We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

722 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 671: English reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights to do the Luxmore Grunt (and celebrate afterwards). Room was clean and roomy, very nice, but the main standout was the awesome service. Every staff member we met was friendly, genuine and helpful. We would highly recommend and stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate S
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Kate S Thanks for your review and I am warmed to hear that our staff and service impressed you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Brent Stander

Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed December 7, 2014 via mobile

This was not our first choice of hotel but here we are sharing the only wifi in the hotel with a busy bar area. Some couple is ringing everyone they can on Skype and it is very distracting. Another person just came in from smoking. Not ideal if you just wanted to check the Internet and plan tomorrow's travel plans,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RochJess
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Roch Thanks for your review and I apologise you were interrupted when on the public computers. I appreciate your comments and we will review the public Skype as you suggested. We are in the process of installing wifi in the rooms and rest of hotel and aim to finish this within the next 2 weeks. Regards Brent Stander

Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed December 6, 2014

Stayed in a lake view room prior and post walking the Hollyford Track and found the surroundings pleasant and views great. It was the friendly staff however who made the experience memorable. Thank you Robin, Hamish and Katie in particular. Would stay again when next visiting Te Anau as was handy to shops and tour operators etc.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JulieYonge
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Julie Thanks for your review and I am delighted to hear our staff made a lasting impression on you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Regards Brent Stander

California Desert, California
Reviewed December 6, 2014

The rooms were perfectly fine, breakfast is average but plentiful but the place is a little soulless. Staff is very friendly. For a large hotel it may be the best Te Anau has to offer. There are washers and dryers to use so that is a plus. WiFi only in the lobby which is aggravating.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jltho
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Jltho Thanks for your review and I am pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and apologise you felt the hotel was soulless. We are in process of installing wifi throughout the hotel and aim to complete this by year end. Regards Brent Stander

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 5, 2014

Arrived after a short jaunt from Franz Josef and parked up at the Distinction. Ample space around the whole site to park your car which is a plus point. The decor here is tired and dated and needs a serious injection of funding for modernisation as soon as possible. It was like walking around a civic centre in London. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank domidge
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear domidge Thanks for your review and time to write, we take all our guests comments on board and this assists us in making decisions for the future. I am pleased to hear our chapel appealed to you. Regards Brent Stander

Reviewed December 3, 2014 via mobile

Had a lakefront view and that's the best the hotel has to offer. Overpriced in my opinion - stayed in many better places at a cheaper rate across nz with better quality. Breakfast ends at 0930am - even though the room booklet wrote 10am for the ala carte menu. Laundry room was too close to other guest rooms and therefore...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lincoln12345
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Lincoln Thanks fro your review and I am happy to hear you enjoyed the views. I have taken your comments on board and will follow up to ensure our advertised details are correct in rooms. Regards Brent Stander

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed December 1, 2014 via mobile

The best thing about the hotel is the location - on the Lake and next to the tour companies. It's a big hotel, so it's very noisy because there's so many guests. They also host weddings so there's a lot of general commotion at the front of the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, but the decor is quite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank littlemissscifi
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear littlemissiscifi Thanks for your review and I apologise the noise disrupted your stay and our individual guests are equally as important as all guests that stay here and our aim is to ensure all guests leave the hotel recommending us, I apologise we did not do this for you and I will ensure we follow up on comments to...

Switzerland
Reviewed November 30, 2014

stayed one night on our way from Milford Sound to Queenstown so we could go see the glowworms. check in was efficient and friendly. the room was nice, comfortable beds. stayed in a downstairs lake view. I'm sure the views from upstairs are even better. Didn't eat there, so cannot comment. wifi is free and unlimited (which cannot be taken...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A_Blue_Sea_Shell
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear A Blue Sea Shell Thanks for your review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and found services efficient and friendly. We hope to see you back again soon. Regards Brent Stander

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed November 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Villa for 3 nights (3 nights too long, prepaid unfortunately) We found HEAD LICE in the sheets and pillowcases!!!! I regret not taking photos before swiping/killing them. Add to that the sheets were full of stains and marks. We got someone to change the sheets at midnight when we made the discovery before jumping into bed,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank travelbuggy7810
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear travelbuggy I am disappointed you felt your room had hair lice in as we did check and have had the room professionally checked and there was no evidence of what you have mentioned. Our night porter stripped the linen and we have tested this as well and unfortunately the test reports here have also come back with no evidence...

Kalgoorlie, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed November 25, 2014

We stayed in over 5 hotels during our holiday in New Zealand and this was the only one we would never return to. The "service", well there wasn't any - a Hotel of this name size was "Distinctly" lacking of any kind of service. We stayed two nights in the "Luxury" 2 Bedroom Villas which are no better than a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Hayley D
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review

Dear Hayley I am disappointed to read your review and apologise for issues you had during your stay, I have addressed these with the relevant departments and team here at the hotel to ensure our standards are maintained at all times. Sorry we didn't get it right for you and please let me know if there is anything we can...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

227 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (209)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 24 in Te Anau
478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 24 in Te Anau
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $112 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel And Villas Fiordland National Park
Distinction Hotel Te Anau
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#6 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Get room facing the lake”
 of 5 bubbles Happy415, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“High floor with lake view. There are many other rooms that are less good.”
 of 5 bubbles P2100YKstevem, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Go for the villa if you can afford it. These are newer, more spacious suites.”
 of 5 bubbles Slavio, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Try and get a lake view room”
 of 5 bubbles Kfrancis, Feb 12, 2017 | Read review
“Not bad but could be better”
 of 5 bubbles meileehana, Jan 31, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question