8 of 30 in Dubbo
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Dubbo
Quest Dubbo
#5 of 30 in Dubbo
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Matilda Motor Inn
Matilda Motor Inn
#2 of 30 in Dubbo
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bluegum Motel
0.6 mi away
Cattleman's Country Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Aberdeen Motor Inn (Sundowner) is the most central accommodation Dubbo has to offer. Park the car and walk to all attractions. Shopping, restaurants, the Western Plains Zoo and airport are all just a short distance away. Take a stroll along the banks of the Macquarie River just behind the Motel, or relax with a glass of wine from one of Dubbo's local wineries. Jim, Suzie and their friendly staff are here to welcome you in with smiles and can provide you with anything you need - just ask! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn

Address: 25 Cobra Street, Dubbo, New South Wales 2830, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Dubbo
Price Range: $79 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sundowner Aberdeen Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay