We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Base Queenstown

47 - 49 Shotover Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Discovery Lodge)
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Base Queenstown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

380 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 342: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location is the best thing about Base. The rooms aren't terrible, although the lighting is very bad and all the powerpoints are all in the same corner. Had a room with a nice ensuite so can't complain about the toilet/shower. Wifi was pretty good.

Helpful?
Thank Yelena B
Puerto Natales, Chile
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a 28 hours flight all we wanted was a nice shower and sleep.. Wrong choice. We checked in and were attended by a blond nice girl, but at the time we drop our things in the room we realized it wasn't clean at all, beds not made and toilet really disgusting, had to go for an hour to walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank PatagoniaDulce
Sam J, General Manager at Base Queenstown, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for leaving feedback, we appreciate all positive and negative feedback. I'm glad you were originally greeted with a smile and started your experience on a positive note. We do promote our hostel as being a 'party hostel' which does entail varieties of bar promotions. The majority of our guests are staying with us to not only... More 

Travelers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Alright hostel. Got a nice bar, the common room is decent and the room's were okay. Nothing too bad or exceedingly good. They state that there's free wifi, slow but free and that you can pay to get a faster connection with more bandwidth but when I asked how to get the free wifi I was told I had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank David K
Sam J, General Manager at Base Queenstown, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Cheers for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Base Queenstown. The free wifi is available if you fill out a comment card and return it to the travel desk. I’m delighted you enjoyed our location and amenities. Don’t be a stranger if you come back to Queenstown :)... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was an okay property. Nothing great, nothing horrible. Queenstown is expensive in general so if you want an affordable place, this is what you get. We had a four-person dorm with a nice view of Queenstown. Very well located to the main town, and the mountain. Decent wifi and access to a shared kitchen. It's not the cleanest hostel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kcarte03
Sam J, General Manager at Base Queenstown, responded to this review

Kia ora, Thank you so much for your feedback! We are sorry to hear you didn't have a 10/10 stay. I'm stoked you appreciated the epic views and the central location. Hopefully you are back this way soon and we will be sure to change your opinion on our awesome hostel. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your Kiwi... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The worst was reading the walls with the words, " the best chain of hostels" or something like that. Really unfriendly staff!!! Small rooms!!! Ridiculously small bathroom!! Same price than other really cool hostels around. No parking No free WiFi!!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank guilleblue
Sam J, General Manager at Base Queenstown, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Cheers for the constructive feedback. We really take pride in our hostel and we do believe we are 'The best chain hostel', so it saddens me that you do not agree. I am sorry to hear you found our staff behaved this way. It is disheartening to think that any staff member would act in this manner -... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The dorm heater is not working well, resulted the room to be damp and smell mouldy. The blanket is dirty and the cover are dirty, I can see ample of dust flying out everything I shake it. The kitchen is full of oil and grease smell that even spread through the level 1 and 2 hallway. The number of shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joey L
Sam J, General Manager at Base Queenstown, responded to this review

Hi Joey, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, we really appreciate hearing constructive feedback. We do advertise our hostel as being a party hostel however I am sorry to hear you didn't have an enjoyable stay. We have a 24 hour reception so that these issues can be dealt on the spot. Also since you have... More 

London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

Really enjoyed our stay, great bar, good atmosphere and had a superb time in Queenstown! Shout out to Mark (Think he is the night manager?) for looking after us, what a friendly guy, great service! Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank FrauleinFink
Sam J, General Manager at Base Queenstown, responded to this review

Kia Ora, I am so delighted that you great stay with us here at Base Queenstown! Mark will be rewarded! Hopefully you can come back for a visit some day. Enjoy New Zealand Cheers Sam More 

Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

We book for two nights and was requested for lower decks as we are not comfortable sleeping on top deck. When we arrived the lady receptionist gave us upper deck beds without checking carefully the special request I did before payment, so I just thought it was fully booked & so we go up to have some rest before going... More 

Helpful?
Thank RedGemini
Sam J, General Manager at Base Queenstown, responded to this review

Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at Base Queenstown. Sorry about the loss in communication on the preference of a lower bed. I am glad that our night manager could solve this problem right then and there for you. This is a reason we have a 24 Hour reception so we... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

dry hostel- no alcohol allowed because they want you to drink at the base owned bar. The beds are so creaky and noisy that even the quietest of people will wake up every other room mate with a light roll in their sleep. The bedding is clean, but the duvet covers NEVER seem to be stripped or washed 3 plug... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlexFace A
Sam J, General Manager at Base Queenstown, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all positive and negative feedback. We strive to have all guests leaving with a smile. We are a dry hostel for multiple reasons. Due to our Liquor licensing and the amount of noise that socialising and drinking can create it is not what some guests are wanting throughout there hostel experience.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#10 of 84 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#22 of 84 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sir Cedrics Tahuna Pod Hostel
0.3 mi away
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
#34 of 84 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sir Cedrics Southern Laughter Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The most central, modern and fun backpackers hostel in Queenstown! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Base Queenstown

Address: 47 - 49 Shotover Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Discovery Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $27 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Queenstown 2*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Base Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay