We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

South Sea Hotel

228 reviews
Save
Traveler (90)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (10)
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good48%
  • Average19%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“blue cod”(24 reviews)
“the pub”(22 reviews)
“chowder”(7 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
2.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (228)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for South Sea Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
55
101
42
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
55
101
42
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue codthe pubchowderoystersshared facilitiesfriendly localsquiz nightthe main hotelguest loungelocals and visitorssalmondecent mealcold beerupstairs loungean older hotelrooms are basicthe comings and goings
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 215 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile

We only stopped here for lunch on the recommendation of a local from Invercargill who was travelling on the ferry to the island pub for his work Christmas party. He said we had to taste the Blue cod so we did. It was absolutely delicious,...More

Thank SharlsG
Reviewed November 14, 2017 via mobile

Well worth the visit. Big room which was nice & cosy & surprisingly quiet given the restaurant & bar is downstairs. Although bathroom facilities are shared they are large & private & great to see a big pile of bathmats so you're guaranteed a fresh...More

Thank julzb2016
Response from Helen C, Manager at South Sea HotelResponded November 16, 2017

Glad you had a great time, thanks for your review cheers

Reviewed November 8, 2017

We booked this last minute when we decided to add a one night trip to Stewart Island at the end of our NZ trip. I didn't really research it in depth, but saw it had good reviews and I was SO excited to have a...More

Thank shutter_bug1971
Response from Helen C, Manager at South Sea HotelResponded November 10, 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay

Reviewed November 5, 2017

The deal through Stewart Island Flights that includes the return flights, a night in one of the South Sea motel rooms, and a cooked breakfast, is very good. The room is a good size, and is pretty much as you'd expect - not the newest...More

Thank glennomeister
Reviewed October 30, 2017

First time travellers to Stewart Island. Friends suggested we have a meal at the South Sea Hotel. Not disappointed. We had Battered mussels and the Thai Curry with Blue Cod. If you enjoy mussels, you must try these, they just melted in your mouth. We've...More

Thank Gee8246
Response from Helen C, Manager at South Sea HotelResponded November 1, 2017

great to hear you enjoyed the local seafood, cheers

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345643
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Beachfront
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$67 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$67 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (90)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (10)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from South Sea Hotel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Room Tips
"Rooms 1,2,3 are sea view, but, over the Reception, Pub and Restaurant. Worth the loss of sleep for the breeze..."
Read review
"We had an upstairs room which was pretty quiet and close to the balcony and shared areas."
Read review
"Go for a double room with a seaview!"
Read review
"A room at the front has a great view over parts of Oban and Halfmoon Bay."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing