We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Petersons Armidale Winery & Guesthouse

Traveler (64)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (9)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair access
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
159Reviews
101Photos
0Q+A
32Room tips

Reviews

Traveler rating
  • 107
  • 37
  • 7
  • 4
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+2
Popular by reputation there was a function on when we called in for coffee. Beautiful grounds and buildings, we look forward to calling in again - just check out the website to see what they offer. A real gem in the area.
Read more
We had our wedding at Petersons in Decemer 2018. It was fantastic! The food was excellent, the accommodation super and the venue just stunning! The help, support and service we received from Petersons cannot be beaten! The wedding coordinator, Kimberley, was so easy to work
Read more
Response from KBLevy, Manager at Petersons Armidale Winery & Guesthouse
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Suzanne and Chris Thank you so much for your incredibly kind words! What a lovely review for us to read. I am so thrilled you had an amazing wedding day, it was so lovely working with you both to help create your perfect day. Hopefully we will see you for anniversary celebrations, if not before! All the best to you both, Warm regards Kimberley and the Petersons Team
Read more
We stayed at Petersons on our way to Sydney and it exceeded all of our expectations. Wonderful setting in the middle of the winery and property. The house itself is stunning - the Great Hall in particular. We couldn't believe the size of the room and the bathroom was
Read more
Response from KBLevy, Manager at Petersons Armidale Winery & Guesthouse
Responded 1 week ago
Dear amazonmc Thank you so much for your lovely review - it is wonderful to hear your feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and appreciate that you would recommend us! We hope to welcome you back again soon Warm Regards Kimberley and the Petersons Team
Read more
We visited for the night just before Christmas. They were tidying up the entrance hall from a wedding the previous afternoon when we arrived around 1pm but did apologise for this and gave us a complimentary upgrade of room. The room itself was large and spacious, very
Read more
Response from Kimberley L, Manager at Petersons Armidale Winery & Guesthouse
Responded Jan 10, 2019
Dear Jennifer, Thank you for staying with us at Peterson's and for providing your feedback on your experience with us. We had a wedding on the Friday and check out is usually 10am, however unfortunately the wedding party took longer than expected to pack everything away - thanks for your understanding! I am pleased however that we were able to have your room ready for an early check in. I noticed when you booked that you were coming to celebrate an early Christmas - as someone who has worked many Christmas days I wanted to make it extra special for you! - so arranged the double upgrade to our deluxe spa suite for you. I hope you enjoyed this room and the extra luxuries the upgrade gave you such as garden views, a spacious room with a lounge and a king rather than queen bed, and a big ensuite with huge bath! Thank you for your feedback on the room - I am sorry that you found it tired looking but I hope you were comfortable and slept well. I am very surprised to hear about the spa bath not working - did you notify a member of staff about this? The spa is fully working currently (haven't had to repair it at all) so I wonder if it was something simple like a tripped fuse or something that could have been easily rectified. If you didn't get to use this then I am sorry, although hope you enjoyed having a nice big bath! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your dinner, the beautiful grounds and the complimentary port as well as great service from our staff. I will pass your comments to them, I'm sure they will be very pleased to hear. Thanks again for choosing Peterson's - and we do hope to welcome you back again in the future. I hope work Christmas day wasn't too unenjoyable!! Warm Regards Kimberley
Read more
+3
From the outside, the guest house is stunning. Beautifully presented and well cared for. Check in was a breeze, and all staff we come across are caring and friendly, and eager to help. We had the three course dinner, and the food was good. For entree, I had the prawn pasta,
Read more
Response from Kimberley L, General Manager at Petersons Armidale Winery & Guesthouse
Responded Jan 10, 2019
Dear Martin Firstly, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Peterson's for your last minute getaway. I am sorry that the selection of rooms was so limited as all the remaining rooms were fully booked. The room you stayed in, our premium spa suite, is costed so as it is a particularly large room, with a separate living area with fridge that no other room has, plus an additional lounge and window seating in the master bedroom. The ensuite has an extra large spa bath with separate shower. Hopefully next time you may have the chance to experience some other rooms that you may enjoy more. I am sorry that you found the sofa in the living area uncomfortable and the TV too small. I will most certainly look into replacing the sofa, I had not had any previous complaints or comments in this area so thank you very much for bringing it to my attention. Regarding the television, recently one of the previous guests staying there accidentally broke the TV that was in place on the wall so it has temporarily been switched with a spare, which is smaller than usual. I apologise that the normal TV was not in place while it is being fixed. I am glad that you enjoyed the spacious ariness of the room and the lovely views over our heritage gardens. I hope you slept well on the king sized bed and found the bathroom facilities comfortable. As stated in our compendium, all you have to do is ask and our staff will bring anything you require - fresh milk, a jug of water or anything else that would have made your stay more enjoyable. Upon check in the staff should have pointed out the doorbell which you can ring at any time if you need anything at all - I am sorry if this somehow wasn't communicated to you. I have found from previous experience that when we provide fresh milk, it often goes to waste but are more than happy to bring you fresh milk on request. We would also be happy to bring fresh coffee to your room, but thank you for your suggestion of the coffee machine, that is a great idea that I will be certain to act upon. The homestead is heritage listed, and we are restricted on what we can do regarding the building itself, I have tried repeatedly to work out this situation that complies but also is not an eyesore. We are currently in the process of installing ceiling fans in the rooms. I am sorry you did not find our guesthouse to offer value for money compared to other places nearby - we usually pride ourselves that we can offer a lot more than others including wine tasting at the cellar door, a fresh cooked hot breakfast (rather than buffet) included in your room rate, complimentary port and muscat, and beautiful grounds in which to sit and relax, or acres of grounds and vineyards to explore. Not to mention attentive staff who are always happy to assist with any request at all that will make your stay more comfortable, and a great onsite restaurant offering lovely home cooked meals with excellent value for money. We also serve our own wines in our restaurant at cellar door prices, not marked up as you will find in most other restaurants. We have a communal library with a selection of books that you are welcome to use, which can be found in the breakfast room. I am so pleased that you enjoyed relaxing in the grounds and that you enjoyed your dinner. We never want our guests going to bed hungry so I am pleased that you felt the meals were delicious and good value for money. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff - they will be very pleased to hear your feedback, I will be sure to pass it on to them. Thank you again for your staying with us - I hope that we can welcome you back again next time so you can get a better experience of our luxury product and service. Warm Regards Kimberley
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining
our bedroom
Photo provided by managementPetersons Armidale Winery & Guesthouse
The Guesthouse and Gardens
Photo provided by managementPetersons Armidale Winery & Guesthouse
Gardens & Guesthouse
Photo provided by managementPetersons Armidale Winery & Guesthouse
Our Romance suite complete with king sized bed and claw foot bath in the ensuite
PreviousNext
1234567
"Take warm clothes in winter."
"I like room 3 the best - it has a lovely bay window that looks across the garden to the countryside beyond."
"I believe any of the rooms would be a great choice"
"In the summer get a room on the south side. There is no air conditioning so some rooms get a bit hot."
"There is no in room wifi; it is available in the public lounge. TripAdvisor buttons for describing this service did not have this option!"
PreviousNext
1234567
PRICE RANGE
$133 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesArmidale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing