We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shotover Lodge

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Shotover Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 200: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
180 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The lodge is really comfortable and great to stay. Though the location is a bit far from the city centre of Queenstown, but then you have an advantage of close proximity to Arrowtown too. The rooms were clean and tidy. Staff were helpful. Only suggestion, parking lot should be managed better. Cars are parked randomly which causes lesser cars to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kiran K
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here just a night after flying in from overseas, we were very pleasantly surprised with our room - which had a kitchenette, microwave, fridge, cutlery..a drying room, communal kitchen and lounge were also available with great facilities if you wanted them.Was really nice staying out of the city centre, nice and quiet about 5-6 mins to town.Nice view of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bex W
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

In an expensive part of New Zealand, Shotover lodge represents good value for money. We stayed in a queen room with kitchenette and bathroom which was more than big enough for our party of two. We were happy with the free parking right outside our door. The lodge is located between the turn off for coronet peaks ski field and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jesmyne
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect for a budget conscious self catering ski holiday. We stayed 5 nights with our 2 yr old. The room was functional & tidy...king bed, bunk beds, ensuite, tv (not sky), & kitchenette (fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle). Then there was a good communal kitchen & great guest lounge (tv, free pool table, sofas, fireplace). This is not luxury accommodation but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gini81
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were on a road trip around south island and didn't have any reservations. We drove the whole day and decided to stay in Queenstown. Budget was about 100€ for one night. There were only three hotels left. This was the most expensive one. About 100€. We took it and just wanted to have a good nights sleep. We arrived... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meihemi
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

This lodge saved us during the time when finding long-term accomodation in Queenstown was ridiculously difficult. The location is pretty far away from town. Communal kitchen is clean. The room was average but we didn't expect anything extraordinary from a lodge. I would like to give a big shoutout to Jakub in the reception for always being helpful, friendly and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nany N
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2016

Was greeted by friendly service staff, which was a good start to our stay in queenstown. Room was clean and neat and tidy, toilet was good, there was fridge and microwave in the room, so all is good. Location though, is quite far off from the city centre and it is super dark if you drive at night especially so... More 

Helpful?
Thank micsim
France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2016

We stayed for two nights at the Shotover Lodge. Unfortunately, although I had book a room for three two months before our arrival, the receptionnist told us the hotel was full and the only room left was a double room. One of us then had to "sleep" on a couch, which was of course not acceptable. Despite this very unfortunate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aurore L
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile

We booked a room for one night at the shotover lodge but when we arrived they told us they were fully booked and that they had booked us at the hotel next door. The room we got there had a broken door so you could actually se right out to the hallway and the light over the mirror was hanging... More 

Helpful?
Thank Niklas R
ShotoverLodge, Shotover Lodge Team at Shotover Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Niklas R, Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback. We are sorry that we were unable to accommodate you for your stay at Shotover Lodge. There was an error with between the third party the booking was placed with and our system. As we were fully booked, our best option was to find a room in... More 

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2016

We stayed at the Shotover Lodge recently for one night. When we arrived the water had been off and there was a dreadful smell in our bathroom, we told the receptionist who was aware about the water being off but didn't tell us on our arrival. Our room was clean but more a student accommodation than a holiday let. In... More 

Helpful?
Thank MonicaEdinburgh
ShotoverLodge, Shotover Lodge Team at Shotover Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MonicaEdinburgh, We thank you kindly for your feedback. Unfortunately on the day of your arrival a pipe burst by Shotover Bridge and prevented water service to the whole of Arthurs Point and we were not notified by the council. We do regret that this affected your stay; however, it was out of our control at the time. There was... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queenstown TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.5 mi away
Pinewood Lodge
Pinewood Lodge
#75 of 84 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak
Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak
#49 of 57 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
3.9 mi away
Earnslaw Lodge
Earnslaw Lodge
#9 of 84 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In beautiful mountain scenery just a few metres from the access to Coronet Ski Field, a short drive from five golf courses and within walking distance of hot pools, Shotover Lodge is a perfect all-year-round base for exploring the adventure playground that is the Queenstown area. Sporting types searching for adrenaline and adventure will find opportunities for skiing, snow boarding, mountain biking, kayaking, bungee jumping and much more. This quiet retreat is also ideally situated for a spot of sightseeing in historic Arrowtown. An old gold rush town, Arrowtown now caters for visitors from around the globe. Just minutes from Shotover is Queenstown, nestled on the shore of Lake Wakatipu and offering a great choice of shops to browse in and restaurants to try. New, stylishly furnished, clean, friendly and affordable, Shotover Lodge offers a choice of comfortable rooms to cater for the needs of independent travellers, families, groups, wedding parties and corporate get-togethers. Facilities also include a communal kitchen and lounge room, a guest laundry, an outdoor fireplace and barbecue, fully equipped guest kitchen and ample parking space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shotover Lodge

Address: 157 Arthurs Point Road | RD 1 Arthurs Point, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $72 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shotover Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Shotover Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shotover Hotel Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay