We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rolleston
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 116: English reviews
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

Driving to this place is wonderful, you see all the animals roaming free. The hotel calls to check on you which is lovely considering there is no reception out there. We arrived and were checked in easily and went to our cabin. It's awesome. Glamping like the other lady said but posh glamping! Everything you need :) We went out... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Claire, Thank you so much for your review and your kind words. I sincerely apologise for the Gnocchi and the preparation for that meal has since been changed. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and continue to travel safely. -Management More 

Moranbah
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

We stayed 2 nights here it's hard to rate it as the cabins are half tent, the ensuite was tiny and quite awkward to get in and out of and needed a good scrub to get rid of the mould in the grout, and no TV or phone service! We had to pay $5 for 30 minutes to use the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janine B
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Janine, Thank you for your feedback. We are currently in the process of resealing the bathrooms throughout the lodge as the bathrooms do get cleaned and chlorinated however it is staining in the grout that can not be scrubbed off. To encourage wildlife throughout the resort we refrain from vehicles accessing cabins. The cabins do lock from the inside... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights and upon arrival received an upgrade! The accommodation was very good, very clean and comfortable. The food was of a high standard, delicious! The scenery and walks at the gorge are something to be seen. Thankyou wilderness lodge, we will be back next anniversary :)

Helpful?
Thank Maddison G
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! The food is delicious isn't it :) see you again hopefully - Management More 

Glen Waverley, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

Glamping! Well I wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the accommodation was. The downside was that the shower was over a hip bath, and it was slippery. A non slip mat would be good. Also there was no grab rail. The cabin I had needs some attention to the steps and decking as some of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

We stayed three nights and really enjoyed our stay. The cabins are spread among the macrozamia trees in well kept grounds and have air-conditioning, ensuite facilities and a small refrigerator. There is a small swimming pool. Cabins are not cheap but one can hardly expect this standard of accommodation to be provided in such a remote location at budget rates.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leo G
CarnarvonGorge W, Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback. Simon is absolutely amazing and anyone visiting Carnarvon Gorge should join him on one of his many adventures/tours. Thank you again. Safe travels. - Management. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our three nights stay. The highlight was the our experience with local wilderness expert Simon. His information session on our first afternoon was excellent, and led me to join he and three other guests on a 20 km walk through Carnarvon Gorge next day. This turned out to be thoroughly enjoyable, with Simon enthusiastically displaying... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ray R
CarnarvonGorge W, Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for sharing your thoughts, it is always appreciated. Simon is definitely the best in the business when it comes to his knowledge and experience in the Gorge. - Management More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2016 via mobile

At $220 per night, I felt a lot more needed to be done to welcome the visitor. We should have been shown to our cabin, not left to fend for ourselves. We had no toilet paper the first night, we just raided another 'tent'! Being made to pay up front is damned annoying and rude. The 'tents' weren't cleaned well... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There Julie, I am sorry to be reading you had such a disappointing stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing guests with a very welcoming and comfortable stay. I am sorry you felt you had to fend for yourself when going to your cabin. I am shocked to read you had no toilet paper in your cabin. I... More 

Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2016 via mobile

We stayed last year and again this year. At $220 a night it's not cheap but if you haven't got a caravan there is not much else to choose from except down the road at Takarakka but while their cabins are cheaper they aren't nearly as nice as the Lodge. The cabins (timber on the bottom with canvas half walls... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank LPNOOSA
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2016

Spent three nights at the lodge in a cabin. Kangaroos were frequent visitors around the lodge and on the final morning we saw a snake which was great. The gorge is absolutely fantastic. Food and drink at the lodge was all reasonably priced, especially given the isolated location. There were only two irritations, gum nuts kept falling on the roof... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BitterHops
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015 via mobile

My suggestions to improve this experience would be: 1. Make the guest feel welcome on arrival. After all he has just driven 14 kms of dirt / gravel to get there. 2. Don't run the place like a guest house or a backpackers. After all the guest is paying close to $300 per night plus meals! 3. All staff members... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Warren D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Near Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge

Address: 4043 O'Briens Road, Rolleston, Queensland 4702, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Rolleston
Hotel Class:3 star — Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Hotel Springsure
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing