We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

372 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 329: English reviews
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
440 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We found it quite convenient staying 3 nights in the little town of Te Anau (instead of Queenstown) when exploring Milford & Doubtful Sounds. Kingsgate hotel although dated was nicely located across the beautiful lake. Enjoyed strolling along the promenade leading to the nearby downtown. The hotel seemed to be popular with tour groups but it didn't deter the service.... More 

Helpful?
Thank GabyVM
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed overnight here to break up our journey to Milford Sound. While my initial impression of the property was that it was quite dated in it's decor - do not be put off! Our room was neat and clean, it had all the basics that we required for our short stay. The bed was comfortable, the room was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate B
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2016

Found this accommodation very comfortable with a pillow top mattress to sleep on. Heating worked well. We took advantage of room service for our evening meal as the restaurant was not open the night we were there. The food was beautiful - we both had the stuffed chicken breast with pistachios. We also had the in room breakfast the next... More 

Helpful?
Thank DebbieB2010
Southland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Kingsgate for work this month. I received a friendly welcome when I checked in. The wifi was free. The rooms were clean, a really generous size and well equipped. The heating seemed small but the room wasn't cold. I enjoyed the buffet breakfast the next morning.

Helpful?
Thank jessiesfamily
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews thinking it would be a nice comfortable budget motel. We kindly got upgraded when we checked in (to a superior room), as soon as we went upstairs the cracks began to show... Straight away we smelt fresh paint which failed to cover the smell of stale smoke. We walked past a room... More 

Helpful?
Thank GALeeder
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear GALeeder Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I apologise you found your stay unsatisfactory and that we were unable to meet personally to rectify the situation. I have instructed our customer care team to refund the remaining 2 nights of your pre paid reservation. I hope this experience did not spoil the rest of your... More 

Travelers are raving about these Te Anau hotels

seoul
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2016

Super comfortable bed and friendly enough staff make this place a good place to set off for Milford. The cleaning was good and there is plenty of parking. In the high season it might be quite noisy (but this was not our experience).

Helpful?
Thank markinseoul
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear markinseoul Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay. Kind regards More 

Bangalore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2016

Only spent the night here on our trip to Te Anau...well maintained property...a short walk from the visitors centre...rooms are decently sized...have most modern amenities...the buffet breakfast spread is ok...

Helpful?
Thank amukho
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear amukho Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Te Anau. Kind regards More 

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

The buffet breakfast is lovley, though one day they forgot to tell us the restaurant was closed. But the staff were nice enough to bring breakfast to the room instead. The rooms along the front have a nice glimpse of the lake over the restaurant. Complaints the showers are designed for hobbits, the shower head is shoulder height. The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hamish R
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Hamish R I appreciate your feedback regarding your stay and apologise you found the shower system unsuitable. Kind regards More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

We used this Hotel as a base to explore Milford sound and the glow worm caves. The Breakfast was very good at $23. The room had all we needed including a small but good bath. The room was clean and the bed comfy. the hotel is old but but in good condition.

Helpful?
Thank Mauritz B
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Mauritz B Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Te Anau. I trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand. Kind regards More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

The room was very clean. Amenities were good. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. Very handy. Staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely view of the lake. Good parking for vehicles. If you needed any extra items eg milk you only had to ask.

Helpful?
Thank daffydolly
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear daffydolly Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Te Anau. Kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel
Distinction Luxmore Hotel
#11 of 24 in Te Anau
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $76 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Hotwire so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau Fiordland National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay