We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lodge Outback Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Lodge Outback Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 227: English reviews
La Chaux-de-Fonds, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

well placed for visits, ok room, ok service...a bit run down....the town is worth a visit for its art and mining history...then go to silver ton for Mad Max...go out to mundi mundi lookout for a wine and sunset

Helpful?
Thank David F
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Big old fashioned bed to curl up with a book. Friendly staff ,hot breakfast and a good cup of tea , makes for one contented traveler. The only complaint was that the bath room was very small. Quite location and too hard to find.

Helpful?
Thank hellokathyclark
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The motel is ideally situated just a few blocks walk from pubs, clubs and restaurants. First impressions for the traveller are that this is not your typical concrete box motel. On arrival you see a heritage building and grounds, with more traditional motel rooms at the rear of the property.The owners are welcoming and happy to answer any questions re... More 

Helpful?
Thank noelSw
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Lodge Outback is not the Taj Mahal so a rating of 5 stars must be set against other motels in the same price range. It had been a gracious old home (1908) converted to a motel in the 1960s so it has a variety of rooms including some 10 conventional motel units and units in the old house. Some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter E
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the older section of the motel (Lodge part) built in 1908 but nicely refurbished. We stayed in Rm 10. Fast free WiFi, all the normal amenities, Large flat screen TV, MW, toaster etc. Lovely place. Nice person in reception. Close to shopping centre & fuel (5 min drive)

Helpful?
Thank 17larry
Management response:

Thank you for your review and taking the time to write it. We are glad to read that our establishment suited your needs and wish you happy travels. More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved this motel. It was walking distance to the main street and so nice to not have to get the car out after a long drive. We had a spa room, which was very comfortable. It is not as large as a spa room in a modern, purpose built facility, but it was more than adequate. It had everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank sasanqua
Management response:

It was a pleasure to be of service to you and it is great to read that you enjoy the friendly hospitality that the outback is known for. We hope you wine make it safely back home with you. Enjoy. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2016

I stayed in a spa room and it was delightful. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the main street but in a very quiet location. Only minutes from several nice hotel bars including the iconic Palace Hotel (where much of Priscilla was filmed). Strongly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
Management response:

Thank you for your kind words, you never know we might meet again. More 

Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2016

We had a family room in the old house which had lovely old features - high ceilings, old light switches, ornate walls etc. Friendly staff and a not-too-far walk to town. Ample parking. The smaller motel rooms look like they might not have as much character....

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
Management response:

Thank you for the review, it is great to read you like the room that you had and that it suited you and your family. The outside rooms that we have are more traditional motel rooms and are very popular for people traveling through. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

The room was old, fittings old & the shower was disgusting. Rotting timber & grime in corner of shower was worst ever experienced. Smallest bathroom ever. Impossible to shower without water over floor & toilet. We had to wedge paper in door to stop rattling all night. ...Yes it was windy. .But not good enough as advertised as 4 star.

Helpful?
1 Thank blueyyy
Management response:

I am sorry to read that you had an unpleasant experience, it would have been great if you had raised your concerns while staying and we could have arranged for a room that better suited your needs. In regards to your referral to the 4 star rating, I assume you are referring to the one given on Tripadvisor. This rating... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2016

We always wanted to stay at the Lodge when we lived in Broken Hill 35 odd years ago, we just never got around to it. On our recent re-union visit, we did it. We found the staff very friendly and welcoming, our room was comfortable and charmingly old-fashioned. The bathroom was much better than other motels we stayed in because... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
Management response:

Thank you kindly for your review. It was great to meet you both and I am so glad you liked the experience at the Lodge. Please do make sure you pass on your stories of Broken Hill to the archiving team as we love to have them on record; and when you return next to Broken Hill please come by... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Broken Hill hotels
0.6 mi away
Red Earth Motel
Red Earth Motel
#1 of 17 in Broken Hill
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Fine Accommodation
Imperial Fine Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Broken Hill
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Crystal
Comfort Inn Crystal
#11 of 17 in Broken Hill
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilltop Motel
Hilltop Motel
#14 of 17 in Broken Hill
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Exchange Hotel
Royal Exchange Hotel
#6 of 17 in Broken Hill
119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
#3 of 17 in Broken Hill
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Combine comfortable living with an exclusive outback experience and you have award wining The Lodge Outback Motel. This delightful place is in the secluded area of Broken Hill, offering a great place for you to escape from every day hassles. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lodge Outback Motel

Address: 252 Mica St, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Broken Hill
Price Range: $67 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge Outback Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Lodge Outback Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lodge Outback Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Rooms in the house are spacious. The spa room smaller but bed was very comfortable, shower hot (turn lever to left) and good flow.”
 of 5 bubbles 647petere, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Rm 10 is in old quaint part of the Lodge”
 of 5 bubbles 17larry, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Have a chat about which room you're getting as there are a variety available due to the nature of the building”
 of 5 bubbles sasanqua, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“We had the family room for five.”
 of 5 bubbles FamilyGuy49, Sep 23, 2016 | Read review
“We had room 19 middle of the row”
 of 5 bubbles rosemarye675, Aug 27, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay